Auto-Owners Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Claims Adjuster

Auto-Owners Insurance Claims Adjuster Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
Jeffrey S. Tagsold
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Canton, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent company that looks out for employees

    Cons

    Inexperience causes a lot of unneeded stress

    Advice to Management

    Train Train Train

    Auto-Owners Insurance2016-08-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Claims"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Lansing, MI
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and decent benefits

    Cons

    difficult to move around, opportunities are controlled by your direct managers and openings are not available to all employees, only management

    Auto-Owners Insurance2017-03-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, but needs improvement in certain areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers are friendly, bonuses are good. Good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Outdated technology, things are almost over-regulated. Management is expected to "know what their employees want" when it comes to promotions or jobs. There is no job board. Pay is allegedly low according to coworkers.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2016-09-19
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Ok starting company, but to underpaid, overworked, and unappreciated."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Ok company for a starting career. Hours are good. When we qualify for bonuses, they are decent. Most of the people I work with are dedicated employees and good to work with. We try to lift each other up. Company is stable.

    Cons

    Greatly underpaid with extremely high volume caseloads. Management does not care that we have high caseloads. They still nit pick files apart and micromanage, leaving employees feeling unappreciated and belittled. Management is not held to any standards. Most of the time management is doing nothing to help employees who are overwhelmed with excessive work. A lot of the managers are seen on cell phones or socializing....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees needs or recommendations. Show appreciation and give compliments. This brings up morale instead of bringing it down. Most of the time, morale is down due to poor management. Offer better incentives and better pay. You are loosing great employees.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2016-09-08
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Profit sharing and Christmas bonuses. Neither are guaranteed, however, and are needed to make up for low salaries. If you smoke, they will hire smokers. Five day work week.

    Cons

    I worked as a Claim Representative for five years in one of the many claims branches. I came to the company having years of claims experience. There is high turnover in the claims division. Poor training. Sink or swim mentality with a ridiculously high volume of claims. The company likes to hire recent college grads and toss them the fray handling claims that they are unqualified to handle and do not have any training...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire from the talent pool at large instead of hiring relying on current employee’s family and friends rejects that can’t get hired elsewhere. Train and pay people better. I left for a significantly better claims position with a better paycheck.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2016-01-01
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Stable company: layoffs are virtually unheard of and I've seen many allowances given to improve a poor performance. Decent sliding benefits based on years of service.

    Cons

    Overwhelmingly understaffed at almost every branch level. Upper management has taken massive bonuses while brow beating mid level mgmt with micromanagement and audit twisting. 60+ hours is the norm. Forced attrition

    Advice to Management

    Beefing up the small H.O audit team to nitpik the already severely malnourished branch staffing is not the answer to W.O.W service. You need ground troops to provide the service your employees truly want to give. Stop belittling them and help them

    Auto-Owners Insurance2015-12-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Adjuster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, very stable. You will never have to worry about your job.

    Cons

    Low pay, behind the times with practices.

    Advice to Management

    To move forward with attractive incentives for the new millennia and more competitive pay.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2015-03-06
Found 7 reviews