Austin College Reviews | Glassdoor

Austin College Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 19 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Austin College CEO Steven ODay
Steven ODay
3 Ratings
  1. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Resident Manager 

    I worked at Austin College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the staff and the training taught me about my strengths

    Cons

    Planning educational and recreational events can be difficult

    Austin College2019-06-03
  2. "The students are wonderful to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Area Coordinator in Sherman, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin College

    Pros

    Students are bright and want to give back.

    Cons

    Upper administration struggles with micromanaging.

    Austin College2019-07-17
  3. "Excellent adjunct environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Austin College part-time

    Pros

    Good compensation per class; motivated and engaging students

    Cons

    There are no cons at Austin College

    Advice to Management

    none

    Austin College2019-04-19
  4. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Assistant in Sherman, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin College part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It was a wonderful place to work as a part of my work study. It allowed me the opportunity to see how the library sciences worked, see what it means to work in a team, and to build my communication skills. The bosses here are understanding and fair - they truly make sure you have a wonderful experience here!

    Cons

    None I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Austin College2019-04-11
  5. "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Sherman, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in work hours, meaning that you can choose the hours when you are at the office. You still need to do prep work and grading, but you can do it outside the office.

    Cons

    No upward mobility. Once you become Full Prof., you need to committee work and go to meetings where much is discussed but not much implemented.

    Advice to Management

    Rotating the chairs and deans would bring a fresh perspective.

    Austin College2018-03-26
  6. "Admissions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director of Admissions in Sherman, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Austin College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice coworkers, excellent faculty the issue lies in the staff (non professors) however this is an excellent school to attend just do not work here

    Cons

    lack of communication, unprofessional environment, poor pay, high turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to professionally and effectively communicate with your employees, the vision of Austin College is not clearly communicated. Also just a general update of the professional environment is desperately needed and I do not mean the buildings or offices I mean the attitude of the upper management towards women. The sexist nature of the office environment was disappointing and not reflective of Austin College's... values and a huge reason why I left.

    Show More
    Austin College2017-11-06
  7. "Student Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin College part-time

    Pros

    Understanding management that you have tests and homework.

    Cons

    Some positions were not as well led within the school, while others were given enormous amounts of responsibilities.

    Austin College2017-09-30
  8. "Teacher assisting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Austin College part-time

    Pros

    Good experience with professors in the science field

    Cons

    no complaints can be made

    Austin College2017-07-03
  9. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin College part-time

    Pros

    Flexible, lots of different opportunities, good pay, great atmosphere

    Cons

    Small town (but there are good stores/things to do and it's not far from Dallas)

    Austin College2017-04-10
  10. "Inorganic Chemistry Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin College full-time

    Pros

    Excellent mentor Reliable funding Upbeat atmosphere Great learning conditions Freedom to make your own decisions Great for your resume or CV Payed lunch hour

    Cons

    It isn't easy, but if you enjoy chemistry lab and theory, you can really get a lot out of it. There's a decent learning curve in the first week or two, but the mentor will really make that manageable.

    Advice to Management

    Everything is being handled very well

    Austin College2016-04-04
Found 19 reviews