Atlantic Cape Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Atlantic Cape Community College Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Atlantic Cape Community College CEO Barbara Gaba
Barbara Gaba
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adjunct Instructor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Atlantic Cape Community College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The entire ACCC community is great. The students and faculty are welcoming and supportive.

    Cons

    Sometime parking was an issue, however it might be improved by now.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2019-08-08
  2. "What’s happening is a shame."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Helping to shape the next generation heading to 4 year schools and the workforce. Benefits, work-life balance.

    Cons

    No clear direction From senior leadership. Over a decade in, my salary is still over 25K less than when I was in industry.

    Advice to Management

    Please share the action plan to address our enrollment crisis. If there is one.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2019-12-06
  3. "Interview Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Assistant in Mays Landing, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, friendly staff, and educational environment.

    Cons

    I have no complaints to give.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2019-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Atlantic Cape Community College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College full-time

    Pros

    Caring faculty, great students, good quality of life

    Cons

    Atmosphere of insecurity throughout campus

    Advice to Management

    Develop a transparent action plan to address current enrollment crisis and communicate plan to all college personnel.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2018-10-22
  5. "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Atlantic Cape Community College full-time

    Pros

    Many dedicated staff although some just getting pay check

    Cons

    Senior management clueless; confusion every day; budget and enrollment getting worse every semester

    Advice to Management

    Leave

    Atlantic Cape Community College2018-09-05
  6. "good salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Professor in Mays Landing, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Atlantic Cape Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work hard day and night

    Cons

    good salary and a lot of benifit

    Atlantic Cape Community College2018-04-20
  7. "Adjunct Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College part-time

    Pros

    Schedule is fixed at the start of semesters so a very easy part-time job to plan around.

    Cons

    Due to enrollment rates constantly changing you may not always get the amount of classes you are expecting.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2018-03-13
  8. "Lab assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Assistant in Mays Landing, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College part-time

    Pros

    Work flexibility for three campus locations. Distance from home. The supervisor is terrific. Benefits. Pension. Friendly work staff.

    Cons

    No room for advancement. The college has lost too many students resulting in mass layoffs. No job security.

    Advice to Management

    Higher more full time and less part-time people. The continuity is lost and too many people are being trained and leaving. Loss of good people due to part-time only employment practices.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2018-01-08
  9. "Adjunct pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Atlantic Cape Community College part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work environment with professional colleagues

    Cons

    As an adjunct, I am not financially compensated for the teaching effort that give to this institution. For comparison, I work at another college and earn $5500 for teaching a 3 credit course. The board of trustees at accc seem to have no compunction about paying adjuncts like me a paltry sum of $1840 for a 3 credit course. In fact, I have many more students and with that much more teaching related work at accc... than at the other institution that I am employed at. In their effort to keep tuition costs low, they exploit adjuncts. In what other profession would the salary increase be a humiliating 2% in a 10 year period?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider the aforementioned comments!

    Atlantic Cape Community College2017-12-11
  10. "Adjunct English Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brigantine, NJ

    I worked at Atlantic Cape Community College part-time

    Pros

    I came to appreciate two things about being an educator at ACCC: better educational experiences occur in small groups, and it is easiest to learn by doing..being actively involved. These experiences and realizations led me to a career at this small liberal arts school where teaching, research, and mentoring are all highly valued. The environment is collegial and intellectual. As an adjunct professor at a small... college, I can impact a student’s life in a positive way.

    Show More

    Cons

    None I have no Cons @ this time.

    Atlantic Cape Community College2017-06-08
Found 21 reviews