Auction.com Reviews

Updated Mar 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
45%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Auction.com Chief Executive Officer Jason Allnutt
Jason Allnutt
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Company with Great people and great health benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, great leadership and overall great culutre(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "No room for growth individually or for company(in 11 reviews)

  • "temp employee, breaks were short, no room for growth, couldnt be hired as a full time employee(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auction.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with peers.

    Cons

    Maybe not enough snacks, but that's about it.

    Auction.com2020-03-27
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Got me through the recession"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Auction.com full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company had a unique product the benefited from the housing downturn of the last recession. I was in the right place at the right time and maintained a good salary.

    Cons

    The company was very disorganized and had a continuous turnover in management. They had no real plan or direction other than to increase sales period by period.

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2020-03-30
  3. "Before Chinese Buyout"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Writer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auction.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Money and Creative Freedom, Decent Money for Creatives

    Cons

    Promote Terrible People, Let Go the Good Ones

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2020-03-08
  4. "Caring Company Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership and Management is caring and listens to employees.

    Cons

    No complaints as I am very happy to be working here.

    Auction.com2020-02-07
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Management is Atrocious"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Auction.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free food twice a week, reasonably flexible work schedule

    Cons

    Senior Management is absolutely terrible, CEO (Jason Allnut) has no clue how tech works nor does he want to educate himself and is too arrogant to think he could be wrong, no support given, people are not empowered, but instead are constantly scrambling to please senior management, people leave all the time as a result because their work doesn't get appreciated

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2020-02-12
  6. "Review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist 

    I worked at Auction.com part-time

    Pros

    The people were good and teams

    Cons

    Management didn’t know company’s goals at times

    Auction.com2020-01-26
  7. "Company Review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Contract Specialist 

    I worked at Auction.com part-time

    Pros

    Most of the people there were friendly

    Cons

    Management was unorganized, company did not reward or promote good work ethic

    Auction.com2020-01-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Average company to work with"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Senior in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auction.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible Time, medical benefits are great

    Cons

    Lack of senior leadership. Change direction constantly. Accomplishments not get recognized and compensated.

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2019-12-09
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Not bad place to work...but could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction.com full-time

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO. That's it.

    Cons

    - CEO isn't a tech guy and honestly doesn't get it, nor does he want to hear it. - This company has been bought and sold and divested from other companies many times. It's a tech fixer-upper, and once it's sort of decent, they sell it for a profit and a lot of people lose their jobs. This place is only about making stakeholders happy. - Ugly office with no facilities. Bathrooms are atrocious. - They can't wait to cut free food and snacks. - Management doesn't know what they're doing. Good managers who speak up are removed if they disagree with the CEO. Everyone's job is always on the line.

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Casual work environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Foreclosure Asset Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Auction.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Casual work environment, lots of PTO, great benefits, flexible work hours

    Cons

    Sr Management does nothing to keep good employees, everyone is replaceable mentality, no room for growth, no raises besides the yearly merit (cost of living adjustment). Cut pay but expect you to take on more work. Lay offs every quarter!

    Continue reading
    Auction.com2019-09-23

    Auction.com Response

    October 1, 2019HR Business Leader

    Thanks for your review. We pride ourselves on being authentic, one of our core values, so we appreciate your input. Thanks for recognizing our strong benefits and flexible work environment. And please know we're working diligently to show our best talent that they can learn and achieve great things through a performance reward culture. Our promotion cycle and pay increases for role expansion prove this. Still, we take your feedback seriously and will continue taking steps to improve in this area.

Found 199 reviews