Athletico Reviews | Glassdoor

Athletico Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Mark Kaufman
121 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Depending on the size of the clinic(in 30 reviews)

  • "Fellow Aides not having confidence in their abilities to learn and grow in the job(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Very Appreciative Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay Caring Corporate Team Great working atmosphere Many learning opportunities to grow

    Cons

    Long hours but is great for patient scheduling

    Advice to Management

    None- keep investing in your people and employees like me will stay! Keep up the great job!

    Athletico2019-04-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Have worked for Athletico for over 13 years and there are many reasons why I haven’t ever considered leaving."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico

    Pros

    Great upper management support. Very supportive of staff advancement, advanced skill training and support and fair compensation packages with bonus potential.

    Cons

    Due to limited PT’s available to hire in the market place often have staffing limitations at facilities.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support ground level staff at a high level.

    Athletico2019-07-21
  3. "Too many inconsistencies to be a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Athletic Trainer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Athletico full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always hiring, opportunity for experience, provide CEU opportunities regularly.

    Cons

    Salary is an embarrassment. If a school had a snow day or a game is cancelled and you are unable to make 40 hours, you are forced to use your PTO for things outside of your control. Raises are based on how many referrals you get, but pride themselves in not requiring a quota. Continuously felt under appreciated by managers. At annual meetings, the corporate speakers would call us “trainers” which to me showed that they...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reflect on what the core values are and then live by them. This is not the company I grew up wanting to work at, that company has fallen to the wayside after the merger. Show your employees you value them.

    Athletico2019-08-12
  4. "HR- Corporate Office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Athletico full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked at the resource center/corporate office on contract in HR. It was a decent experience, Management was just OK. During my time I did gain some experience but it was very short-lived. Everyone was pretty nice overall, nice building and work/life balance. Pay was fair as far as a temp position goes, at least when I was there. You were free to take your lunch basically whenever you got the chance.

    Cons

    You’re just a number - especially if you are a contractor (and they hire PLENTY of them). You can tell they want to make you feel like you’re “proud” to work there, especially since it is a pretty large company in the Midwest. It was exciting at first, but quickly learned about how employees were treated at the corporate level. Lots of meetings, which wasn’t helpful especially given the amount of work you are expected...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring contractors so often and actually TRAIN your employees... don’t expect them to just know everything. Pay better for the permanent employees too, as I’ve heard this isn’t even great or near the national average.

    Athletico2019-08-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Athletico values the Work Comp department by creating and supporting this role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Athletico full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Athletico equips and empowers their employees to make and implement positive procedures that act as building blocks for excellent care to their patients.

    Cons

    Only that I was not able to continue my work remotely (for completely email based work), which meant that I had to make a painful decision to leave the company when my family relocated.

    Advice to Management

    Continue in the excellent work of supporting your onsite employees. You exemplify great leadership. Consider keeping employees who bring value to your company and then to patients, by expanding your remote work policy. Otherwise, great job as leaders!

    Athletico2019-07-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Premier Sports Medicine/Outpatient Orthopaedic Provider"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent CEUs Good mentorship program for new and experienced clinicians Positive work environment with opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Documentation system continues to improve to help clinicians save time in this area.

    Athletico2019-07-16
  7. "Can be overwhelming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Rehab Aide in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Athletico part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great experience if you want to go to physical therapy school or any form of health care.

    Cons

    Pay is minimum wage. You can be asked to do the job of multiple people like work with a patient, answer the phone, take a copay and check patients in. Multitasking is expected. But I think helping out with patients and giving them attention is important. Sometimes you are doing so many things at the same time that that doesn’t happen. Aides are at the bottom and are sometimes taken for granted. Most aide positions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Each clinic runs differently. It all depends on your manager. I found that some managers care more about getting more and more patients than providing them with the best care. While there are some that go above and beyond what is asked of them and keep the environment fun while they’re getting treated. Patients can tell when management is just treating them for the money.

    Athletico2019-07-18
  8. "Great Stepping Stone position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehabilitation Aide in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable and passionate physical therapists and occupational therapists. For someone looking to work on their soft-skills and practical knowledge in multiple areas related and unrelated to PT/OT this is a wonderful opportunity. Sincere appreciation is always provided! Great opportunity to see if this is a field which you enjoy. Constant learning environment.

    Cons

    Lack of communication can result in preventable scenarios. Newly introduced tasks/data collection is tedious and time-consuming to traditional methods. Fellow Aides not having confidence in their abilities to learn and grow in the job.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being patient, and praising hard work. Ensure that you give Aides opportunities to ask questions in open and in private.

    Athletico2019-06-24
  9. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehab Aide in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours - Great experience for PT school - Fun working environment

    Cons

    - Relatively low pay - Depending on facility, not a lot of hours

    Athletico2019-06-16
  10. "Great work experience and environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rehab Aide 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Athletico part-time

    Pros

    You will get plenty of experience working with patients.

    Cons

    No room for upward mobility, unless you become a therapist.

    Athletico2019-06-14
Found 260 reviews