AutoZone "part time" Reviews | Glassdoor

AutoZone Employee Reviews about "part time"

Updated Feb 7, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
AutoZone Chairman, President, and CEO Bill Rhodes III
Bill Rhodes III
1,266 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management does not often reward efforts(in 213 reviews)

  • "Too many part time positions thanks to politics(in 133 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "part time"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good fun!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule, friendly, and a fun place.

    Cons

    Part-time. Needed more hours.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-09-16
  2. "Where to start..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Autozoner in Wadsworth, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stick with me here, its a long review...I have worked for Autozone for 2 years. I came to Autozone to use it as a part time job to help balance some expenses I had in my life at the time. My first year I was at a store that had a manager that put himself first over employees. There were a lot of different situations that happened that I could put as examples but there are too many to list. When I moved, I got to my second store and WHAT A WORLD OF A DIFFERENCE! The manager was very nice and made scheduling things a breeze. He was very flexible, communicative, and honestly what a store manager should be all around. I made some great friends that I will never forget. I learned new computer systems and new things about cars and how to work on them. The knowledge base that is in a store is like a library. Each person has their own things that they are good at and it increases knowledge in areas I may have not been. In summary, there are good and bad stores in the system. The Store Manager is the one that makes the store either enjoyable or not. Feel out the stores, apply to more than one, talk to multiple store managers if you can and see which is going to give you the best opportunity. It is a GREAT job if you need something to do and are mechanically inclined, interested in cars and want to learn, and also to meet people to increase your knowledge.

    Cons

    Pay, employee evaluations, employees that are dishonest, etc. - Pay: Started at my first store with pay at $8.55, then got a first year raise to $8.85, then my second year raise up to $9.15. So each time .30 cents for dealing with irate customers and making sure they have the right parts, then dealing with customers that received the wrong parts and come back mad and take it out on a person that did not sell them the parts, to me deserves more than .30 cents especially after being in the company for 2 years. - Employee Evaluations: DON'T LEAVE IT TO A COMPUTER TO DO AN EVALUATION! In my opinion and past experience of jobs, when a store manager does a review in person and doesn't leave it to a computer to decide the way it should be reviewed the employee takes that much better and understands why they are getting the review they are. When it also comes to employee evaluations, point totals should be taken into account. I was working with an employee that made a good amount more than me, was consistently late, called off, or had an excuse not to work, AND HAD BEEN IN THE COMPANY FOR LESS TIME THAN ME! The evaluating system is not fair what so ever when it comes to raises. - Employees that are not honest: When it comes to employees being dishonest there was one at my second store that always had an excuse to why they couldn't come in. Either had a DR note, emotional reason, or something else that made her not be able to work. Points DON'T DO ANYTHING IF ITS NOT ENFORCED.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2020-02-07
  3. "Change is inevitable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rewards are easy to obatain

    Cons

    Too many part time positions thanks to politics

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-12-27
  4. "A fun place to work if you need the work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn car parts thoroughly

    Cons

    Short hours for part time

    AutoZone2019-11-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here if you have a choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Sales/Commercial Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I lucked out and get to work with a great staff. It makes spending the endless hours at work pretty enjoyable. I'm technically part time, but often work more hours due to actually having a fair amount of automotive knowledge.

    Cons

    I was ok with accepting $10 per hour at first, until I realized how much work I have to do as a redshirt. Not only do you have to make sure the store is spotless, you have to stock the freight, face the shelves, update tags, and help EVERY SINGLE customer that walks through the door at the drop of a hat, as well as answering every phone call within three rings. I feel like it weirds the customers out when three or four people just drop what they're doing to give them the same tired greeting all at once. Often, customers walk in angry, and act as if they know more than you, even when you have proof that they're wrong about something. Also, corporate offices often call the stores to test the employees' phone skills, often berating them for skipping a step in their precious '5 on the Phone' system. I'm a college student with a consistent class schedule, but I'm often expected to work ungodly hours, even during the week. On top of that, my work schedule changes from week to week, making balancing my school work and job a severe pain. When I asked for a reduction in hours to focus more on school, my manager refused, telling me I had to make a choice. Apparently it's a choice between passing my classes or paying my rent working at a job that doesn't give a damn about me. To sum it up, if you work here, you're just a number. And a severely underpaid number at that. Don't work here, find another way to show off your automotive experience.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-10-07
  6. "Great Place to Work but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Little Rock, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team of associates to work with, great managers to be around.

    Cons

    They will cut your hours if you dont meet their daily and weekly sales, dont apply if your not hired on as what you applied for (i.e. Applied for Full time Commercial Driver, Autozone hires you on as DIY part time.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-07-08
  7. "Good first job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Associate in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AutoZone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work isn’t very hard.

    Cons

    Hours weren’t the best being a part time employee. Turnover rate.

    AutoZone2019-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It really depends on the management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Parts Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy job, especially if you have car parts/troubleshooting knowledge. Can be fun at times with the right people. At my place of work, most people are very knowledgeable on vehicles and there are regulars who for the most part are very nice and understanding when issues come up. The discount is okay, better when they have their 30% off weekends. I don't get benefits because I am not full time but I hear they are pretty good. They are flexible with the schedule especially if you are part-time. They have accommodated my school schedule very well.

    Cons

    Where do I start. Who manages determines the place of work to be enjoyable or a nightmare. The wrong management scares away good employees and replaces them with new part-timers who may or may not have any car knowledge. Management (and upper management) only care about the numbers on paper and will cut hours, forbid overtime, while simultaneously tell you that the store looks like crap and you need to be selling this! Or putting away freight faster! Or do planos! All while there's two people up front on the counter for most of the day. Low morale due to all the drama and backstabbing from (bad) store managers. Always something to complain about, not much in words of praise to the employees. Pay is meh: I've worked 3 years and have had great reviews yet my pay raise TOTAL has been under .75 cents. In three years. I've been praised that I would be good for a manager spot since I worked there for 6 months and all I got were excuses: "We hired somebody else." even though I was actively completing training. "You're going to school." There are part-time managers. "Now we're training somebody else." I've given up, it's not worth the extra what, $2 an hour? All the drama and and increasing pressure to try to do any multitasking when there's only two or three people in the store make it a crappy place to work. I come in expecting the environment and culture to just keep getting worse.

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-06-28
  9. "Good for a college student, but the schedule is too inconsistent and the possibility for fulltime is near impossible."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Autozoner in Spring Hill, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -20% employee discount. -provided training and certification. -scheduling flexibility.

    Cons

    -low hours. -low possibility for advancement. -minimal assistance and coverage for health/dental as a part time associate.

    AutoZone2019-06-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "They want you to go up and beyond for the customer without any compensation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AutoZone part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros are I like the people that I work with that's about it. I have a full-time job and AZ is a part-time job. but I did work full-time for two years.

    Cons

    Rarely get raises and when you do it's just 10-15 cent increase. They expect you go the "extra mile" every time to make them look good. Which is great, I do it anyways but I have reached the point were I ask myself "Why keep going the extra mile for a company that doesn't give me a raise or even acknowledges how well I take care of the customer?".

    Continue reading
    AutoZone2019-05-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 182 reviews