KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Austin ISD

Is this your company?

Austin ISD

Add a Review

Austin ISD Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 500 of over 525 reviews

3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Austin ISD Superintendent Stephanie Elizalde (no image)
Stephanie Elizalde
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great opportunities for professional development(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great Benefits and focus on wellness(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay and you get paid once a month(in 20 reviews)

  • "AISD teachers must pay into both SS and TRS(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Austin ISD and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Work Environment

      Jul 26, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and students. Community involvement was great from the families I taught. There is great support from fellow colleagues on my campus.

      Cons

      Evaluation process was a bit tedious and could use some adjustment to match my specific field. Pay scale is below surrounding districts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Austin ISD

      Sep 16, 2021 - Substitute Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are always available assignments.

      Cons

      Filling vacant teacher positions may require a skilled planner.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Teachers

      Join the conversation on

      Teachers

      8m

      a 

      West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

      Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

      2,827

      951 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      My past job.

      Sep 11, 2021 - Teaching Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed the teachers and students that I worked with.

      Cons

      T.A. do not get much credit at times when they deserve it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great schools!

      Sep 10, 2021 - Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved Austin. Very progressive views.

      Cons

      Low pay compared to the rest of Texas.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      They’ve got your back

      Sep 8, 2021 - Visual Arts Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Mandated masks, despite governor’s orders. Common sense leadership. Support for teachers. Good health insurance. EAP.

      Cons

      Sometimes large class sizes make it tough to bond with all kids.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      20 year experience

      Sep 15, 2021 - Bilingual Elementary Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At the beginning (first 10 years), I felt very much supported by my principal and received the resources and training I needed to gain knowledge on the latest methods/ educational techniques. My class size was manageable and I felt very comfortable with the autonomy I was granted. I felt successful and grateful for the experience.

      Cons

      As time progressed, the lack of resources requested, support, as well as low campus morale made it so I felt that my time as an educator had run it's course. I truly enjoyed my interactions with the community and my students, but the amount of stress and lack of compensation forced me to make a career change.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good retirement

      Aug 30, 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not much salary increase over years

      Cons

      Dealing with Covid safety and protocol

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Administration and staff at the high school were great

      Aug 17, 2021 - Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Felt great to be a part of a team of educators and to be in such a dynamic environment

      Cons

      Advancement is based on certificates not work ethic or capacity. That's largely based on the legislative landscape, but Austin ISD does little to alleviate that.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Beauracratic

      Aug 31, 2021 - Teacher in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      is very difficult to say.

      Cons

      Does not care about the low income schools that are performing extremely poorly. After school meetings, mindless data entry, and teaching literally to the test does not help anyone. HR is horrible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Austin ISD

      Aug 30, 2021 - Mental Health 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated front line professionals Great students and families Competitive pay- AISD is doing a better job at realigning compensation

      Cons

      multiple layers of management slows response time for critical needs multiple layers of management out of touch with front line work Poor leadership is not corrected-simply moved. Work load is not realistic

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 500 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Austin ISD Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Austin ISD? Share Your Experiences

    or