KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

Engaged Employer

Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

Add a Review

Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group CEO Brian Holland
Brian Holland
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Month long employee appreciation(in 15 reviews)

  • "The snacks are cool but free snacks don’t make up for the many things that are missing(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "You can be told you're doing a great job one day and then let go the next day for no reason(in 8 reviews)

  • "An ABMG update so that we all feel on he same page(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Best employer ever!!

      Mar 6, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They truely care about you

      Cons

      I have none to list

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good for all until you have an issue...

      Jun 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They care about everyone, all the people i worked with were really nice and they like to keep it fun.

      Cons

      Upper mgmt was inconsiderate and narrow minded, but not all. CEO, CFO, etc were fantastic though. Complaints fell on deaf ears which made working there miserable bc they allowed a situation to continue and ignored issues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No better than anywhere else

      Apr 19, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Processor in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance is awesome, my direct boss was awesome, my co-workers were awesome.

      Cons

      Nepotism, poor upper management, constant turmoil in office, people being promoted who are dumb as a box of rocks, sales rules the world and can “fire” you even if they can’t balance their own checkbook. Pay is less than industry average. No matter how hard and how long you work and what you out up with, it will never be enough. Sales will drain you. “So you worked till 11pm and started at 6 and we’re a top producer, a loan officer needs his rear end wiped, you should have done that.” Most loan officers can’t even take a simple application. Most of them are subprime loan officers that lie.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      In the age of COVID----an Employer that truly Cares

      Nov 18, 2020 - Senior Underwriter in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We were already moving in the direction of 100% remote work, so when COVID hit, we were a little bit better prepared than most for the changing environment. But what you saw was the leadership team marshal the full resources at their disposal for their employees. When they say "they genuinely care for their employees," they aren't just using a nice slogan. They provided free daily exercise and nutrition classes, mental health counseling, and even virtual summer camp for kids throughout this pandemic. They know that life is hard in these challenging times and made a positive investment in their people. They even had a virtual happy hour where your support network and families were invited and honored for their continue support during these times. Its nice to know that an employer is so very concerned with lifting you up in your life outside of the office. Their continued investment in the lives of their employees shows how much they truly care beyond just your work contributions

      Cons

      While IT has done an amazing job throughout the pandemic, we still run into some instances of key systems going down at the end of the month which can slow production down.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Absolutely THE Best!!!! You wont be disappointed!

      Sep 10, 2020 - Senior Loan Processor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have to say for my many years in the industry my 5 page resume is now one page and full of dust as my 5 year anniversary is quickly approaching. I still cant believe that I surpassed milestones since being on board with ABMG. I have stability, a place to retire, a company that truly cares about me as an individual and show so much love and appreciation as a whole to the staff and the community. Stan and Brian are so down to earth and truly top notch and I am so grateful to be a part of the elite as we truly stand above the rest. I have been around many brands and many leaderships and to work for a company that walk the walk and talk the talk is a cause I can stand behind with confidence. I can talk to my peers with no constraints, I can service my clients with joy and feel good at the end of the day despite how long or how hard I work. I know all my efforts is not in vain. I will continue to rally around ABMG as being THE absolute best in the industry. We are VIP all the way and my family, quality of life and personal growth has been impacted in a positive way that I look forward to seeing what the future holds for us as people and a company. I love me some Atlantic Bay!

      Cons

      As a seasoned mortgage professional, I have no cons to address.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work.

      Oct 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It really is an enjoyable place. I never felt like I was working. The work life balance was great. The pace was mind blowing, the environment is extremely fluid, the owners were on site and made you feel useful, wanted and would take all advice into consideration.

      Cons

      Some poor decisions were made and many lost their jobs. The severance package was more than adequate. The execution of the layoffs was poor, hasty and unplanned. This was also due to senior management that is no longer there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A place to call home

      Nov 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atlantic Bay is highly focused on relationships and appreciation of the employees, as well as getting the borrowers in the home of their dreams. Brian and Stan are the most down to earth people and genuinely care about their employees! Even with everything going on this year during the pandemic, the leaders at Atlantic Bay make sure to provide the best environment to work in while having fun doing it. Coming to Atlantic Bay was the best decision I have ever made, I truly feel like a part of the family and couldn’t ask for anything more.

      Cons

      All companies will have their hiccups, as Atlantic Bay has had in the past. The important thing is that the leadership recognizes it and rectifies it. In this industry we must all be prepared for change and being competitive. This will always bring some unsettling changes but in the long run, the leadership at Atlantic Bay always has the employees best interest at heart.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      My start in originating

      Apr 18, 2021 - Mortgage Banker (MLO) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They provided Paid training for your license

      Cons

      Management lacks development for new nlo

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Favoritism at its Finest

      Mar 5, 2021 - Finance in Virginia Beach, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee Appreciation Month is AMAZING! Loved coworkers in other departments.

      Cons

      You have to look a certain way to be promoted in Finance. Underutilized and undervalued. Rude people with tenure get preferential treatment.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Response

      We regret to hear of your negative experience. We pride ourselves on understanding feedback from our departing employees so that we may learn and grow. Please reach out to our HR team for additional conversation at hr@atlanticbay.com.

    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      False Advertising

      Jul 15, 2020 - Remote Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company's IT department really sets employees up for success working remotely. Bonuses paid out monthly. Paid volunteer time. The company is continually bringing on employees during Covid-19 which is encouraging during a time where employment opportunities are scarce.

      Cons

      There are severe communication issues at ABMG. Managers cannot make up their mind when it comes to processes, procedures or business needs. Feedback is not provided to employees directly (rather discussed behind their backs) and the company's core values and strategy both seem to change on a monthly basis. It is incredibly difficult to align with an organization when there are frequent changes to the company's values and standard procedures. The company boasts "work-life balance" but many employees work late nights (some until 2am) and on weekends as well. Most employees are burnt out and overextended during the busy season. Several members of the C-Suite seem to react using emotion rather than reason. This creates chaos and management follows suite.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Response

      Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group

      We appreciate your feedback. We encourage all of our team members who may have a concern to reach out to our Human Resources Department for a confidential conversation to voice those concerns and share their feedback. Our Core Values are important to us and if a team member is struggling, we want to know about it so that we can better assist them. We hope you will reach out to one our HR representatives. They are always happy to listen and help give guidance. During Covid, we mobilized 95% of our workforce to become remote in order for our team members to be able to take care of themselves, their family members and their children. We recognize this has been a difficult time for everyone which is why we made strong efforts to put such programs as ABFIT, our health and wellness program; With children being home during the summer and camps being cancelled we also started our Summer Series for Grade levels Pre-K through middle school. The teachers put together a full curriculum to help keep the children of our team members engaged and learning without feeling as though they are in school! We’ve worked very hard on our communication whether it’s our CEO or COO they are sending out messages of encouragement and current updates on both the industry and internally. All in all our hope was to help reduce stress during these challenging times, but understand everyone may have different circumstances that need more one on one attention. Please feel free to reach out to HR if you’d like to discuss your concerns. As mentioned earlier, they are happy to listen and give guidance.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 148 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group Job Seekers

    Mortgage Underwriter
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Corporate Compliance Paralegal
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group? Share Your Experiences

    Atlantic Bay Mortgage Group logo
    or