Aurora University Reviews | Glassdoor

Aurora University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
Aurora University CEO Rebecca L. Sherrick
Rebecca L. Sherrick
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work as a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Aurora, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at Aurora University part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours with class schedule, caring, good pay

    Cons

    Employment as a student worker ends with graduation

    Aurora University2018-10-16
  2. "Just Say No!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aurora University full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I would struggle to suggest anything that couldn't be found at other employers other than the free college for your kids.

    Cons

    Long and distinguished.... The biggest roadblocks you'll face are the people who are in charge. Issues at AU stem directly from their draconian/mafia styled management approaches. They tend to blow things out of proportion or made them worse. Who ever said top down was absolutely correct. Whoever said communication in a relationship is a two way street certainly never worked at AU. Working at AU makes you...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Vote of no confidence submitted!

    Aurora University2019-05-11
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aurora University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resume padder, networking, did open a door to a healthy career for me, flexible schedule, not being stuck there was the biggest pro!

    Cons

    Pay is an issue, no training, no growth oppertunties, promotes low skill sets and stagnation, high expectations, vague guidelines, very very poor culture created by poor senior management. I would not want to be stuck at Aurora University for any number of years as a career choice.

    Advice to Management

    You should listen to your employees. You absolutely need to stop ignoring your staff! Start to value people over income.

    Aurora University2019-04-29
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Committed colleagues but toxic leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora University full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Working with AU students is great. For the most part, they are hard-working, earnest people, and it's rewarding to know we can be a part of helping them accomplish their goals. Most of the people who work there care about the students and have good camaraderie with each other. The pay is fair, for my position.

    Cons

    The President seems to pit groups of employees against each other and says negative things about one group to another group. Most senior management people seem afraid of her, and none of them have any ability to make a decision without her permission. She tends to place blame for any problem on some group or individual and never accepts responsibility for things that go wrong.

    Aurora University2019-03-02
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Passive Aggressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora University full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Pay comes on time Hours are consistent Holidays and weekends off Easy job responsibilities, brain dead easy Raises randomly given at times

    Cons

    Backwards, utopian minded, back stabbing administration. There are a lot administrators that are out of touch with average Americans, especially those who are not in the academic world. They relate poorly with bluecollar workers. They are very knee jerk to issues versus being proactive. Blame game is common. A key skill you'll develop is practising C.Y.A. Sherrick and her "crew" are passive aggressive bullies. She...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You're unwilling to change. The stick that does not bend will likely break. Your mindsets are obsolete, worse yet you're bad people, retire and save us all the trouble. You'd be supprised how many of your workers are not drinking the cool aid.

    Aurora University2019-04-17
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Run as fast as you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aurora University

    Pros

    There’s really not much good to say about this place. If you dislike being challenged and have a strong desire to blindly follow directions without room for discussion, then this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Exceptionally top-down No room for discussion or debate Requires blind loyalty Limited long-term strategic planning (there’s no consistency to goals or objectives) Plans change on a dime at the president’s whim Willing to recruit under false pretenses

    Advice to Management

    The top-down, no debate model within many departments is exceptionally troubling within a higher education institution. You’re doing no favors to your staff or students by bullying and requiring blind compliance from all employees. Run ... hide ... get away (fast).

    Aurora University2019-04-05
  7. "Wonderful benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aurora University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, beautiful campus, and students are No. 1. The president of the university is very transparent.

    Cons

    The culture isn't for everyone. The university can run at a very slow pace .

    Aurora University2019-02-28
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Do yourself a favor and skip the application"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aurora University full-time

    Pros

    Pay was outstanding. Small office environments allow you to keep your head down most days

    Cons

    -Leadership was focused on dollars and nothing else. -My role often times was reduced to pushing students to enroll against their own better judgment- I was NOT in admission/recruitment. -Their strategy is reactive to problems, there was no proactive planning. -Nepotism central. -Inflexible and dehumanizing supervision, at times to the point of humiliation -No opportunities for advancement (which, to be fair,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have none- they've got a clear agenda and nothing they do will change while any of them are still in charge.

    Aurora University2019-01-29
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Aurora University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Small campus so it's easy to network, ability to be creative and independent in your work

      Cons

      Heavy workload, long hours and no overtime/comp. pay, one person office

      Aurora University2018-12-26
    • "Admission Counselor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aurora, IL

        I have been working at Aurora University full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Great flexibility and team work

        Cons

        I have no cons to talk about

        Aurora University2018-08-08
      Found 45 reviews