AutoZone "20 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

AutoZone Employee Reviews about "20 discount"

Updated Jan 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AutoZone Chairman, President, and CEO Bill Rhodes III
Bill Rhodes III
1,266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management does not often reward efforts(in 213 reviews)

  • "Too many part time positions thanks to politics(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "20 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSM in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn about cars Get your daily workout 20% discount (30% at select times)

    Cons

    Management depends on location No union High turnover

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2016-09-15
  2. "Part Time CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Flexible scheduling 2. 20% discount 3. information on car parts

    Cons

    1. employees have to purchase their own MANDATORY shirt 2. (depending on your view) Closing crew has to clean bathrooms each night 3. Having to mop floor each night, especially during a rainly day, when customers have tracked ALOT of mud/water/dirt in and out

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-01-04
  3. "Parts Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get a 20% discount Opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Customers with terrible attitudes Battery installs in the rain, sleet, 100 degree weather No breaks Extremely low pay for the amount of work Open on holidays Horrible hours

    AutoZone2019-01-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Upper Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 7 1/2 years now. Have seen a lot of changes good & bad. 20% Discount for employees Recognition Programs

    Cons

    Cons: 1) Really need to put terminals back to where Zoners are facing customers 2) When you have a SM that has a store not staffed fully & the SM works 60 + hrs a week & is salary Upper Management should not expect them to help fill other stores. 3) Stop Micromanaging. You want SM on the counters assisting customers & directing the TEAM, with all the emails, paperwork & conference calls that last an hour when do we find time to be on counters or even make the Commercial visits.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2018-10-09
  5. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone

    Pros

    20% discount, learning a lot about automotives

    Cons

    Zero advancment opportunity for people under 21

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2018-08-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Ledgewood, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    20% discount. Friends that have worked with for past 6 years.

    Cons

    There is nothing good about this company except I get to get out of the store and deliver parts. This is the only escape from very poor management and new coworkers that all seem to be grey shirts. Too many managers giving out orders to the few red shirts and no communication with other grey shirts letting each other know that they have given you a task to perform. So there is always one of them telling you to do what they want and to ignore the previous grey shirts request. There are just too many cons to list. Right now I am stuck in this job because of a workmans comp claim.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2018-04-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not for actual car people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    At some point during your employment you get a 20% discount card, but they don't tell you when it is coming... or if it is coming. The only reason Autozone gets 1 star from this review is because 0 stars is not an option.

    Cons

    One complaint out weighs hand fulls of satisfied customers. They are more concerned with making one customer happy than keeping a single father of 2 employed. They preach "WITTDTJR" What it takes to do the job right, but if you teach a customer how to fix their automotive problem without selling them parts you are wrong. I am a firm believer in, "give a man a fish, he'll eat for at day. Teach a man to fish and he'll eat for the rest of his life." I've owned a lot of old used cars which require more maintenance than a car fresh from the lot. Over a period of 2 months I saved upwards of 10 individual customers hundreds of dollars on parts they didn't need by listening to what issues they were having with their car. Instead of selling them a part they didn't need I would teach them how to fix what they have. Which is no doubt what it takes to do the job right. As a former active duty service member I had made an inappropriate comment to a current service member of another branch. I am not saying I am right for making the comment, but after 5 years of service you get used to ribbing the other branches back and forth. The service member filed a formal complaint instead of just firing an insult back. Autozone decided to terminate me. No second chance, no warning, slap on the wrist, nothing. Autozone knew that my wages were being garnished for child support which my children need me to pay. This act of putting the customer first after one incident shows that Autozone does not care about its employees, nor do they stand by their, "What It Takes To Do The Job Right" motto. All Autozone cares about is selling replica parts made in China to increase their profits. Way to represent America Autozone. They don't care if the customer gets their car fixed, they just care that the customer buys replacement parts from Autozone.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2018-02-06
  8. "Not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good if you’re a college student and you get to learn alot about cars and very specific details of certain cars and helping customers with headlights, taillights, wiper blades batteries and air filters and sometimes they tip you and or are very gratified you help them out which feels good and you learn a lot about sales and retail and how other sales companies operate and the 20% discount is cool as well as major holidays off overtime is rare and good retail experience but after a year it must get very old ive been here for 7 months and im ready to move on with my career elsewhere

    Cons

    Hours are flexible but not static at all and will change constantly by the week. Upper management isnt involved with your store whatsoever unless something happens or your store isnt doing so well and micromanagement is HUGE with Autozone which probably declines sales along with certain things marked up by crazy amounts from car parts to fluids to cleaning stuff for your car which you can find very cheap anywhere online or walmart 75% of the time and the pay is terrible along with no room to advance anywhere in the company let alone the store you’re working at

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2017-12-26
  9. "Discount"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    Good 20% discount on plenty of items if you are into cars and you can learn a lot

    Cons

    There are really no cons

    AutoZone2017-09-15
  10. "Give employees more benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    20% discount on everything in store

    Cons

    Only pro is overshadowed by online prices.

    AutoZone2017-10-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 84 reviews