Aurora Health Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Aurora Health Care Reviews

Updated May 20, 2017
425 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Aurora Health Care President & CEO Nick Turkal
Nick Turkal
190 Ratings

425 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work/life balance is great in my area (in 19 reviews)

  • Good benefits are always a plus (in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • 40 in wellness credits per pay period to offset my portion of health care premium (in 14 reviews)

  • Potential for cluttered work environment (in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Aurora centers themselves amongst an elite team who embrace and carryout its vision"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Verification in New Berlin, WI
    Current Employee - Insurance Verification in New Berlin, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Training, continuing education, mentoring, engagement, feedback, opportunities, great HR recruitment (C. Hintz), excellent benefits, supervisors, managers, executives get involved with all levels of staff. Vision past, current, and future is exciting. Culture is diverse and Aurora is involved in creating the atmosphere.

    Cons

    Clock-in times are necessary. I've only experienced the feeling of acceptance, acknowledgement, assistance, department team is outstanding. The hiring protocol is lengthy. However, with that being said, Aurora receives the best talent.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide tools, resources, updates on company direction, vision, mission statement, present and future outlook for Aurora. Employed in a specific department I've been given many tools, a rock star supervisor, another rock star lead, and enjoy the diversity of our team.

    Aurora Health Care Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your great feedback! So happy to have you on our team.


  2. "Sonographer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diagnostic Medical Sonographer in Kenosha, WI
    Current Employee - Diagnostic Medical Sonographer in Kenosha, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time

    Pros

    Amazing technology, appropriate work load

    Cons

    Not a very diverse work force

    Aurora Health Care Response

    May 17, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Diversity & Inclusion is a strategic imperative and part of our strategic plan. We know that if we approach D&I in a comprehensive and meaningful way, all people will ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Admin Assistant Sr."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Plenty of job openings for future opportunities
    Decent benefits compared to other big companies

    Cons

    -Pay could be better for the amount of work expected
    -Top heavy with SVPs, VPs and Directors
    -It is tough to promote unless you know someone
    HR is very slow with the hiring and transfer process

    Advice to Management

    -Hire more indians and less chiefs. There is plenty of work to do. When someone leaves, they do not replace so the ones left standing get workloads that are unmanageable, causing unnecessary stress and burn out.

    Aurora Health Care Response

    May 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and suggestions.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "I like it here but am going elsewhere"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I like what I do but it's not for everyone.

    Cons

    Pay is minimal compared to other Hospitals, the lack of staffing, mandatory OT, always wondering if people will show up to work, dept to dept doesn't seem to work well with one another.

    Advice to Management

    Hire people and pay people what they deserve!


  6. "10 year hard working employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    My department- oncology. I love our cancer doctors. I go to all 16 of our clinics and they are all wonderful along with all of my coworkers

    Cons

    Travel - float differential should be the same no matter what your job title is. Gas costs the same for all of us and the wear and tear is the same on my vehicle as the nurse who gets an 8 dollar float differential compared to my 2 dollars extra. It's insulting

    Advice to Management

    None Aurora is a wonderful company to work for

    Aurora Health Care Response

    May 11, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for the suggestions. It sounds like we are lucky to have such a compassionate caregiver for our patients.


  7. "overall a good place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Physical Therapist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    room to transfer in the company, job security, good 403b match

    Cons

    limited advancement, feel like a number, fair insurance benefits

    Aurora Health Care Response

    May 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to review Aurora.


  8. "Awesome work environment"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ROI Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - ROI Specialist in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits are second to none. Friendly co-workers are abundant and managers are great.

    Cons

    The pay could be a little better but the benefits help balance things out.

    Advice to Management

    keep striving to keep a happy work environment

    Aurora Health Care Response

    May 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Phlebotomy"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Phlebotomy in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Phlebotomy in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work around your schedule, nice pay, nice management, supports growth offers tuition reimbursement to go back to school and offers training in different areas

    Cons

    Find a job you really love to do, co workers can be the problem sometimes. Also a lot of workers like to call people "hun, sweets, darling" I dislike that

    Advice to Management

    None

    Aurora Health Care Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Healthcare"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great work life balance, advancement opportunities.

    Cons

    Benefits package. Health insurance prices to use providers we work with daily is extremely overpriced.

    Aurora Health Care Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Our benefits package is extremely competitive in the marketplace and offers many wellness credits to help offset your employee contribution.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Solid Pay, Great Benefits and an Evolving Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Server Analyst in Milwaukee, WI
    Current Employee - Network Server Analyst in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora Health Care full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is comparable if not better than others in the industry. 401k and Healthcare Plans are superb. Good culture, but it is still evolving from an old school way of thinking.

    Cons

    You have to start over with your vacation time. I gave up 5 weeks of vacation and Aurora makes you build yours up slowly at around 7 hours per paycheck. Poor office location, the Heil Center is located in west Milwaukee. Cafeteria is terrible and there is no workout center.

    Advice to Management

    Move the offices downtown. The corporate office location is horrendous. Upgrade the cafeteria and add a workout center.

    Aurora Health Care Response

    Apr 18, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.


Showing 425 of 438 reviews
Reset Filters