Atkins Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Atkins Consultant Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Atkins CEO Nick Roberts (no image)
Nick Roberts
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in Roseville, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and work environment. i enjoy the work and the people I work with. There is a great understanding of work flow.

    Cons

    Larger company therefore there is a larger ladder to climb to the top, some bureaucracy. I would say that some of the work became monotonous.

    Atkins2016-01-09
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Once Great Empire has Fallen (Far)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great local teams and team leaders. Flexible work environment.

    Cons

    Zero training budget. Stressful/ cyclical work cycle based off a dying industry. Culture was a facade: promises instead of results and outright lying to workers about direction/ strategy/ action plans. Most managers find a comfortable niche and avoid rocking the boat to survive. Frustrating changes in major organizational systems every 6 months - bogged down in procedure in an industry requiring a nimble approach.... Company focused on making itself attractive for sale. Useless technical board. Cost cutting saw benefits slashed for long periods. Blamed workers for high wage costs while they all collected raises.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do NOT keep the Atkins leaders. To the old leaders: Take a look in a mirror once in a while when you're looking for problems with YOUR company. Repeated failures at that level were met with reward. Get off your butt and actually lead and work with/ for your teams for all that you pay yourself. Get over yourself, your heyday was 15 years ago. Free up your control over the teams and they might just help you maintain... a viable brand. You will never get back to where you were with all the damage your ignorance and shortsightedness has caused.

    Show More
    Atkins2017-06-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Profit Driven Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Safety and Risk Management Consultant in Middle City East, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worldwide organization with job opportunities around the globe. Recognized name within the industry. Good company for designers, architects or engineers.

    Cons

    The bottom line for the company takes precedent over employee development particularly at the mid level grades (11-14). Not very good at implementation of field work. Can design projects but don't have competent construction planners. Annual restructuring of business units as the market shifts. This is especially true for the Middle East (MENA) region. The employee development and review process is a joke. The PDR... is completed every Mar-Apr and then it's just a check box on a list. It's not used for promotion or development and if you change jobs or managers mid year forget about the PDR. Nothing from the previous year will be applicable. The PDR is a cut and paste exercise that most employees hate. Salaries are generally lower than the market rate due to structure of the contracts. Atkins tends to bid low to win the work and then find people willing to work for lower salaries while releasing more senior staff that have become too expensive. Promotion from within is limited and takes years. Annual salary increases are 0-2% if your lucky. Once you do achieve an increase you are a liability to the profit driven bottom line. You're better to leave and come back to get a promotion or salary increase. Performance on several contracts has deteriorated because competent staff have left or been made redundant due to the low salary threshold that Atkins has. Replacement or newly hired staff are brought in based on their salary expectations and not competency.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing you already don't know but continue to follow the same path. Stop reorganizing, reduce the branding exercises and hire competent not cheap talent.

    Atkins2016-07-12
  4. "Great place to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Graduate Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Atkins for less than a year

    Pros

    They use an incredibly high number of softwares and they use all of them equally. As a fresh graduate, although I was only able to stick around for a short while due to the decline in oil prices, I managed to learn many valuable skills. I've never seen a company use as many softwares as Atkins. Keep in mind that I'm speaking in regards to their consultancy that caters to the energy sector- I am unaware of how their... other offices operate.

    Show More

    Cons

    Management seems to be slow about getting work around the office. I had no control over how much work I had, and there would be times where I simply sat down and did nothing for several hours, or even days at a time, while my colleagues were all busy. Management does a lot more of their own work than actual management. Perhaps I disagree with the company philosophy which may be significantly more effective than how... traditional businesses run, but from my experience it seemed to favor senior employees and leave new ones on the back burner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    People were being hired for a string of 6 or so months, even 2 months into the market crash. There was not enough work for all of these people. Should definitely consider slowing down the hiring process if the work is as heavily tied to the economy as it seems to be.

    Atkins2015-03-02
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fairly good job security - as long as Atkins has work for you. Good work/life balance as most of the work is routine.

    Cons

    You will be let go within a week or two if Atkins cannot find someone to pay them to pay you. Very little opportunity for career advancement. Most positions are as contractor/consultant for firms that Atkins has a contract with. Once you are in one of these positions, it is very difficult to do something different. For a firm that relies heavily on the talents of their employees, there is surprisingly little... invested in educating these employees. The attitude is that employees need to come prepared to be billable and can access online educational tools if they are low/no cost.

    Show More
    Atkins2015-01-05
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Lots of Recent False Positive Reviews by Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent salaries and benefits that are generally competitive with other big global engineering firms. But don't rely on the recent positive reviews. Rather, actually talk to current and previous Atkins employees before you accept a job with this company. The best talent left long ago and most of those that are left are actively looking to get out. Increasing shareholder value - stock price - is the only value this... company promotes.

    Show More

    Cons

    Toxic cut-throat environment; little or no appreciation of employees - you are only as good as your last timesheet; very quick to layoff employees after projects are completed; no long-term commitment to retaining experienced staff; sales and business development strategy is completely lacking as evidenced by declining revenues; U.S. organizational scheme is highly flawed, confusing and inefficient; U.S. CEO is... untrustworthy and uninspiring.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to Uwe Kreuger would be sell the U.S. franchise while you can as your Euro-centric approach to the U.S. market is failing.

    Atkins2014-12-02
  7. Helpful (15)

    "immature group managers, poor management, Office politics, looking forward to leaving asap!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing that I have seen last few months

    Cons

    I regret that I accepted Atkins offer a few months ago, my group manager who is an immature individual provided incorrect information to convince me. Americas Director who seemed to be a nice person laid off. My colleague told me that she was back-stabbed by some of the managers who want to take her place. These managers were her best friends in the office. Morale is very bad in the office,technical leads act... as slave drivers in the office, everyone hates them in our group. I am looking forward to leaving this place asap.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    identify bad managers and technical leads and get rid of them.

    Atkins2014-10-12
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Demoralizing, poisonous place and managers to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nothing that I have seen since 2012

    Cons

    Many engineers have been laid off and several good ones left the company because of poor organization, poor management. The ones who stay are looking forward to leave ASAP. The office is driven by office politics, gossip and fear. It is also driven by paranoia. The managers are only concerned about saving their own tails. Instead of laying off the managers who fail consistently, they laid off engineers who did... their best

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the organization, get rid off the managers who focus on the office politics, and manipulate top management.

    Atkins2014-08-23
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Inexperienced and unguided management with poor control or over control from UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atkins full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money while it lasted.

    Cons

    Their marketing operation needs to become professional.

    Advice to Management

    Put a professional marketing operation in place. Set the engineering rates competitively.

    Atkins2014-08-01
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Inexperienced Group managers!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atkins full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, okay work-life balance, 9/80 schedule is also good

    Cons

    Structures, HSE and process groups are doing very bad, some of group managers threaten the staff to fire if they do not work hard or if they cannot bring projects to the company. Juniors are the slaves, and group managers are the slave drivers. No ethics at all, they fire staff in a minute. They mainly throw them out. Group managers only deal with politics, they do not know how to manage the staff. My group... manager lied to me at least five times.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The y should fire the group managers and bring in experience managers to manage the groups, especially HSE, Structures and Process groups.

    Atkins2014-06-18
Found 64 reviews