KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Atlassian

Engaged Employer

Atlassian

Add a Review

Atlassian Employee Reviews about "smart people"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Atlassian Co-Founders Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
Scott Farquhar & Mike Cannon-Brookes
655 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, excellent benefits, amazing work/life balance(in 75 reviews)

  • "surrounded by extremely smart people(in 41 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Good positions tend to be available only in the US or Sydney(in 27 reviews)

  • "Work life balance especially during WFH(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "smart people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Solid employer with heart and openness to change

      Dec 1, 2020 - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good culture, perks, smart people

      Cons

      slow to promote, some poor players in middle management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to grow

      Jul 20, 2020 - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - can make an impact as a young engineer, your opinion and ideas will be respected - engineers are encouraged to spend time learning new or deepening technical skills, great opportunity to grow as a more junior engineer - surrounded by extremely smart people - good work-life balance (on my team...see below)

      Cons

      - seems like work-life balance depends heavily on the team and management. I have colleagues on different teams who feel over-worked and burnt out, but this is not a problem on my team

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing Company with great values

      Aug 31, 2020 - Software Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work culture, smart people, adheres to the company values

      Cons

      Nothing as of now .....

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Oct 10, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atlassian is full of smart people. What you can learn is totally up to you. They are flexible with work from home. They are not slave drivers; they understand needing to tackle personal affairs in some days. They use modern web stack, and particular about developer productivity.

      Cons

      Most teams won't face that many big challenges. It is mostly routine feature addition work. So, again, it is up to the individual to take on difficult challenges.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A potentially great company going through growing pains

      Nov 15, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atlassian, like a lot of the other SF bay area startups, has a lot of great perks – fun atmosphere, great office, stocked drinks, and food. They also have a lot of dedicated and smart people working there that makes coming into work fun. Besides the ubiquity of JIRA, I first heard about the company from a TED Talk several years ago (Dan Pink on Motivation – look it up, it's good) and wanted to work there ever since.

      Cons

      In a way, I felt like I was the victim of a bait and switch, and it seems like this is because it's a big company acting like a small startup. I interviewed for one role, and was offered something else, which I had accepted thinking that it would be just as good and similar. What I had found was a team going through transition – people leaving and management being replaced, and a project starting to come apart at the seams. To be honest, I should have asked more about the role before accepting it. Atlassian is going through growing pains, just as much as any other successful company in the SF bay area. You can gather this by also looking at the Cons of other reviews (even positive ones) – lack of career development, seemingly disorganized management., etc.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Great Company and Products, Excellent Perks, Smart People, Best Company I worked for So Far

      Feb 10, 2017 - Business Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The "Atlassian Way" is strong inside this company. It is like "The Force". Management and company are very flexible and friendly and always willing to help. All employees are very supportive and despite being busy are willing to step out of their job description to help in any way they can. This company moves FAST - which keeps you on your toes and keeps you learning from some extremely smart people. The Environment is wonderful. I absolutely loved waking up everyday and going to work.

      Cons

      This is really not so much a CON per se, however, one of my only challenges was being overwhelmed with information , functionality and support. I sometimes lost track of what progress I was making as too many people come in to support using the team collaboration tools. The "Atlassian Way" is just another way that requires adjustment from routine ways of working you might have been accustomed too in the past. Overall it was enjoyable .

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      I love coming to office everyday

      Apr 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This place is just pure "awesome" * The hallmark of any good company is great culture. Here at Atlassian it's OK to speak your minds. Prioritize customer over politics. * Lot of smart people - especially getting hired recently as it is attracting a lot of talent. * Great people - seriously you can take any to your family. * Opportunities are boundless. This is a fast growing company. * Work-life balance - cannot compare to any other company in silicon valley. Combination of doing well and not being a sweat shop. * Business model - Unique business model which would be hard for anyone to copy. It is the next generation enterprise software company.

      Cons

      * Sometimes too many people have opinions about your work without any context. Can slow you down if you don't know how to handle it. * Compensation is not at the level of companies like Google or Facebook.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Terrible Middle Management

      Jul 28, 2016 -  in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Growing company -Friendly and smart people -Unique GTM strategy (no sales) -Lots of good benefits

      Cons

      -Everyone there is 25 and has a warped reality and are very clicky. They were between 7 and 10 years old in '97 when the dot.com boom started and busted in 2000. They have no idea how good it is now and how lucky they are. It won't last forever. -No sense of time to market. Engineering always misses deadlines. -'Sales' and 'Enterprise' are dirty words. Public company thinks they are still a start-up and can grow 40%YoY without sales and enterprise deals. Good luck! -Lots of redundant roles, everyone is trying to build their mini kingdom -Middle management needs serious training on people management skills and their responsibilities -People (mainly middle management) openly say bad things about their own employees and other individual contributors. Open Company, No BS. How about have respect and not talk behind people's back. -PowerPoint is not used. They use Apple Keynote.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not the ending I had in mind

      Jul 14, 2017 - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Smart people, generally a meritocracy Nice offices with all the perks Cool technologies

      Cons

      Not what it claims to be culture wise. Seems like most people were more concerned with making themselves valued than actually creating a cohesive team. I was suddenly terminated after two years of "valued" performance reviews. Definitely not the best engineer, but I didn't deserve to be kicked to the curb and treated so poorly. Security escorted me out after the surprise firing. No severance, no bonus (one month away from it), nothing. That's at-will employment for you I guess.

      Continue reading
      79 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Talented people, well-defined culture, tough growing pains

      Jun 2, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really, really smart people who are talented at what they do, and get a lot done. They place constant attention on what their culture is and what it means. This has brought certain perks like paid leave set aside for volunteering, embraced transparency about company goals and policies, and camaraderie with teammates. At Atlassian, you are truly empowered to work on the stuff you want to, even if it's outside your prescribed domain of expertise, and collaboration across cross-functional roles is something you can count on. The kind of things teams are building and doing are truly interesting, and there's room to contribute. I've worked with some of the most talented people in my career here, across many different departments and products.

      Cons

      Many people are working insane hours under the radar, including many managers. Many aren't. Internally, it seems well-known that most people are underpaid well below market value, but even with options, it's hard to justify. Sometimes the attention to culture feels like navel gazing; and some of the cultural values aren't authentically lived (as any company). Product strategy is aging in an interesting market, but the company hasn't yet learned how to guide decisions with meaningful market input. Diversity is sorely lacking, and they aren't yet addressing it and many meetings are filled with mostly young white men.

      Continue reading
      19 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Atlassian Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Atlassian? Share Your Experiences

    Atlassian logo
    or