AutoZone "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

AutoZone Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated Nov 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AutoZone Chairman, President, and CEO Bill Rhodes III
Bill Rhodes III
1,266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management does not often reward efforts(in 213 reviews)

  • "Too many part time positions thanks to politics(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Easy to juggle with College"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bowling Green, OH

    I worked at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Great place to talk to people about cars Employee discount I had a great manager when I worked there

    Cons

    The pay isn't that great as a red shirt

    AutoZone2019-10-28
  2. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Rochester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, 20% employee discount is a plus

    Cons

    Tend to be understaffed, and don't pay well at all

    AutoZone2019-11-04
  3. "Don't expect to make/save money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Collinsville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was fun diagnosing weird car problems and the guys I worked with were great. The 20% employee discount was also nice (ish).

    Cons

    The paychecks were terrible. One week I picked up a couple shifts to cover for co-workers and I ended up getting about 38 hours (by far the most hours I'd ever gotten there) and the next week they knocked me down to just 8 measly hours because "part timers are supposed to average 25 hours a week and we had to correct your average", all despite being way over qualified for the position. I told myself that I was making the money back in savings since I work a lot on cars until later on I realized that rockauto.com's prices were significantly cheaper than AutoZone's and that's even after taking into account the 20% employee discount And rock autos shipping. I don't want to say I wasted 2 years of my life there because I did get to know some really great people but as far as the money and corporate structure goes I really wish I would have spent those two years somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-09-17
  4. "low paying jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time

    Pros

    employee discount good why to make friends if your in high school and or about to get out of school start at this type of job

    Cons

    work every holiday and weekends. pay sucks, hard to move up. they make you sell product you cant really stand behind.

    AutoZone2019-07-23
  5. "Not sure yet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Driver 

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, hour lunch, networking, learning opportunities

    Cons

    Employee retention issues, low pay, gossip, apathetic coworkers

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-06-26
  6. "Good for a college student, but the schedule is too inconsistent and the possibility for fulltime is near impossible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Autozoner in Spring Hill, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -20% employee discount. -provided training and certification. -scheduling flexibility.

    Cons

    -low hours. -low possibility for advancement. -minimal assistance and coverage for health/dental as a part time associate.

    AutoZone2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "your just a peon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone full-time

    Pros

    employee discount, meet interesting people

    Cons

    district management, it's always your fault

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-02-17
  8. "Get in the Twilight Zone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone

    Pros

    -Employee discount -Friendly managers That's about it.

    Cons

    Training is non-existent. Training on the computer, parts knowledge, changing batteries, charging batteries, checking batteries, changing wipers, changing bulbs, testing alternators, testing starters, etc. are all things you learn on the job IF someone is willing to show you (which is not likely to happen). Corporate sends you, the new hire, to an 8-hour training course that doesn't show you how to do anything hands-on or remotely prepare you for the deluge of customers that you're going to run into once you get behind the counter, seeking your automotive expertise. If you don't possess said expertise, my advice to you is to fake it until you do or learn it QUICKLY. Because trying to help five customers as a day-one employee while your manager is outside talking to some old lady about apple pie after changing her battery will make your life feel like a bad dream you can't wake up from.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-01-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company car Employee Discount Medical Insurance

    Cons

    HEAVILY MICROMANAGED 6 day work weeks (No work life balance) TSM compensation plan (no yearly or cost of living increases) Unrealistic targets Results are measured by qty of sales calls..not quality Slow reaction time to market conditions Store turnover is off the charts

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2018-11-22
  10. "Payrate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time

    Pros

    Employees receive 20% employee discount and tther discounts.

    Cons

    Raises are based on overall store performance not individual performance

    AutoZone2018-08-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 84 reviews