Auto Club of Southern California Reviews

Updated May 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
24%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Auto Club of Southern California President and CEO  John F. Boyle
John F. Boyle
154 Ratings
Pros
  • "good earning potential, good benefits(in 53 reviews)

  • "Lots of opportunity to make a good living, great benefits, management will help you succeed if you put the effort in(in 47 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management disconnected with frontline employees(in 60 reviews)

  • "Micro-managed to death, Old Fashioned management, Work-life balance is a joke(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Veteran Status

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Auto Club of Southern California and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place for stability but not a lot of growth and they pay below industry standard

      Feb 11, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Arcadia, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits , match 401k , sick time . The team culture is great

      Cons

      Hard to promote. There are a lot of boomers who wont retire. Once they do its a lot of folks gunning for the same role. Only opportunity to advance is to move to Texas or Missouri.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      They ONLY care about one thing. REFERRALS!!!

      May 5, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will be on the fast track to a supervisory position, if that's what you are seeking; even though you may not be qualified. A positive for the prospect but a negative for the employees that are assigned to the inexperienced supervisor.

      Cons

      They only care about one thing and that is the number of referrals you can get them from day to day. I considered myself a good customer service agent that received at least 2 compliments a month, but that was never good enough. Whenever I had a meeting with my supervisor the only thing I ever heard was, "your surveys are excellent but your referrals lacking." So, it was never enough to be good at everything else but below average on referrals; however it was ok to be below average on customer service and everything else just as long as your referrals were good. But what do you expect with a company that uses antiquated systems and processes. What AAA does not understand is that customer service comes first and the referrals will come naturally and you will have better retention. I consider myself an insurance professional and instead of us being treated that way, we are considered more like glorified customer service reps. AAA is the worst job I have ever had.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Stable with benefits

      May 5, 2021 - Devops Engineer in Orange, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits in a stable company in a stable industry with opportunities to grow.

      Cons

      A lot of work. Free time can be difficult to find if you do not have a good work life balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      No work/life balance

      Apr 8, 2021 - Travel Agent in Ladera Ranch, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many locations. You can transfer if you move.

      Cons

      Low pay. I started in 2016 and got a decent raise in 2017. I got raises of only .10/year after that. I worked there from 2016 to 2020. No work life balance. You work 6 days a week. They go around this by making you work a 4 hour mid day shift on one week day and a 4 hour shift on Saturday. Little to no flexibility for time off, In 2017 they made a huge payroll error and accidentally over paid on bonuses to about 50% of the employees, company wide. The employees were contacted over a month later and then they demanded we pay them back or they would garnish our wages. This put a huge financial burden on me. When I became a travel agent in Jan 2018 they told me I would keep my base pay that I had as a customer service rep. In October that year I noticed on my paystub that they had actually been paying me $3 less per hour. I contacted HR and it took them 2 months to back pay me and fix it. Unacceptable.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Completely disappointing

      May 1, 2021 - Insurance Sales Agent DSU 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brand new cafeteria I never got to see because I quit before they finished renovating oh and pension, but you have to be there five years to be fully vested. Idk how people last that long there. Maybe it’s better in other departments

      Cons

      Too many to list. Micromanagement, threats after threats turn into punishment after punishment but no assistance from the managers (who were all prior successful sales agents but do not know how to be managers)in helping new agents learn best methods, closing deals, going over calls to help improve. The managers do not do this because their boss is giving them nonsense duties that do nothing for the sales floor. They hired us to be sales agents but we are forced to take customer service calls for a certain amount of hours per day! The hourly pay is minimum wage for a sales agent so to be able to live in Orange County and take care of our families we need to take new sales calls to make commission and not take time away from that to take customer service calls. This place makes everything so difficult for the sales agents to get a policy done and even more difficult for the customers to do anything with their policies, including just to start a new policy. So the customer service calls are pretty much all irate customers and the customer service reps make anywhere from $22-$39 dollars an hour. They have sales agents doing the job for $13 an hour. Idk how that is legal. They mention “cross selling”. Wells Fargo also used that term and drove themselves right into a lot of trouble. This place is just as bad. Run away now!! Underwriting makes opinionated decisions to cancel home owner polices and auto policies. A lot of the guidelines for home policies are not black and white. People use their garages as storage, it’s not rare in California because most houses do not have basements. UW will cancel a policy saying it’s too cluttered in the garage and so then we have to call the customer and request them to clear their garage out and retake a new picture. It is so embarrassing for the agent and for the customer. All while the UW sits nice and comfortable behind their computer just making these decisions based on their opinion. There is no reason to try and argue on the customers behalf because they have all the power. The place is a complete joke. It is a dinosaur that is becoming obsolete. They rely on this fiction reputation they think they still have of being there for the American people. But the long running brand that they strived off of it long gone now. This is a new era of selling insurance. It’s about being convenient and cost efficient now and days. AAA provides neither. The company and the CEO’s ego is causing it to be a sinking ship. I had to abandon that ship ASAP! I highly recommend everyone else to do the same.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Total Loss Specialists

      Apr 27, 2021 - Total Loss Adjuster 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      There are times when the employees input is ignored

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Pros and Cons with every job

      Apr 6, 2021 - Specialist II in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly and welcoming colleagues, good benefits, job duties are challenging but engaging.

      Cons

      The sales culture can put enormous pressure on employees, sales goals only increase, and the customers can be entitled. Hours seem to increase as they are open 6 days a week. Sometimes feels like retail work rather than a professional providing expert services.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Clerk

      Apr 12, 2021 - Branch Specialist I in Temecula, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company, always opportunities to try new tasks and positions

      Cons

      Meeting goals is only way to obtain a bonus, goals sometimes not easy to achieve.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lack of diversity in exec leadership and promotions

      Apr 17, 2021 - Training Specialist in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits, decent pay, pension plan, and a lot of good people.

      Cons

      The C level positions, Senior VPs, and VPs, and are almost all white. That's a lot for a city heavily populated with non-white people. The next step down from VPs are group managers, which seem to have more diversity, but somehow those that move up to VP seem to mostly be white. As part of the "we need to cover ourselves" moves made after the George Floyd protests, they did announce a Diversity group manager, who is a person of color, but last I heard this group manager didn't have anyone actually working in his group. Meanwhile all of the other group managers I know of seem to have multiple managers and groups working under them, especially (it seems) the group managers who are white males. I don't know what the exact count is, but I would bet that if senior Management conducts a review of the group managers, they will find that white males have the largest amount of managers and employees working under them. I think senior management needs to do some serious soul searching if they truly want to become champions of diversity. I believe they do, because they have been pushing the Diversity stuff a lot lately, but they need to look a lot closer at themselves and their management structure from group Managers upward if they want to be genuine. Right now the diversity program looks fake, because you're not really pushing diversity in leadership, and there seems to be obvious race preference in exec positions and group manager promotions. I would also highly suggest considering the fact that most of the VP positions at the company seem completely unnecessary, other than to give group managers a ladder rung to claw for. You don't need both VPs and Group managers. One of them is a waste of money.

      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      IT doesn't know what direction it's headed. Adequate, stable job with old technology.

      Jun 6, 2020 - Scrum Master in Costa Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New floor remodel for IT department to "go agile", good PPO options, good benefits, onsite cafeteria super burrito Fridays, 401k match

      Cons

      Bureaucracy, office politics, old technology, COBOL, poor communication across agile teams, poor communication from management, ever-changing requirements from Product Owners, IT management is weak and will buckle under any pressure from "the business", not many new hires due to many employees waiting to age out to retirement

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 785 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Auto Club of Southern California Job Seekers

    Retail Service Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Life Insurance Agent Trainee
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Auto Club of Southern California? Share Your Experiences

    or