Austen Morris Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Austen Morris Associates Reviews

Updated June 16, 2017
36 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Austen Morris Associates Managing Senior Partner James Colclough
James Colclough
4 Ratings

36 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Great work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Austen Morris Associates full-time

    Pros

    AMA has quite the multi-cultural team environment and it is definitely a great starting point if you want a financial career. Intro training is very good and the Senior Management makes sure you feel welcome since day one.

    Cons

    Be prepared to work for a commission based job. Talking to Chinese secretaries can be stressful and frustrating.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on motivating the team as you have been doing until today. Keep throwing those off-work activities that you are so good at!


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Johannesburg (South Africa)
    Current Employee - Consultant in Johannesburg (South Africa)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Austen Morris Associates full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Relaxed but professional working environment and, although there could be more internal communication, I know this is something that is being worked on by management.

    Cons

    Coordinated appointments have a high postponement/cancellation rate. Commission split is not the best in the market, particularly when it comes to trail commission.

    Advice to Management

    Trail commission split should be 50/50 from deal one and from day one. This encourages consultants to look after their existing clients more, which leads to additional business from existing clients.

  3. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Austen Morris Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly staff; Location is good

    Cons

    Bad reputation; Limited prospects to advance;

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we have noted your comments and appreciate that this industry is very challenging and not for everyone.


  4. "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)

    I worked at Austen Morris Associates (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good bonus if you got the sale

    Cons

    call center will eat your soul

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, cold calling is part of the role and its a very challenging role which is not for everyone.


  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Former Employee - Intern in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austen Morris Associates (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, great work envirment, give interns real work expirience rather than just running for coffee

    Cons

    you can only get future employment opportunites if you are willing to live in China

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    We appreciate your contribution to AMA during your internship. Thank you for your feedback, and we have offices in South Africa and Manila if ever you want to look at future opportunities.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "well managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Data Analyst in Taguig (Philippines)
    Current Employee - Research Data Analyst in Taguig (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austen Morris Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've been working at Austen Morris for about a year and a month ago I can is, the people is so very professional and the working environment is very pleasant.

    Cons

    The only downside is the traffic going to the office,

    Advice to Management

    keep it up AMA people cheers!

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments and hope you continue to strive in our company.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - BDM in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Current Employee - BDM in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austen Morris Associates full-time

    Pros

    A fun and rewarding work environment. Financial rewards are directly proportional to the amount of work you put in. The industry is growing and more and more people need the platforms and services that the company provides.

    Cons

    The work itself could be challenging and requires a certain mindset which not everybody has. Skill sets gained will be very valuable in the broader job market.

    Advice to Management

    Platforms and services should continue to adapt with changing market needs. Opportunities to cross-sell and network should be explored and integrated with current processes. Keep up the good work.

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we hope you continue to strive for excellence in our company.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Work Environment at its best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Manila, Manila (Philippines)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austen Morris Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A company that balances a professional, amiable, and great work place. I have been working with the company for more than a year and I have learned a lot that motivates me to get up to the corporate ladder. People are friendly, open and assures a job well done. A nice after work parties are bonus.

    Cons

    Also consider more training and career growth opportunities.

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we are happy you enjoy our working environment and company culture.


  9. "Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Interesting learning curve for potential salespeople

    Cons

    limited products - primarily insurance

    Advice to Management

    more training

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we have noted your comments.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience if just temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Coordinator in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Former Employee - Business Coordinator in Shanghai, Shanghai (China)
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Austen Morris Associates full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun international team that is really nice to work with. Nice after work parties

    Cons

    Commission based job that can ruin you if you don't convert often, the partners aren't always nice to work with

    Advice to Management

    Give better chance to the people that drive you business

    Austen Morris Associates Response

    Mar 2, 2017 – Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for your feedback, we have noted your comments. Best wishes for the future.


Showing 36 of 40 reviews
Reset Filters