Audible "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Audible Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated Feb 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Audible Chairman and CEO Donald R. Katz
Donald R. Katz
252 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free lunch, limitless growth and development, employees really feel a sense of community and purpose(in 73 reviews)

  • "Well paid, backed by Amazon, great benefits (commuter, free food)(in 49 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior Management has no idea how to effectively run an organization or manage employees(in 16 reviews)

  • "Lack of growth; Work/Life balance discouraged(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee Engagement Manager in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, limitless growth and development, employees really feel a sense of community and purpose

    Cons

    The manager you have can make or break your experience

    Audible2020-02-04

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to write an alumni review. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our culture and opportunities for career growth. We’re glad to hear you were inspired by your work and our community inside Audible.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Not a place for career growth ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great product, always looking for ways the company can expand, free lunch

    Cons

    Wow. politics, so much politics. Career advancement is not a thing, unless you are part of the click. There is a clear "unconscious" bias in terms of hiring, promotion and career advancement, and frankly the executive leadership is ok with it, because they are oblivious to the games their own leadership plays. Hard work clearly does not pay, all you have to do is be a "favorite" of your manager.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-12-19

    Audible Response

    February 7, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. Our team works hard to create a productive and inclusive environment, so we’re disappointed to hear you've had a different experience. We believe that communication is critical to creating real, positive change. We invite you to connect with your HRBP or your manager for further conversation. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Glassdoor.

    Continue reading
  3. "Professional and supportive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Audible for less than a year

    Pros

    Hiring process: 1. professional recruiters: quick responses and help facilitate the process when having other offer deadlines. Culture: 1. People principle. Adopt social responsibility. Supportive working environment. 2. Entrepreneur spirit Compensation : 1. competitive pay for interns. 2. provide dorm housing 3. free lunch

    Cons

    I haven't thought of yet.

    Audible2019-11-04
  4. "Not so great for contractors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Human Resources Assistant in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Audible for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, lots of extras perks, they generally very wasteful with money and salaries.

    Cons

    You will feel excluded on this “all inclusive” place to work. They tend to pay low and wait to build talent? They are not paying market for some positions. Do you think tech when you think of Audible? Lots of wishful thinking of what they actually are which is a subsidiary of Amazon.

    Audible2019-10-30

    Audible Response

    November 1, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your alumni review. Our team works hard to create an inclusive environment, so we’re disappointed to hear you had a different experience. We’re committed to improving the experience of working here and appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Awesome perks, but management is questionable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Audible

    Pros

    Free Lunch, commute reimbursement, casual work attire, $500 off rent if you live in Newark, great health insurance, good pay. You get a lot of independence here for your job. You are encouraged to work on projects that are idea driven and with that comes little micromanagement.

    Cons

    Very uncommunicative management, you have to ask or you will not be in the loop on anything You will interact with a multitude of teams who you don’t have relationships with or work in the same building as. This leads to constant meeting and email churn which is wasteful of time. Perhaps only my experience, but I was not trained well. It was more me hitting road blocks and asking my team how to get past them then for me to be made aware or educated on the business. I still feel like I’m getting used to my role several months in.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-08-20

    Audible Response

    August 29, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks so much for your thoughtful review and for calling out a great list of Audible perks, and especially for mentioning how you experience autonomy in your role. We're sorry to hear your frustration around your acclimation. If you need some support or resources as you settle in, we suggest chatting with your manager or reaching out to your HRBP. We're delighted to have you on our team and appreciate your contributions! Thanks again for your review. ~Anne

    Continue reading
  6. "Good balance of work and personal life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazon, New Technologies. Free lunch

    Cons

    Work can be a little boring sometimes.

    Audible2019-05-23
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Not for people who are passionate about their work and want to grow and learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They have free lunches everyday Under Amazon wing

    Cons

    They literally dupe you. The higher management has no concern for the employees and what they want. There is a serious lack of communication There is no focus on employee happiness. They say there is a work life balance but I dont see it. There is a provision to work remotely but it is frowned upon by your colleagues. People gossip all the time and tend to be into other people's business. Overall a very toxic work culture. One hardly ever sees the CEO. Setting up meetings with anyone above your manager is next to impossible. No good intake program. No good mentorship program.

    Audible2019-05-17
  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible

    Pros

    Lots of benefits free lunch

    Cons

    None I can ”t find any yet

    Audible2019-04-24
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Challenging, but fulfilling work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It is a fast moving company that cares about its customers and its community. The things that are most important to me are the friendly employees, the challenging work, great benefits, including Amazon stock, free lunch, happy hours, flexible work policy, recognition and rewards for going above and beyond your normal job duties, and convenience to mass transit.

    Cons

    Working out of two locations in Newark sometimes requires a lot of walking back and forth; workload can be overwhelming at times due to headcount restraints, and you may have to juggle many issues at once to keep everyone happy.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-04-11
  10. Helpful (13)

    "Please don't come here if you have any passion to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDE1 in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Audible full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, dumb SDE work, any high schooler can do, people work from home twice a week, come at 11 and leave at 3. Come here if you want to chill.

    Cons

    Everything is top down, if management says you're dumb, make this, the entire org does that. Only come here if you have no passion for life.

    Continue reading
    Audible2019-05-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 73 reviews