Autism Spectrum Therapies Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Autism Spectrum Therapies President Justin Funches (no image)
Justin Funches
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Love the knowledgeable and helpful BCBA supervisors, good pay(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great training and supportive supervisors(in 12 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cancellations can be frequent due to family scheduling conflicts(in 26 reviews)

  • "I have worked for several ABA agencies and I burned out fastest here(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great company

      Jan 11, 2021 - Advanced Behavior Technician in Ontario, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Works well with your schedule Cares about your well being Good pay

      Cons

      If your sessions get canceled in advance you don't get paid Right now with the pandemic, keeping hours can be hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great experience for ABA and friendly work environment

      May 9, 2021 - Advanced Behavior Technician in Monrovia, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Going from a previous company to this one was night and day. The level of support and care that I received here was phenomenal! I had a supervisor here who really got me into ABA and became a great mentor. The people I met here I still talk to today! The only reason I left this company was due to COVID job related difficulties-- this is a well-established company with a lot of great resources!

      Cons

      As a therapist, cancellations can be frustrating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      DO NOT work here

      May 5, 2021 - Behavioral Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting hands-on experience with clients

      Cons

      The hours are abysmal They guarantee you full-time work, yet it takes almost 3-4 months to be assigned a case. On the other side, I have heard clients waiting for months to be matched with a technician who is readily available...not sure what goes on there The supervisors I had the unfortunate luck of working with were extremely condescending and rude at any available opportunity My biggest complaint? I was sexually harassed by a client's family member, and when I reported it to my supervisor, she blamed it on me for the way I was dressed. To clarify, I was dressed in slacks and a button down shirt... I was then given a really hard time when I asked to be removed from the case, and was made to feel that I was causing a huge and unnecessary inconvenience HIGHLY recommend seeking out similar work with another company instead of wasting your time with AST

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great Culture and very Supportive Management

      May 11, 2021 - Client Intake Associate in Santa Ana, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teams are very supportive. You are treated like a team member. Team member concerns are dignified with honest look at solutions. Office Drama is absolutely not allowed. We are encouraged to support one another. Company encourages team members that wish to take on more responsibility and supports that process. Management is very kind, responsible and flexible. Excellent IT support. All the tools one needs to be successful are supplied. Couldn't ask for a better employer.

      Cons

      The pay could be better.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Be okay with bureaucracy

      Jan 27, 2021 - Training Technician in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Hours are consistent -Work materials needed for role are provided -Available to get COVID vaccine -Twice a year performance raises (except they only hedge inflation) -The families make it all worth it in the end. -Easy to communicate with supervisors. -Can cover other cases and clients in order to increase hours. -Drive time and mileage paid. -Health insurance offered for employees. -401k match. -Have the ability to move up to full time as a technician.

      Cons

      -BURN. OUT. IS. REAL. (Management/Supervisors don't care about feeling overwhelmed because they need *billable hours* - billable hours get supervisors bonuses but not technicians at all) -Does not promote an environment that allows staff to be themselves at work. This is done by supervisors openly talking down about their staff in the office with other supervisors where anyone can hear, including a technician working in a cubicle. This is also done by favoritism and seniority affecting the feedback being given to staff members. One staff can use curse words at work that has been there for 10 years but another staff member who has been there for 2 years can't use words such as "awesome." -Concerns from lower level staff members related to the culture at the company and the feeling of inclusiveness is pushed aside in order to keep the system at the company the same with improvement for staff well being at every level.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Autism Spectrum Therapies Response

      Vice President, Clinical Services

      I agree, burn out is a real challenge in this field. Have you spoken with your Clinical Director about your concerns with the environment in your region? We do take our culture very seriously and I'm sure they would like to work with you on this. Our new Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee is also addressing some concerns like these. I'm glad to hear that you find our supervisors easy to talk to and I agree that the families make it all worth it!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Ast review

      May 3, 2021 - Behavior Technician in San Bernardino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities for career growth, and caring supervisors

      Cons

      None, I have enjoyed my time her

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Loved it but it was time to go

      Apr 15, 2021 - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great supervisors, felt like a team, descent workload

      Cons

      A lot of driving outside my region, no reimbursement for extended drives for first client of the day, turn over with staff was difficult

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Apply if you see yourself working with children for the long run

      May 6, 2021 - Behavior Technician in San Jose, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -definitely great for entry level. -great BCBA’s -learn leadership Skills -Playing with the clients

      Cons

      -inconsistent hours. -. Mileage will definitely increase significantly and not compensated enough for drive time. -optional to work on the holidays. -19 as a starter isn’t really a lot.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No complaints.

      Apr 14, 2021 - Behavioral Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The children are amazing, & if you love what you do. You stick each day out for them.

      Cons

      EXCEPTIONALLY LOW PAY. Hours are not sustainable. Your perception of the company changes when you start working 8-10 hours a week w/ a 30 minute unpaid commute.. “we don’t pay you to drive to work they say”.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      good for entry level

      May 10, 2021 - Behavior Therapist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      building rapport with clients is nice

      Cons

      low pay, expected to do additional duties out of pay range.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 277 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Autism Spectrum Therapies Job Seekers

    Behavior Interventionist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Board Certified Behavior Analyst
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Autism Spectrum Therapies? Share Your Experiences

    Autism Spectrum Therapies logo
    or