Cover image for Austin Centers for Exceptional Students
Logo

Austin Centers for Exceptional Students

Is this your company?

Austin Centers for Exceptional Students

Add a Review

Austin Centers for Exceptional Students Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 22 of over 22 reviews
4.0
76% Recommend to a Friend
82% Approve of CEO

Found 22 of over 22 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Austin Centers for Exceptional Students President & CEO Francie Austin (no image)
Francie Austin
12 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love it

    Apr 7, 2022 - TSS Worker in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Love my job, love the students and love the free bagels on Friday!

    Cons

    Don’t have anything that sticks out to me

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Overall not a bad place to work if you know what you are getting into

    Jul 6, 2022 - Speech Language Pathology Assistant (SLPA) in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a monthly budget that is provided to FTE teachers and related service providers. The typical school supplies like paper, crayons, markers, pencils, etc are all included and not a part of the monthly budget. Smaller class sizes and case loads are nice compared to the other school systems in the area.

    Cons

    Lots of turnover of support staff which leads to difficulties within the classroom. The owners of the school can have unrealistic expectations.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Austin Centers for Exceptional Students team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not even with a 10 Foot Pole

    Jun 3, 2022 - Special Education Teacher in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You run your own curriculum with your class. If you are experienced and have a plan this is really great.

    Cons

    There is a complete lack of structure, organization and accountability on administrative staff. There is no curriculum and no effort to ACTUALLY SUPPORT (vs. talking about what they can do to help) and blame is placed on the teachers for not being able to meet unrealistic and unreasonable expectations given the conditions we work under. Lead teachers are not experienced and or competent in their roles. Admin is weak and in need of severe changes.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Job

    Apr 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere, Communication, and Training. One of the best parts of this job is being able to work one on one with these amazing students.

    Cons

    None that I have experienced yet

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Special Ed Teacher

    Apr 7, 2022 - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support, pay, positive work environment.

    Cons

    None so far, great experience.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome workplace and environment

    Nov 30, 2021 - Support Staff in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, great experience, good benefits, employees treated very well

    Cons

    Less than 40 hours a week

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stressful job with a consistent schedule, kind of a tense environment

    Nov 17, 2021 - Special Education Teachers Assistant in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Getting to know students Seeing students grow

    Cons

    Having to put students in holds Risk of injury from violent students Lack of support from management and some (not all) teachers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The ACES School Is A Community Of Learners

    Sep 21, 2021 - Special Education Teacher, Elementary School 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am a teacher at The ACES School. I was attracted to working here because of the 4:1 student to teacher ratio. Having this small proportion of students to staff makes my job of teaching concepts to mastery obtainable. I am able to reach each student that I teach because I get to have the one on one experience with them that I was missing while teaching in public education. Each student's curriculum is tailored to their academic needs. I am able to find what gaps that they might have in their learning and reteach them the missing skill or concept. My students enjoy learning new things every day. Our campus is filled with happy, positive and caring adults and students. We are a community of learners here at The Aces and we take pride in encouraging each individual to "Do their best" and "Be their best." We enjoy acknowledgement of each individual's accomplishments and we celebrate them. Visitors are always welcome on campus for a scheduled tour. If you stop by my classroom I am the teacher with a Bearded Dragon Lizard for a classroom pet. Please stop in and say hello and see for yourself the great things that we are doing at the Aces Tempe campus.

    Cons

    You have to have a heart for this job because it can be very difficult at times. But, we are highly trained professionals and work here because enjoy doing what we do. It is a great personal reward for us when we are able to help a child turn their attitude and behavior around into a positive force. The child then becomes a positive force in their own life.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Love teaching here!

    Sep 15, 2021 - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great and supportive teaching experience. Student centered leadership. The entire school is focused on the special needs child.

    Cons

    Students can be challenging but I love them anyway.

    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Positive, Collaborative, and Caring

    Sep 16, 2021 - Special Education Teacher and Coordinator in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working for The ACES for about 5 years now. After working in multiple school settings, the culture is supportive and nurturing. The teachers work on building positive relationships with the students so they have a good understanding of their behavior and learn coping skill strategies to utilize in their school when they return to their home school. We work closely with parents, district or charter representatives, and the entire ACES staff to best meet the needs of the student both academically and behaviorally. I truly enjoy working at this school.

    Cons

    The students can be difficult sometimes, but the culture changes once the student and teacher builds the relationship.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Austin Centers for Exceptional Students Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Austin Centers for Exceptional Students? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Special Education Teacher(3)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

See All Guides

Austin Centers for Exceptional Students Job Seekers Also Viewed

ACES ABA Logo
ACES ABA

3.9

813 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 22 Austin Centers for Exceptional Students reviews submitted anonymously by Austin Centers for Exceptional Students employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Austin Centers for Exceptional Students is right for you.