Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 125 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group CEO Brian Holland
Brian Holland
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company perks like vending machines/ employee appreciation weeks/etc(in 14 reviews)

  • "The snacks are cool but free snacks don’t make up for the many things that are missing(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "You can be told you're doing a great job one day and then let go the next day for no reason(in 7 reviews)

  • "They have some growing pains as they continually try to tailor their company to fit the growth(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Grow a Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time

    Pros

    I worked there for 3yrs. and they are without a doubt one of the better companies out there. They treat you with respect and transparency. I was with ABMG when they were going through some growing pains and they did a fantastic job at keeping the culture of a family business. I wouldn't have left, but I had to move. You get plenty of days off and PTO for your birthday. They will match a portion of your 401k as well....

    Show More

    Cons

    They hit a snag with technology a couple years back, but as I was leaving they were making huge corrective strides around that dept.

    Advice to Management

    Keep following the strategy you have in place now. The changes made are setting the right course for growth and success.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-02-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Bad dream"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They pay bonus under the table - deliver cash via UPS

    Cons

    Worst technology ever. Management cant make a decision and stick to it. Policies changed 3 to 7 times a year and sometimes in a span of a few months or week They rewrite guidelines, but incorrectly. Always on the clean up vs prevention Their idea of the market changing is progressing from industry standard circa 1999 to 2015. Take this job only if you are desperate! Career killer.

    Advice to Management

    Take some money and invest in some outside mortgage executive professionals with proven experience. Get rid of Byte. Stop paying people to write guidelines when they are available via allregs.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-05-21
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time

    Pros

    They really want to do the right thing and want what’s best for their employees! Open door policy with the managers, always know where you stand with your performance, free vending, good pto, and culture.

    Cons

    Sometimes I didn’t feel like it was a very professional environment, but it was pretty nice to have a laid back culture.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-04-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Who you know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    I made a good salary

    Cons

    They change favorite people and entire departments constantly. No real careerpaths, you just had to get lucky.

    Advice to Management

    Pick one thing and stick to it. Stop hiring so many people just to lay them off later. Hire people with experience and perspective from other companies.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-04-09
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time

    Pros

    Not sure anymore because they’re getting rid of everything that made ABMG unique.

    Cons

    I’ve never seen a company stray so much from its core values. Brian is a great guy but Stan has a very spastic method of doing things and it’s showing. Nobody feels safe anymore. Departments lay everyone off and then start hiring again. People are misled, undervalued, and underpaid. Free snacks don’t make up for what has happened there.

    Advice to Management

    Let someone else be the COO. The writing is on the wall and if you don’t believe it just go ahead and sniff through everyone’s Skype messages.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (4)

    "OK place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great bonus structure and you get your birthday off.

    Cons

    Remote culture is still developing - a bit of an "us" versus "them" mentality.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-02-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Processor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Follow through on what is communicated. Teamwork oriented.

    Cons

    Nothing as of yet and I have been with them over a year.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-02-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    They are very dedicated to having the strongest employees. It’s so refreshing to work with smart and hard working people. There is genuine caring for the team as well as those less fortunate. There is paid time off for volunteering. I really enjoy coming to work each day.

    Cons

    PTO is pretty limited and in the first year or two.

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2019-01-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "This company is absolutely the best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Best leadership I’ve ever been involved with. Truly cares for each employee. Very involved with giving back to our communities.

    Cons

    There are none! I really cannot think of anything negative.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing exactly what you’re doing. It’s extremely effective!

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2018-12-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "By far the best company I have ever worked for. By FAR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Actually cares about and appreciates the employees. As long as you do well and have a positive attitude, this is an awesome place to work!!!

    Cons

    Communication could be better between departments, but this has been improving!

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group2018-12-19
Found 125 reviews