Austin ISD Reviews | Glassdoor

Austin ISD Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 307 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Austin ISD CEO Paul Cruz
Paul Cruz
101 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, little opportunity to advance(in 16 reviews)

  • "AISD is a behemoth of an organization(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Progressive and committed to growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    -Willing to welcome all students, staff and families. -Really forward thinking for such a large, urban school district.

    Cons

    -Large school district sometimes makes it hard to connect at a personal level but that's typical I suppose

    Austin ISD2019-03-20
  2. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to increase pay based on continued learning and evaluation

    Cons

    Class size and rising cost of benefits

    Austin ISD2019-05-26
  3. "Spanish Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Spanish Teacher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    At my school, the administration was generally very supportive and professional development meetings were relevant and applicable to our classroom teaching. I had a lot of flexibility to approach my pedagogical practices with creativity and overall enjoyed my experience.

    Cons

    As the cost of housing rises in the City of Austin, I would like to see Austin ISD continue to implement policies to help increase a teacher's overall salary. An example of this would be substantially increase an educator's pay if they hold a Master's or Doctorate degree. A $3,000 increase from a Bachelor's is just not enough.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Austin ISD2019-05-17
  4. "District has a lot resources, but teachers are underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Instructional Coach in Austin, TX
      Recommends
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Austin ISD full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Austin ISD has a lot of systems and resources for curriculum compared with smaller surrounding districts.

      Cons

      The district is extremely low paying. Technology in classrooms was severely lacking.

      Advice to Management

      Pay teachers, coaches and admin much more.

      Austin ISD2019-05-03
    • "Not Student Based"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Austin, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great coworkers, they do not micromanage teachers

      Cons

      It is ran more like a business instead of focusing more on what the students need.

      Austin ISD2019-05-02
    • "Good experience with some Admin issues"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - 7th Grade Science Teacher in Austin, TX

        I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Coworkers are awesome and helpful and all believe in the kids

        Cons

        Admin give different consequences with some letting kids get away with threats and cussing out teachers

        Advice to Management

        Get on the same page with consequences for kids

        Austin ISD2019-04-09
      • "Prepare for Disorganization"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Austin, TX

          I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          The kids are amazing, the culture is fantastic, and if you're in a wealthy area, the schools are decked-out technologically.

          Cons

          If you're in a poorer area, the schools have very old textbooks, administration and teacher turnover is high, and the kids don't get a lot of support. AISD in general is very poorly organized and it's difficult to get in contact with anyone working with the district.

          Advice to Management

          Hire better. Pay better. Fight ETS, we deserve better than the STAAR (literally no test at all would be better)

          Austin ISD2019-04-10
        • "Avoid AISD"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Bilingual Elementary School Teacher in Austin, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Austin ISD full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          Well funded low-income schools- the students were able to really thrive with certain resources available.

          Cons

          Horribly organized district for elementary school matters. Lack of organized and capable individuals on the district level - too many hands trying to steer education in all directions. There is a lack of general and basic child development as well as poorly executed professional development as seen within the school I worked for. Year after year the test scores lowered and no one came to intervene properly.

          Austin ISD2019-04-07
        • "Average job"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Austin ISD full-time for more than 2 years

          Pros

          Great vacation/PTO. Casual dress code depending on your boss

          Cons

          Expensive health insurance, executives don’t care about employees, they care about how the public views them. No room for growth

          Austin ISD2019-03-28
        • "Just Like Any Other District"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Teacher 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Austin ISD part-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          -You would hopefully be able to live in Austin, but the salary probably won't support you living alone

          Cons

          -Low paying -Incredibly stressful -No time allocated to plan lessons -High stakes standardized testing -Under trained staff and teachers -Budget allocation inefficiencies

          Austin ISD2019-03-27
        Found 307 reviews