Autodesk "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Autodesk Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 29 de Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Autodesk CEO Andrew Anagnost
Andrew Anagnost
455 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance - Supportive team(in 321 reviews)

  • "Great work environment with managers who are there to support you and help you grow early in your career(in 137 reviews)

Cons
  • "Middle management needs to be little mature in some part of the organization(in 54 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance (The job can be all-consuming at times)(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "BEST place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Researcher 

    I have been working at Autodesk part-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance - Supportive team

    Cons

    I didn't find any downsides to Autodesk

    Autodesk2019-11-29
  2. "Best place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products Smart and friendly people Work life balance

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything

    Autodesk2019-11-16

    Autodesk Response

    November 21, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Autodesk and we hope to see you back in the future!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Good company but I hit a bad team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Location, benefits, workspace, equipment, work-life balance

    Cons

    - Project scope, language and framework was changed right after I started - Old and crufty codebase with poor documentation, inconsistent code style rules (mix of semicolons and non-semicolons in a js project), inconsistent file structure - Manager once told me to get back to work after I spent 8 minutes in Slack chat discussing the pros and cons of a few terms related to testing; got told that I should be coding but had been told that I needed to be more collaborative 5 minutes earlier in the conversation. Typical "read my mind" sort of criticism from that manager. - Manager seemed surprised that I posted a Confluence doc about the vertical whitespace rules that I and 2 team members agreed on. The project was many years old and no one had written down style rules. Manager said "I thought all languages wanted zero whitespace". I had no response to this, I was just flabbergasted. This is one of the most WTF statements I've ever heard from a manager. I told a colleague about it (someone with close to 20 years experience) and his response was one word: "Run". For an example of vertical whitespace in a modern js project: see packages/react/src/React.js in the React github repo (not allowed to link it here) - Team member told me "your question was innapropriate" after I told them that the condescending response I got to a question was innapropriate. When someone tells you you are being inappropriate you don't say "no, u", that's rude. This team has issues.

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-11-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Data Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice people Good work life balance Cool products

    Cons

    Very poor data Senior level staff are out of touch with backend system problems Horrible politics

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-10-26
  5. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior SAP Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    Nothing to say as such on cons side

    Autodesk2019-10-16
  6. "Autodesk Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales and Marketing Representative 

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits with great vacation.

    Cons

    Terrible management and bad work life balance.

    Autodesk2019-08-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Autodesk life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager Software Development Engineering in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working on products that make an impact in the world. We make the products that people use to make the things that you interact with everyday. Working with smart people Work life balance

    Cons

    Low agility due to working with a large company. i.e. change is slow

    Autodesk2019-07-14

    Autodesk Response

    July 16, 2019HR Leadership

    Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that you're inspired by the impact that our products make in the world. We're also adopting a more agile working environment that is aimed at speeding us up a bit. This type of feedback is so helpful for us as we continue to make Autodesk a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Communications Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Leadership, work/life balance, friendly and inclusive culture, benefits, challenging and interesting work

    Cons

    Professional growth and recognition can be challenges. Internal systems and structures are unnecessarily complex.

    Autodesk2019-06-25
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Mediocre at best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Autodesk full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Great work life balance 2. If you want to glide - its the place to be! 3. you will find some good, mature , professional adults around you !

    Cons

    1. Meritocracy does NOT exist 2. HR is a joke

    Continue reading
    Autodesk2019-05-31
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Machine Learning Intern in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autodesk for less than a year

    Pros

    They take great care of their interns, they have a great work-life balance.

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Autodesk2019-05-10
Found 370 reviews