AuPairCare Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

AuPairCare Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
AuPairCare   (no image)
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "monthly meetings with au pair and the manager responded really quickly(in 11 reviews)

  • "Being immersed with the American Culture was great(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of au pairs complain of the amount they get paid weekly but they don't understand how much they are getting for living with the family(in 12 reviews)

  • "Sometimes the agency would overlook the problems some AuPairs had with their families(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love the Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great managers

    Cons

    Tough location, need more work from home opportunities

    AuPairCare2019-11-16
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Aupair in New York, NY

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Follow the Government rules Safe host families

    Cons

    Should start a process towards the hosts families to increase the Aupair salary. It is usually a long (agreed upon contract but still) schedule and it requires a lot of dedication from the au pair.

    AuPairCare2019-11-13
  3. "Good experience for new high school grads or gap year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Au Pair in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Always available to help. Good selection of locations to work at

    Cons

    low pay. unclear guidelines for host families.

    AuPairCare2019-08-16
  4. "Its a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Au Pair 

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time

    Pros

    Good opportunity to learn the American culture and travel

    Cons

    Too much work for little pay. Usually families will ask for overtime, even though it’s against the rules.

    AuPairCare2019-07-29
  5. "It's funny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AuPairCare full-time

    Pros

    A lot of free time

    Cons

    Salary and it can be very stressful

    AuPairCare2019-04-18
  6. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aupair in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    cultural exchange, opportunity to learn

    Cons

    many hours, salary is low

    AuPairCare2019-03-25
  7. "Aupair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time

    Pros

    If the family is a good family you are in good hands!

    Cons

    If the family is a bad family you will have the trouble getting help from the agency.

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking about money and think about the aupairs

    AuPairCare2019-01-02
  8. "AuPair Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aupair in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AuPairCare for more than a year

    Pros

    easy application and help with every step of it

    Cons

    families you match with usually ewer much more work that it was said from the begging.

    AuPairCare2018-12-31
  9. "Great "first job" experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Au Pair in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -great as a gap year -teaches you how to adapt, be flexible, responsible and navigate day to day operations -rewarding work with children -allows to travel through USA and improve English

    Cons

    -pretty low salary -the conditions are not the same in every family -poor support system -too many working hours

    Advice to Management

    -pay better attention when accepting families and make sure they follow all the rules

    AuPairCare2018-11-24
  10. "Au Pair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Au Pair in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The registration for this program is fairly affordable to someone that wants to live abroad for 1 or 2 years! I was an Au Pair for a family in NY for 2 consecutive years and had the best time of my life. I am not saying there were no tough times but that is part of every job or exchange program you will do out there. The experience itself is absolutely amazing; you learn English, you learn LIFE, you learn lots... about parenting and kids, and change your perspective of a lot of things. You have to be very open minded though and appreciative to enjoy the program. I recommend!!

    Show More

    Cons

    I would say that 200 a week is tricky to live with, but considering you should not have to pay for housing, car and food expenses - it is a pretty good deal! Lots of au pairs complain of the amount they get paid weekly but they don't understand how much they are getting for living with the family. That alone is a way of payment. If you want to rent a place on your own in the US, do your own groceries, buy a car, pay... all the insurances and get paid more once your program is over, you will barely have 200 left in your pocket a week. Life is not cheap and of course you can always get paid more, but this program's intent is not to make money - is to live abroad and enjoy a new experience while learning English.

    Show More
    AuPairCare2018-08-23
Found 58 reviews