Atlanta Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Atlanta Public Schools Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Atlanta Public Schools Superintendent Meria Joel Carstarphen
Meria Joel Carstarphen
73 Ratings
  1. "It's Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools part-time

    Pros

    I enjoy mentoring young adults. I get excited every time students earn a new concept or behave themselves like they rightfully should.

    Cons

    No effective discipline for students that bully others or students that are extremely disrespectful to their teachers and peers.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your teachers by collecting, and analyzing data to determine the right course of action for students.

    Atlanta Public Schools2020-01-17
  2. "Great Place to Gain Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The environment at my current school is welcoming. - Pay - Training

    Cons

    - Focus on statistics for different demographic areas

    Atlanta Public Schools2020-01-06
  3. "Atlanta Public"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Biweekly payments and having summers off

    Cons

    Enter city kids make teaching a bit moire diffucly then usual.

    Advice to Management

    Pray to stay

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-12-16
  4. "Best teaching gig if only..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Instructional Technology Specialist 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools part-time

    Pros

    Little stress compared to k-12 Satisfying when students earn GED Various schedukes available including pm hours fir those looking for a side job

    Cons

    Hard to get full-time job Salart does n't follow salary scale for k-12 teachers, no annual increase No benefits forir part-time and no pay when school is out Some students forced to come to get government benefits or on parole/probation so not amways motivated

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-12-15
  5. "Overall Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Special Education Teacher 

    I worked at Atlanta Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Supportive staff and team members

    Cons

    Constant policy changes with fair to poor communication from higher-ups

    Advice to Management

    Consitency

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-12-03
  6. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Transition Specialist 

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    The best culture of any team I've worked for. Was like a family and everyone truly passionate about the work they do.

    Cons

    Outdated office building with poor facilities

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-09-26
  7. "Not sure what this is asking me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Teacher/Paraprofessional 
    Recommends

    I worked at Atlanta Public Schools full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay and I met some awesome children and staff

    Cons

    Teachers need more support in the classrooms

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-09-05
  8. "Great kids but the benefits suck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paraprofessional in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlanta Public Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kids are great and cute

    Cons

    The pay is below average

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-08-23
  9. "Decent experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlanta Public Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment I mainly worked with elementary kids as the older kids had little to no disciplinary sanction.

    Cons

    The system that they use to schedule openings is very competitive.

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-08-17
  10. "Unfortunately, the corruption does go all the way up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Science Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atlanta Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Most important work. Ever. Teaching kids is so rewarding, and there are amazing teachers at APS.

    Cons

    Unethical management and bullying employed to manage instructional staff.

    Advice to Management

    Change is needed, and not the kind you "tweet" and forget...if restorative justice is what you "sell", then you need to deliver it...to all stakeholders...all the time.

    Atlanta Public Schools2019-08-06
Found 257 reviews