Austin Macauley Publishers Reviews

Updated Mar 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
64%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (20)

    "Scammers"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Austin Macauley Publishers

    Pros

    NONE that I can think of.

    Cons

    This is a vanity publisher. If you have any self-respect, you won't want to be part of it.

    Austin Macauley Publishers2018-04-05

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    December 20, 2018International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I would firstly like to address your comment regarding vanity publishing. Austin Macauley Publishers are a professional hybrid publisher. The hybrid model is one that is used throughout the publishing industry and has become an increasingly well-known and popular model as you can see here from Publisher’s Weekly post: https://www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/industry-news/trade-shows-events/article/76561-hybrid-publishing-diversity-of-voices-focus-at-ibpa-conference.html We currently have a wealth of employees worldwide that enjoy working at Austin Macauley and being part of a reputable and growing publishing company. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't waste your time or energy working for AMP."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pro I can truly think of is that I worked with people who - despite being overworked, stressed, miserable and frustrated - were kind and interesting folks who were trying their hardest with their respective jobs.

    Cons

    I have never worked at a company with such extraordinary disdain for its employees. My direct colleagues cared, but the senior management of AMP were ghost presences dictating from on high and offering no human front or reasonable engagement. I was constantly staggered by the attitude towards employees - as disposable as the authors. If you voiced a frustration or issue, you were likely to be shut down or shunted out of your job. In the short time I worked there, I saw so many colleagues leave I lost count. Was this in any way acknowledged as a potential company issue? Not that we saw. The team I worked with were understaffed and overworked and despite being passionate, educated, capable and engaged individuals, they could work no magic with an ever increasing workload. With more than a hundred new authors a month and a therefore every growing catalogue, there is no physical way to work on them all, not in a way that does right by the authors. I could continue to discuss the faults, but I'm already tired of it.

    Continue reading
    Austin Macauley Publishers2020-03-24

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    March 26, 2020International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're disheartened to hear your thoughts on your time working with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that we always look to improve as a company, as well as develop our employees and departments where possible. The line managers within each department regularly communicate with their teams and communicate any suggestions directly to senior management. Senior management is not always contactable, which you must appreciate, is common in many other international companies. Your line manager is there to liaise with senior management, to communicate any departmental concerns and ideas in which we happily take these on board. As well as this we do have an internal newsletter that keeps employees in the know about company news, that is sent to staff worldwide. Our employees are important to us which is why we do communicate and organise events such as the Christmas Party and Charity fundraisers to get involved in. If you would like to speak with us further about this please do not hesitate to get in touch, in which we will gladly help to resolve your grievances. We hope to hear from you soon. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  3. "If you have any self respect don’t choose AMP"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Austin Macauley Publishers

    Pros

    The salaries comes on time other than that it’s quite tuff for any employee to grow in this congested environment

    Cons

    I can actually explain this in points - Poor management - lack of Employee development - Higher management is not so concerned regarding the employees in start and once the employee gets settled in the role he/she is asked to leave - Lack of knowledge to other employees due to poor management - Bundles of miss communication via higher management - No recognition of work - Manager doesn’t speaks or guide the employees for months and then suddenly shows up and puts all the blame on you

    Continue reading
    Austin Macauley Publishers2020-02-28

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    March 10, 2020International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We're sorry to hear your thoughts on your time working with us. I would like to take this opportunity to reassure you that we always look to improve as a company, as well as develop our employees where physically possible. We appreciate that the growth across the years has had an impact and this is something we are continually working on at present, by improving internal processes in all aspects of the business including our employees. The line managers within each department regularly communicate with their teams and communicate any suggestions directly to senior management. As well as this we do have an internal newsletter that keeps employees in the know about company news, that is sent to staff worldwide. If you would like to speak with us further about this please do not hesitate to get in touch with the HR department, in which they will gladly help to resolve your grievances. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  4. "A stepping stone, but nothing more."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ely, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Austin Macauley IS undeniably a great stepping stone into the world of publishing, it's great for people wanting to gain experience, but anything past that will only work if you're really lucky. The colleagues that you work with are all amazing people and very quickly will become close friends. Not only that, AM do publish some amazing books, and you get to speak with many varied, talented and friendly authors throughout your career at AM.

    Cons

    There isn't many opportunities for you to voice your opinion at AM, any ideas you have that you're passionate about and think will really help the company are usually disregarded. In addition to that, you can work yourself to the bone to try impress your managers and higher ups, but it's never enough and you're never recognised for how much hard work you're putting in, which is extremely dis encouraging. There are minimal benefits whilst working in the company and nothing is done to retain skilled, excellent and dedicated staff because it's easier to get in someone else who's new.

    Continue reading
    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-12-09

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    December 12, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed working with your colleagues on our books and speaking with our talented authors! We were disheartened to hear you felt your ideas were not taken on board, we always strive to improve in all aspects of the company including employee development, however please understand we are a business and we must look at all ideas from a higher level to ensure they will benefit the business and our authors herein. Our growth across the years of 330%, has had an impact and this is something we are working on at present by improving internal processes in all aspects of the business including our staff. If you would like to speak with us further about this please do not hesitate to get in touch, it would help us improve further. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best opportunity for artists"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Illustrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing i find in the company is that , I learned a lot as a artist , There's a variety of work which enhanced my artistic skills and still learning..

    Cons

    Company policies are quite strict.. Even sometimes , it hard to handle the situation..

    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-09-11

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    September 25, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It was great to hear how your learning has accelerated whilst being an employee with us. We always look to prosper and develop our employees where we can. Regarding our company policies, these are put in place to protect not only you as an employee, but the business itself. Please email us at social@austinmacauley.com if you would like to talk further about this as we would be happy to help or speak with you about our policies. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  6. "Creative working environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Illustrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company is a culturally rooted organisation where i contributes my skills as a illustrator.

    Cons

    sometimes there is extra work load to meet dead lines.

    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-09-11

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    September 25, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It was great to hear your experiences with us as an illustrator, please do let your line manager know should you require any assistance and we would be happy to help. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  7. "Great Learning Environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    nice people in the office and learn a lot on the day to day basis

    Cons

    long hours and tedious work

    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-09-04

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    September 10, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It was great to hear your learning experiences in the workplace. We’d love to know more about your experience so we can take your feedback on board for future employees of the company. Please feel free to contact us with a broader description about the concerns you faced with workload. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  8. "Happy"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Illustrater in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, salary paid on time, no late sittings

    Cons

    Not much, just workload is too much but thats covered up as no late sittings are required ever

    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-09-04

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    September 10, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It was great to hear your enjoyable experience with us and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours. Workload in any business can vary, especially in small businesses, but we always support our staff in completing tasks and help where necessary. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  9. "Fabulous"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief of Staff in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Understanding management and HR team. Great colleagues and even better directors.

    Cons

    Only the salary, but that’s the same everywhere!

    Continue reading
    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-08-06

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    September 10, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We were delighted to read your review about management and the HR department. We wish you all the success in progressing within the company. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

  10. "A high energy work place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Macauley Publishers full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super friendly and welcoming. I’ve received a lot of mentoring and learnt so much in time at here. I’ve grown as a person and as an employee. I feel my skills have become well rounded and I’ve been introduced to a very competitive industry in an amazing way. there is no way I would have received the treatment I have here anywhere else.

    Cons

    Can have the normal office drama some negativity (but you get that everywhere)

    Continue reading
    Austin Macauley Publishers2019-02-12

    Austin Macauley Publishers Response

    February 19, 2019International Publishing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. It was fantastic to read your review of Austin Macauley, it's important to us that you have enough training and work in a welcoming environment. As you mentioned, there will always be office disputes in any business, but it's great to see this hasn't affected your time so far with us. We have taken all your comments on board and will look to make improvements to the environment where we can. We would like to take this opportunity to wish you the greatest success with your future at Austin Macauley. Kind regards Jade Robertson International Publishing Director

Found 24 reviews