Augustana College (Illinois) Reviews | Glassdoor

Augustana College (Illinois) Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
95%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Augustana College (Illinois) CEO Steven C. Bahls (no image)
Steven C. Bahls
22 Ratings
  1. "Great place and great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reading/Writing Center 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is an amazing place to work where coworkers and supervisors promote a positive environment. I looked forward to going to my shifts and would definitely recommend applying.

    Cons

    This is truly a great place to work, but if you are looking for a large number of hours it may be difficult to get them. Augustana has a 10 hour per week cap for work study, and I typically worked four hours a week at the writing center. This worked great for balancing activities and other jobs, but it might not be ideal if your goal is just to make money rather than the other positive benefits the writing center... provides.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-06-12
  2. "OSL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - OSL Executive Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois) part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, awesome team, free stuff

    Cons

    Student workers only get paid minimum wage

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-05-25
  3. "Great community and positive mentorship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Augustana College (Illinois) part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, campus community, vacation, benefits

    Cons

    Typically more work than expected

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-05-14
  4. "Osl review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Staff in Rock Island, IL

    I have been working at Augustana College (Illinois) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, learn how to plan events

    Cons

    Pay is not good

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-04-22
  5. "Student Worker Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Augustana College (Illinois) part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gain a lot of experience

    Cons

    Minimum wage payment is low

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-03-27
  6. "Student Worker Secretary at Augustana College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in Rock Island, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Augustana College (Illinois) part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to get a job.

    Cons

    There isn't a lot of hours.

    Augustana College (Illinois)2019-03-10
  7. "Overall good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois) full-time

    Pros

    Great coworkers, built family type relationships, supervisors are easy to talk to and help as much as possible, free college after a certain amount of time employed

    Cons

    The hourly rate of pay is horrible, plan on getting a 2nd or even 3rd job to make ends meet.

    Advice to Management

    Raise the pay so you can retain your good employees. At least offer enough that one can make ends meet without having to work a 2nd or 3rd job.

    Augustana College (Illinois)2018-11-01
  8. "Could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois) full-time

    Pros

    The people and the students are great! There are some genuinely great people that work there. The benefits are pretty solid as well, but that can be said about most private colleges.

    Cons

    There is a disconnect between what the president wants with the school and what it actually is. The president and other members of cabinet appear to not know the actually status of the school versus other “like” schools within the region.

    Advice to Management

    Hire the right people based on talent not based on where they’ve been or what their most recent title was.

    Augustana College (Illinois)2018-11-05
  9. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois)

    Pros

    Work with fellow students in groups

    Cons

    Minimum Wage, Can't choose shifts

    Augustana College (Illinois)2018-09-19
  10. "Research associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Rock Island, IL

    I worked at Augustana College (Illinois) for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and independent setting

    Cons

    Lack of funding and hours

    Augustana College (Illinois)2018-09-30
Found 41 reviews