Automated Insights Reviews | Glassdoor

Automated Insights Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
Automated Insights CEO Carl Mergele
Carl Mergele
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "One of the Best Places to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Insights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, excellent perks and benefits, family-friendly, amazing product, helpful and engaged managers

    Cons

    Harder to attract and keep good tech talent, not much room for professional development, under-staffed on the product team

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep the channels of communication open as the products and market changes so rapidly!

    Automated Insights2018-06-04

    Automated Insights Response

    June 6, 2018VP of People Operations

    Thank you for your review! We agree with you; this IS "one of the best places to work" and we've been recognized with this award 5 out of the past 6 years and we're proud!!! To keep up this pace, we are continuously working towards positive changes including upcoming professional ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (9)

    "A Once Great Company has Fallen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Insights full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros remaining at this time.

    Cons

    STATS LLC acquired Ai some time ago; early this year, they decided to effectively liquidate the current management team and roughly half of the company's staff in a process that was both random and cruel. The incompetence displayed by STATS management during that process verged on comical. Most of the talent that was not laid off has since quit. Avoid at all costs.

    Automated Insights2019-06-13

    Automated Insights Response

    June 19, 2019VP of People Operations

    Thank you for your review and feedback. As we grow and evolve in our fast-paced market, some change is a part of the process. We recently began working more closely with STATS to improve our offerings and create a unified vision forward for our company. Automated Insights and our ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Pull the plug - the business is dead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Insights full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ai WAS full of amazing people doing really innovative, interesting work. Had a lot of promise to impact market as a whole.

    Cons

    NO LONGER "AUTOMATED INSIGHTS" - The parent company STATS wiped out a huge chunk of the company in a "restructure". They obviously had no idea what they were doing with the business or who anyone they terminated was and completely tanked any hope the company had of being a viable place of work. Now they're trying to save face after realizing there was market opportunity. Don't apply here, you'll be looking for work... again elsewhere soon.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management won't listen - STATS made it clear Ai didn't matter to them by reducing staff and is only now trying to salvage the promising areas of the business they were oblivious to during the restructure. The only actionable advice I have for management is to just pull the plug on the toxic environment you've created, and give the remaining employees enough severance to stay afloat while on the job hunt.

    Automated Insights2019-06-07

    Automated Insights Response

    June 19, 2019VP of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. While we understand your perspective, STATS is—and remains—very much committed to Automated Insights and our future vision. We agree that Automated Insights and our Wordsmith NLG platform has a lot of potential impact in our market and that remains ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Not the company it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Insights full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few good people still around but not enough to make it worth applying.

    Cons

    If you started at automatedinsights.com looking for job opps then jumped here looking for info, please stop now. Recently Automated Insights was absorbed into its parent company STATS and everything which made it a great place to work went down the toilet.

    Advice to Management

    Pull the plug.

    Automated Insights2019-04-29

    Automated Insights Response

    June 19, 2019VP of People Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. As a part of some transformation we are undergoing, there have been some recent changes made within the organization. We continue to make all decisions with the long-term future of our Automated Insights vision in mind—which includes expanding our natural ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Excellent Company and Culture, Out-of-Touch Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Insights for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • The company's technology is a game-changer •Sales has consistently performed well, kept external stakeholders happy •Business outlook is terrific • Most employees are able to work 40 hour work weeks & have a good work/life balance •Work hours are flexible & employees are treated like adults •Stocked fridge, don't have to worry about packing a lunch • Great office location •Management and employees... are a pleasure to work with; many collaborative people who hold themselves accountable •People who like working in start-up environments can thrive here...there are lots of opportunities to get involved in many aspects of the business that are outside of a defined job role • Opportunities provided by being in the Vista portfolio • Solid benefits (PTO, matching 401K, Wellness Budget, etc)

    Show More

    Cons

    •In general, senior leadership has struggled to maintain trust of employees, has been out-of-touch with employees •Have justified several terminations by saying they "eliminated positions", but then hired the same positions not too long after terminations •When faced with constructive criticism, some members of senior leadership have been hostile to employees, poked fun at anonymous questions to the point that... very few people even submit anonymous questions anymore, and worried more about how they and the company will be perceived rather than actually hearing the criticisms and trying to improve the company •Probably as a result of the above, the culture has become less vibrant over the last 15 months or so...this can be seen by the lack of excitement in the office, less Brown Bag talks volunteered by employees, and noticeable stress whenever posts are made to certain Slack channels •Office is crowded, and open office floor plan can lead to distractions • Company tries to brand itself as a fresh thinking start-up while also implementing Vista processes that do not fit the company's needs •Adding honest "cons" here gives me a fair bit of anxiety, which tells you about how toxic the senior management team can be

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees - people who are passionate about our values and our work should be listened to and respected. Employees at any company want leadership to follow the same set of values as the employees, to be honest, and to be approachable. We have a tremendous opportunity here - people have worked hard to build, sell, market, and service our technology and clients, and put us in the position we are in. Please... don't screw this opportunity up - be open and honest and take the company values seriously.

    Show More
    Automated Insights2018-08-01

    Automated Insights Response

    September 19, 2018VP of People Operations

    Thank you for your balanced feedback. We appreciate your advice to management and have also "heard" the wider Ai audience through feedback from our recent employee survey. We do have a tremendous opportunity in front of us and we want all Ai employees to feel valued and respected. ...

    Show More
  6. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Insights full-time

    Pros

    Great people and atmosphere. You're working with smart people, have autonomy to figure out creative paths to solutions, and everyone is open to questions and learning. Our technology and product are very innovative and respected in the market. Perks like free food and drinks, massages, ping pong, frequent outings and events are great for getting to know everyone. Monthly meetings with Product team is great.

    Cons

    Office space is getting a little crowded. New desks are great, but as we continue to grow, I'm not sure where everyone will sit. Walk to parking deck is a little long for some, especially during winter.

    Advice to Management

    Continue communication about future plans and goals. Don't forget about our great culture as we grow!

    Automated Insights2018-05-07

    Automated Insights Response

    May 14, 2018VP of People Operations

    Really appreciate your positive review! Thanks for taking the time to write. Couldn't agree more with the great people and atmosphere. You're right about our space getting a little crowded as we continue to grow. Please know we are actively working on solutions and will continue to ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Automated Insights full-time

    Pros

    Great office perks, software is super useful and actually solving a problem for their customers, pretty cool culture

    Cons

    Leadership change seems to have the company going in several different directions.

    Advice to Management

    Get everyone on the same page and encourage more cross-pollination between teams.

    Automated Insights2017-10-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place To Work, seriously!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Insights full-time

    Pros

    Ai is known for its fantastic culture, and for good reason. Projects are collaborative with Agile workflow. Every two weeks we have a company-wide meeting where we get to hear what other people are working on. Flexible hours, work from home one day a week, ping pong matches daily.

    Cons

    Honestly I can't think of anything, except some people have to park kind of far away. But if that's the worst that happens, I think we're doing pretty good.

    Automated Insights2017-02-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Automated Insights full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are phenomenal. AI hires smart and capable employees who care about what they are doing.

    Cons

    The company direction and organization has been a bit up in the air since they were aquired in 2015, but that is par for the course and they are working through it.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency, less politics, and less of a inner circle mentality would go a long way towards improving morale amongst the boots on the ground.

    Automated Insights2016-07-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best Place To Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Automated Insights full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love coming to work every day. Ai is not only an amazing place to work but also a fun place to work. Everyone is very friendly, positive & supportive. Ai encourages a flexible work schedule to support you as you balance not just your work but your personal life as well. You also have the option to work from home one day a week. Daily ping pong, game nights, free lunch, snacks & beer also make this a best place to... work.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons! Truly is one of the best places to work.

    Automated Insights2016-03-31
Found 34 reviews