Auto Trader UK Reviews | Glassdoor

Auto Trader UK Reviews

Updated August 17, 2017
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Auto Trader UK Chief Executive Officer Trevor Mather
Trevor Mather
146 Ratings

193 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great working environment and inspirational colleagues (in 23 reviews)

  • Great people, Great attitude towards work and very consumer focussed (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • It's a fast paced environment that looks like it is evolving on a daily basis (in 12 reviews)

  • Flat structure means when you near the top of your game, you can run out of options (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A truly digital business.... it's like working for Google... but for Cars."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been truly blessed to have the chance to work for Auto Trader. It's an amazing business with an ever improving and evolving culture and a great future. Values win over skills and being a great fit has enabled me to go on the journey and learn so much along the way. Truly proud to be part of the current successes. Hope it stays this way for many years to come! :)

    Cons

    It's a fast paced environment with high expectations from everyone. We operate a flat structure, so pressure to deliver world class results comes as much from your colleagues as the leadership team. This has been great for me.... but it wouldn't be for everyone. If you want to be a shrinking violet and sit in the corner, i'd stay well clear.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing exactly what you are doing, this business is unrecognisable from the company i joined in 2011. Trevor and team alongside the best people who have stayed the course from the old guard have come together in a great blend of innovation, experience and expertise. Stay agile... but don't change too much! :)

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Sep 21, 2015 – Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for your review. Values do win over skills and will hopefully help us keep up with our successes. The pace can be fast at times but we do welcome all kinds of people at Auto Trader. We will... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent support from a forward thinking company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Ipswich, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Ipswich, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Forward thinking and constantly developing new and innovative products and services

    Cons

    Keep changing commission and pay structure meaning in consistent earnings

  3. "Progressive and dynamic company creating an exciting future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    - New CEO has created a real step change through strong vision and values making it an exciting and vibrant place to work.
     - Early responsibility with real autonomy to drive forward
     - Strong culture of developing people.
     - Strong Agile environment
     - Great people with genuine passion and pride in their work and in the company
     - Fair pay and great benefits package

    Cons

    Historically have been guilt of trying to do too much, at the expense of work life balance, to achieve expected financial results.
    Although opportunities to develop are strong, historically promotional opportunities are limited in some business areas.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on creating an exciting and sustainable future - be careful not to lose some of our great employees along the way.


  4. "Amazing People, Great Teams and a Fab Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone at Auto Trader are so passionate about what they do. Your made to feel part of the team from day 1 and the new Manchester offices are fabulous.

    Cons

    We've been through massive changes, rebranding, relocation, restructures over the past through months, but the end destination is it in sight and its going to be awesome!

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Sep 24, 2014 – Head of Resourcing

    Awesome is what we aim for! Thank you for your review and we agree that we have been through a lot of change recently and with the move of our head office to Manchester now complete we are... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "A truly value driven company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Communications in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Head of Communications in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I am newly employed and the first thing that striked me was the amount of really great people. My colleagues are not only smart, but they also share the company values. This makes collaboration and communication so much easier. You know that they deliver what they promise, and they are truly listen when you suggest improvements.

    Cons

    I probably work too much, since I don't really view it as real work. Working at Auto Trader is engaging and you can pretty soon see how you grow your competence.

    Advice to Management

    Well, I certainly hope we get rid of the current Microsoft mail system and replace it with a modern web based system.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Sep 25, 2014 – Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience so far. Our great people are the ones that make AutoTrader such a great company. We will pass on your advice to our Operational Leadership Team... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great offices and working environment. Lean working practises. Clear strategy that is well communicated. Very clever, talented people who are passionate about what they do

    Cons

    Hard to think of any really - the company values closely match my own, the leadership team are great and their are loads of opportunities for personal growth

    Advice to Management

    keep on doing what you are doing

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Oct 9, 2014 – Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to review your time at Auto Trader. Our new offices are amazing and its great to hear that you're enjoying working here and alongside our talented employees. We will... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I have never worked in (or heard of) a company that lives it's values as Auto Trader does. The culture here is amazing and our offices are too. AT expect a lot from their employees but what you get back is magical! :o)

    Cons

    Whilst there is great departmental company & comms, communication between business areas could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Try to promote our employer brand. People need to know how good it is to work here. We have done some great work on this since moving to Manchester but think we can do more.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Oct 10, 2014 – Head of Resourcing

    Thank you so much for your review. We all love the new offices in Manchester , they really represent our culture and values! We agree we need to do more to strengthen our Employer Brand so we got... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work but hold onto your hats because we live and breathe change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I am now in my 16th year at Auto Trader and it feels like a family rather than just a place to work. There are some incredibly talented people here, particularly, but not only, in Product and Technology who are always really helpful. Introduction of the "core values" has been very positive. If you fit the culture we can teach you anything - even how to play pool in our amazing offices. The opportunities to move around into different areas are huge as "change" is the companies middle name, but it is this ability to respond to massive change that has made the company such a huge success and a brilliant place to work. Great benefits. Very flexible. Don't want to ever work anywhere else.

    Cons

    If you don't do change - don't come and work for us.
    If you don't like our core values - don't come and work for us.
    If you don't want to work hard (but get well rewarded) and aren't prepared to go the extra mile when it's needed - don't come and work for us.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Openness, fairness and honesty to the staff is great - never change that ethos.

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Nov 6, 2014 – Head of Resourcing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. You provide a great perspective from having been working with us for so many years and having been part of our successful transition to becoming... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced and fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Advisor in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Amazing office
    - Amazing people in the team - lots of talent and dedication
    - Fabulous equipment
    - Dynamic
    - A great set of Values
    - Passion and collaboration is evident in everyone at all levels

    Cons

    - Things can get a little too manic at times..... but this keeps you on your toes.

    Advice to Management

    A holiday on your birthday would be nice :)

    Auto Trader UK Response

    Nov 10, 2014 – Head of Resourcing

    Many thanks for your review. Our people make Auto Trader such an amazing place to work and our new offices really help as well. Great suggestion about the extra holiday on your birthday, we will pass... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "A great company with great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Assistant in Manchester, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Auto Trader UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    AutoTrader offers a great team feeling, nothing is too much trouble and all staff are willing to help and support no matter what their position. The company offers employees the chance to move around progress and will develop and support their employees. As well as development AutoTrader offer excellent benefits and an amazing work environment.

    Cons

    The location although once here is brilliant it can take some time especially if coming from further afield.


Showing 193 of 195 reviews
Reset Filters