Austin Partners in Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Austin Partners in Education Reviews

Updated Dec 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Great People To Work With"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education

    Pros

    Very flexible and serves as great opportunity to get involved in the community.

    Cons

    There were no downsides to working with APIE

    Austin Partners in Education2017-02-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, it’s a rewarding job with a great initiative and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - College Readiness Advocate in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to work with amazing students everyday! It’s nice being able to help students plan for their future and even better when they pass their tests and become college ready. The students respect you, and view you more as a mentor figure rather than a teacher, so they’re more willing to listen. Management is so nice and helpful, and you learn skills that are valuable in other areas that can be applicable to other industries...

    Show More

    Cons

    I was so excited to begin this job initially. I went to school for education, so naturally I was ready to lesson plan, track data, & provide testing prep for these students. Over time, I started to feel under valued. You’re basically a teacher except teachers get paid WAY more. The good thing in that is that if you feel like you want to go the certified teaching route, this role heavily prepares you for it. If not, this...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management is great, I have no complaints. The only advice I would give is to add incentives to the supplies for advocates. They want to reward their students for passing a section of their TSI’s (to increase motivation), and if you’re good at what you do, the advocate pay is not sufficient enough to cover that :)

    Austin Partners in Education2018-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education part-time

    Pros

    Overall, great work environment. I always felt supported by my supervisors.

    Cons

    Low pay, but it's non-profit.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in employees. They are ones working directly with students.

    Austin Partners in Education2018-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "College Advocate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education

    Pros

    Flexible hours, get to work with fun students

    Cons

    Low pay, support depends on your direct manager, get treated as expendable

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers like they aren't replaceable

    Austin Partners in Education2016-03-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great work despite bad leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Texas in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Partners in Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most schools appreciate what we do. The staff is made up caring, concerned individuals.

    Cons

    The organization's financial situation is not good, which means employees haven't received raises or cost of living increases in years.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employee feedback.

    Austin Partners in Education2016-02-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Things are changing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Partners in Education

    Pros

    Students get individualized support from caring volunteers. Coordinators work with school, teachers, and even parents to deliver this great service for free. The people are fun, the environment is flexible.

    Cons

    Program direction is changing drastically. There is a great deal of turnover as a result.

    Austin Partners in Education2016-01-04
  7. "Excellent place to work and contribute to the scociety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Austin Partners in Education

    Pros

    Great Experience working there as an volunteer

    Cons

    Please continue to do the great work

    Austin Partners in Education2015-12-07
  8. "Mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mentor in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education for less than a year

    Pros

    The nicest coworkers and loved helping out the children

    Cons

    It was only a work-study job

    Austin Partners in Education2015-10-21
  9. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Austin Partners in Education for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff love what they do.

    Cons

    45 minute tutoring sessions go by quick.

    Austin Partners in Education2015-09-14
  10. "Great non-profit making a difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Austin Partners in Education

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, great co-workers, opportunities to really impact the education of AISD students, engaging

    Cons

    Lack of transparency from upper management, low pay, lack of opportunities to grow within organization,

    Advice to Management

    Continue soliciting feedback from employees

    Austin Partners in Education2015-02-12
Found 10 reviews