Auto-Owners Insurance Field Claim Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Field Claim Representative

Auto-Owners Insurance Field Claims Representative Reviews

Updated Dec 16, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
0%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Jeffrey S. Tagsold
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Field Claim Representative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claims Representative 

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice benefits, fairly good autonomy, working hours were good.

    Cons

    Not great training. Difficult to move up if you live in a Western state. Heavy workload. Too conservative.

    Advice to Management

    Take a chance sometimes, Columbus did.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2016-12-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Claims Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claims Representative in Mesa, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Super chill and individualistic work environment. Worked on my own for the most part and was out of the office for half of the day out on claims.

    Cons

    Very conservative company (button up and tie type of place). Had to be in the office even when we didn't have any work to do. Chances of moving up was miniscule.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2018-12-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, average pay, way too high volume with the expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claims Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Vacation and personal leave is good if you can get approval to take it.

    Cons

    Expectations are too high with the volume of claims. There is no consideration given for amount of claims or the severity of those claims.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees. You need more specialization.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2018-09-07
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Stepping stone for college graduates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Claim Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great Benefits -Incentive Bonus/Christmas Bonus was a plus -Fun staff for the most part

    Cons

    -Below average pay for industry/college graduates -No chance for advancement unless you relocate ( I was promoted while with the company and was completely maxed out after only 2 years as my branch) -One of their core values is opportunity, yet they will choose to hire outside of the company instead of within when politics is involved. (I witnessed this first hand at my branch with a fellow employee) -Very poor training...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you would like to retain your college graduates, pay them as college graduates! You can not expect much loyalty from them when they are severely underpaid. I used the experience I gained in my 2 years with the company and left for a better company that will recognize your hard work and education and reward you for it.

    Auto-Owners Insurance2014-01-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great job security but wont get rich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claim Representative in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Very stable company. There are many great people that work there. They do have profit sharing and year end bonuses based on time there.

    Cons

    Home-Office atmosphere can be stuffy at times. Micro managing seems to be increasing. Pay is not the greatest

    Auto-Owners Insurance2013-07-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A-O Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claim Representative in Newnan, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance

    Pros

    Great benefits, room for advance (especially if you're willing to relocate, company vehicle, JOB SECURTIY.

    Cons

    Mediocre salary, TONSSSSSS of claims, constantly overworked, some micro-management, hard to have a life outside of work.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Auto-Owners Insurance2010-08-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Good way to gain experience, however unreasonable work load and extremely low pay for company expectations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Claim Representative in
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Auto-Owners Insurance

    Pros

    Stable company-claim no layoffs in almost 100 years, Christmas & incentive bonus, retirement matching plan, pension, full benefits, company vehicle with field position (comes with stipulations), lots of nice co-workers.

    Cons

    Work load for claim reps is unmanagable (150+ open files/rep is low count for position) and puts the employee in a bad position given the nature of the job. Reviews are often subjective and do not provide clear feedback on how to move forward toward promotions. Pay is significantly lower than industry average, even when factoring in bonuses. Yearly reviews rarely result in raises in excess of 2% regardless of level...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Consider advise from employees. There are a lot of very qualified individuals who have become complacent and quickly lose motivation in this position. You claim employees will work hard but wont work to hard for too long, however this is exactly what is going on. All claims handling is reactive rather than proactive due to the extemely high claim counts which reps are required to carry in a job that is already stressful...

    Show More
    Auto-Owners Insurance2011-04-19
Found 7 reviews