Autoliv "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Autoliv Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 356 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Autoliv CEO Jan Carlson
Jan Carlson
161 Ratings
Pros
  • "welcoming work environment and good co-workers and bosses(in 28 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, Productivity bonus, Medical insurance, Sick days, Vacations(in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "So-So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autoliv full-time

    Pros

    Everyone pitched in and helped one another. No one ever said "That is not my job". Very professional environment.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. I was told they do offer this, but it was extremely opposite. I didn't have much trust within the organization due to some higher level employees having a backstabbing nature. When they spoke, it was straight off the department of labor website. No sympathy whatsoever.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and understanding. I do not regret leaving. A couple people in the company, higher level, were somewhat back stabbing. Didn't create a positive vibe for me.

    Autoliv2018-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Out with the old, in with the new."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Lowell, MA

    I worked at Autoliv full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The employees seemed to genuinely care. The cultural shift in operating norms was improving.

    Cons

    The division I worked in was acquired and there was a lot of resistance to change. Work-Life balance was a problem for a lot of people it seemed.

    Advice to Management

    Trim the fat from the teams that are holding back the departments. There were too many individuals that didn't want to cooperate with the new management.

    Autoliv2018-02-04
  3. Helpful (4)

    ""Launchpad" for bigger and better companies. Not an end goal."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Procurement 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Autoliv full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance for the most part.

    Cons

    Extremely poor management and no opportunities for growth unless you plan on staying in your same role for 10-15 years. It's a socialist based company out of Sweden so your merits aren't based off performance but how poorly other regions are doing. It truly promotes a bare minimum mentality and it's obvious people aren't content here for long.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and compensate them fairly for their performance.

    Autoliv2018-01-29
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Benefits Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Benefits Representative in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autoliv full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Helping others.

    Cons

    No work/life balance. Demanding culture.

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with complaints would be nice. Allow associates to speak freely without consequences. Have a back-up person so vacation time can be used.

    Autoliv2017-10-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autoliv full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The work-life balance was great in our department and the company did many extra events for the employees during and after work.

    Cons

    Even though a portion of the company culture was less politics, they still existed and seem to hold the company back.

    Advice to Management

    Take time daily to develop your people, mentor those who strive for more and continue working toward employee retention.

    Autoliv2017-06-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Engineers be wary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autoliv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good health benefits. Average of 12 paid holidays.. PTO. 401k match. Purchased vacation option.

    Cons

    Low base pay versus market competition. Upper management not committed to ensuring goals and objectives are effectively cascaded. Management by objective versus leadership by strategy. Poor work life balance. Kettering graduates given seniority. HR very cold and disconnected. Gainshare metrics contain metrics that are out of the circle of influence of the individual employee....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let people pursue their passions and empower them to do so! Gut the authoritative management focused objectives at the expense of their employees.

    Autoliv2017-04-17
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Autoliv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance, opportunity for growth, decent salary, customer contracts

    Cons

    The braking division is new; there is a lot of work to do and the team is not fully organized yet

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring good people, and bring the team to the next level of organized.

    Autoliv2017-02-25
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Does not care about the employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Ogden, UT
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Autoliv

    Pros

    Great health benefits. Holiday pay. 401k match. Purchase vacation option.

    Cons

    Base pay was low; although benefits make up for some of that low base pay. Work life balance was horrendous, constantly on the phone during home life and weekends. Communication was laughable bad, upper management did not clearly convey desired expectations and constantly changes their minds. I asked about my future in the company and possibly futures raises and I was all but...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Set clear and concise goals. Follow through on your promises. Communicate to your subordinates. Follow the chain of command; don't undermine middle supervisors and managers.

    Autoliv2016-12-01
  9. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Autoliv

    Pros

    Good health care benefits, Great work life balance

    Cons

    No negotiating salary. Computers & electronics need to be updated.

    Autoliv2016-10-04
  10. "Great Company to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Autoliv

    Pros

    Nice working environment. Proper work life Balance

    Cons

    No food court. Only Vending Machine

    Autoliv2016-09-15
Found 356 reviews