KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Audible

Part of Amazon
Engaged Employer

Audible

Add a Review

Audible Reviews

Updated May 25, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 415 of over 558 reviews

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Audible Chairman and CEO Donald R. Katz
Donald R. Katz
291 Ratings

What people are saying about Audible

Join the conversation on

Tech

2m

an 

Account Executive

My wide swears she learns more from listening to podcasts while walking the dog than I do listening to audio books at the gym. Team Podcast or Team Audible?

9

5 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Audible and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company

    May 25, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People and work from home flexibility

    Cons

    Lots of busy work and limited stock

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Shifting winds disorient, but incredibly stable and slow moving company

    Apr 10, 2022 - Senior Director in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of good, smart, well intentioned folks here and a product that users love. The core business model is rock solid.

    Cons

    Every 6 months there is a management shake up and programs are ended, people are laid off. Usually it's after giving a half-assessed attempt at a new thing and then declaring it a failure. The 'new' initiative thing seems to get started over again every few years.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We’re proud of the passionate, driven professionals that work hard to ensure that we exceed our customers’ expectations. Thank you for your dedication to our customers and helping make Audible a great place to work.

  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazon Jr.

    May 12, 2022 - Software Development Engineer (SDE) II 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Far better RSU vesting schedule than Amazon. Most of my teammates were very smart and encouraging.

    Cons

    Audible was sold to me as being it's own company with values and a culture independent of Amazon. That may be true for a select few teams, but I essentially experienced "Amazon lite" during my time. Same politicking come review time. I lost all motivation towards the end of my time and just wanted out asap. It's a quick to take credit, quicker to shift blame environment, your achievements will be overshadowed by your mistakes if you don't act that way. There's a reason the "mental health" slack channel gets so popular around review time.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    We’re disappointed to hear about your experience at Audible. We work hard to create an environment where people feel supported, and we are grateful for your feedback. We will continue to live up to our values, and listen.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great team culture

    May 17, 2022 - QAEII in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lot of opportunities to learn and grow

    Cons

    Too much work and lot of moving parts

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Room for Growth

    Apr 21, 2022 - Production Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Audible is very supportive as a company Benefits are excellent Pay is decent for the field

    Cons

    Incredibly slow-moving even for a large company. Most departments are understaffed. Too many editors, not enough support staff. The Operations team takes on more than their share of issues for the company. Leadership isn't protecting the team from other teams dumping their problems on Ops.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re committed to improving the experience of working here and we invite you to reach out to your HRBP or manager for further conversation. We will continue to live up to our values and listen.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Cornerstone Program

    Apr 19, 2022 - Customer Care Trainee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The manager and trainer are very friendly. Critical feedback. Helps your improve upon your communication skills and writing because Audible is about crafting the use of words.

    Cons

    I think that things should not feel rushed in terms of deadlines. Also sometimes the manager and trainer should hear out the student more in discussions.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Company to work for

    Apr 29, 2022 - Software Development Engineer (SDE) in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Using all of Amazon's engineering tools Everyone is super friendly and helpful Great work life balance

    Cons

    Some of the tech is based on legacy systems

    1 person found this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We wouldn’t be able to have a positive culture without people like you. We appreciate you helping to make Audible a great place to work.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    QA Engineer

    May 1, 2022 - QA Engineer in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Chill company to work with

    Cons

    You have to really work hard to achieve growth in fast pace

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback! It’s important to us that Audible has a welcoming atmosphere for our employees and it’s great to hear that you feel it.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Place to Work

    Apr 12, 2022 - Executive Producer in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is full of creative and interesting people

    Cons

    They make a lot of changes and there is turnover

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re glad to hear you’re inspired by your work and we welcome more of your feedback.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing Culture & Teams

    Feb 23, 2022 - Director, HRBP in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Audible has been a breath of fresh air. It is an innovative company with an amazing culture and brand. The leadership teams are open to hearing feedback and care about their teams. I recently worked for Amazon and this has been a positive change.

    Cons

    The company is currently experiencing growth and with that we have to prepare for some ambiguity as we scale.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Audible Response

    HR Director

    We love hearing that you have enjoyed our culture! We’re proud of the passionate, driven professionals that work hard to ensure that we exceed our customers’ expectations. Thank you for your dedication to our customers and helping make Audible a great place to work.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 415 Reviews

Audible Reviews FAQs

Audible has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 558 reviews left anonymously by employees. 74% of employees would recommend working at Audible to a friend and 67% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Audible employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Audible. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

74% of Audible employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Audible 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.2 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Audible to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Audible Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Audible? Share Your Experiences

or

Audible Careers

Cover image for Audible

A little about us We're changing the narrative on storytelling. Audible is a leading producer and provider of original spoken-word...More

  • Life at Audible
  • Our Principles
  • Benefits
  • Testimonials
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Company Updates

Logo

Audible

5 days ago

Amplifying underrepresented voices is a key part of our mission. Through our Indigenous Writers’ Circle in Canada, created in collaboration with Yulu Public Relations, we’re able to support emerging Indigenous writers from First Nations, Inuit and Métis communities to hone their skills. The mentor team also advised on submitting work to journals, publishers and agents, in addition to connecting writers with their networks. We’re currently accepting applications through the end of May for our second cohort. Learn more about our writers and their mentors from the inaugural class below.
Shared image - For These Indigenous Writers, a Journey of Voice, Culture, and Storytelling | About Audible
For These Indigenous Writers, a Journey of Voice, Culture, and Storytelling | About Audible
www.audible.com

Audible Photos

+ Add Photo
Audible photo of: Team Audible at Propelify 2018
Audible photo of: Over 60 employee volunteers from our Finance and Insights teams led a number of engaging workshops with students and worked to beautify Rafael Hernandez Elementary School in Newark.
Audible photo of: Black History Month celebrations concluded with a Spoken Word performance by employees.
Audible photo of: Our engineers eat pie on Pi Day!
Audible photo of: Audible employees mark World Sleep Day with an Audible Sleep and Sound Experience.
Audible photo of: Audible employees celebrating the Lunar New Year in our Cambridge office.
Audible photo of: Audible's Women in Engineering at The 2018 Grace Hopper Celebration
See All Photos