AuPairCare Reviews | Glassdoor

AuPairCare Reviews

Updated Nov 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
AuPairCare CEO  (no image)
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Area Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Area Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AuPairCare

    Pros

    Really skilled and attentive employees right on down from the president, headquarters group to regional managers and area directors. Everyone is interested in making good au pair matches for both the au pair and the host family and work towards keeping the matches healthy and happy throughout the program year. Good company systems and processes support the organization and its participants.

    Cons

    The Area Director job is extremely fulfilling and a great work-from-home situation, but earnings potential is limited for the number of hours needed to take care of a team cluster. There are no employee benefits provided to area directors in their position.

    Advice to Management

    Provide the ability for area directors to buy into medical insurance, life insurance, 401k, etc. at company plan rates.

    AuPairCare2016-01-07
  2. "Cool experience but not a great pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time

    Pros

    Company takes a good care of aupairs when there is a problem. Lots of fun events. Living with the family is a great way to get to know their culture, traditions and language.

    Cons

    Low pay for the aupairs for what they do for the families and how many hours they work. Usually aupairs don't just take care of kids but take care of the house and other related errands.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the salary for aupairs, they really do work hard. Offer some benefits to the aupairs.

    AuPairCare2015-10-22
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aupair in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good job for young people to try themselves to work in new country, to learn new language and new culture

    Cons

    Very hard work, 45 hours a week for very low salary, sometimes can be stressful , salary is around 4$ in a hour

    Advice to Management

    Check up families more often

    AuPairCare2015-09-20
  4. "Being an Aupair was a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Au Pair in Kirkland, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the best experience of my life my espectations were really clear since day one, Eventhou I rematched, the procees went smooth and left the family in really good terms, my new family was so great that extended for one more year, it really hard the adaptation to new families but no impossible and my area coordinator in Washington was super helpful. the program allows you to travel one month after your are done with... your years, you meet people from all over the world and get to know the american culture better. there were around 30 Au pairs in my area!!!!

    Show More

    Cons

    the families need to be screen properly as well as the Aupairs to avoid rematchs. 45hrs its too many hours, I wish it was 40-42 hrs a weeks, the salary is low for Au Pairs

    Advice to Management

    some area coordinators are not 100% involve with the program

    AuPairCare2015-09-16
  5. "Great agency for au pairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends

    I worked at AuPairCare

    Pros

    As an au pair my concerns where always addressed and the experience was great

    Cons

    Low pay for the au pairs even though most work a lot

    Advice to Management

    broaden recruiting ways

    AuPairCare2015-08-11
  6. "Good place to get your start but not to grow (HQ review)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Worked At HQ in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare

    Pros

    Every day is interesting and different so you rarely get bored. It can be a fun work environment with company wide events and parties, and there are a lot of young co-workers. The company is very open to change and enjoys hearing ideas from employees on how to better their process. It's a good place to get skill sets to be applied at future jobs (handling elevated customer issues, sales, international relations,... government procedure with regards to international exchange).

    Show More

    Cons

    Low pay and limited opportunity for growth. There is a lot of turnover at any level below director because the employees can get paid more doing similar work elsewhere. The company would also prefer to keep managers/directors who are unqualified for their jobs or just plain lazy rather than taking a step to make improvements or hire more qualified people. This can be frustrating for those working hard at a lower... level, especially when there is no way to move up and that hard work is recognized verbally, but not monetarily or with promotions. There are a lot of angry customers to deal with, but as long as you can get used to it, you don't need to see this is as con necessarily.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your quality employees who work hard for the company and pay them accordingly if you want to keep them. Some of the higher ups are coasting, never bother to learn the duties/jobs of the people they manage, push their tasks off to others, or go on facebook or play trivia crack at their desks while the team under them works non stop (I've seen it!).

    AuPairCare2015-06-25
  7. "They sponsor your visa and contact you to the family, that's all!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Aupair in Cherry Hill, NJ
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have a lot of families. Good health insurance. Good web page.

    Cons

    Horrible area directors. They just care about the families, not the aupairs. They see they aupairs as merchandise, not as humans. They are not helpful in case you have a problem. They don't make sure families follow the contract.

    Advice to Management

    Department of State needs to control the AUPAIR agencies.

    AuPairCare2015-04-27
  8. "This company was fun to work with but the pay was low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare

    Pros

    They had many fun employee events.

    Cons

    The pay was low considering it was located in San Francisco.

    AuPairCare2015-04-06
  9. "You have to skype many times with the family to make sure they are good for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
     
    Recommends

    I have been working at AuPairCare

    Pros

    They helped me everytime I needed. The area director once you get to USA is your link with the company. I have been very lucky with her but I know others that just care about the family

    Cons

    You don't just take care of the kids... You have to do more chores in the house

    AuPairCare2014-12-27
  10. "au pair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aupair in McKinney, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AuPairCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    learning a new culture, new language, and being hosted in an american family. You will learn a lot about American culture, and the family's culture.

    Cons

    Really depends on what family you get. Sometimes they will ask you to work on a Sunday the same day, so if you have already made plans, you will have to cancel them, etc. Be sure to ask the family the work schedule and if they tell you in advance about work on weekends. Do not count on the aupair advisor of your region to help you (at least the one I had). They always take the side of the family.

    Advice to Management

    Choose your family wisely

    AuPairCare2014-12-01
Found 58 reviews