Autoshop Solutions Reviews | Glassdoor

Autoshop Solutions Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Autoshop Solutions CEO Danny Sanchez (no image)
Danny Sanchez
16 Ratings
  1. "Startup Environment, Steady-Growth Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Apex, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Job satisfaction and the pace of work are exactly what you'd expect to find in a startup environment, except with a solid foundation of steady clients (rare in the startup world). That is, you get out of it what you put into it. If you enjoy freedom of movement and work well independently, your work will be rewarded and recognized, company-wide. Benefits and policies are fluid, and change to suit the current staff, which means anyone can impact how the company treats its staff. While management ultimately owns the company, they are responsive to new and evolving work/life requirements, and will make exceptions for those who consistently work well and keep clients happy. I have put in 80-120 hour weeks in previous roles, so I enjoyed not having that expectation, with Autoshop. I put in the work when it was absolutely necessary, but never felt pressured to work abnormally long hours. Management is responsive to the work environment needs of various roles (sales, marketing, design, etc) and will bend over backwards to accommodate, when feasible.

    Cons

    Being a small company with highly variable client interests, there is a lot to learn out of the gate, but your colleagues and management do their best to catch you up as fast as they can. Turnover is somewhat high, but consistent with similar marketing agencies, staffed with relatively new career-starters. Many former staff members celebrated multi-year anniversaries, then went on to expand their new-found skills and build a solid career from their start at Autoshop Solutions.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-10-30
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Promising if Issues are Fixed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apex, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All coworkers at Autoshop Solutions are very nice. Free snacks and other small perks always brighten my workday. Company field trips are always fun and something the office looks forward to. Great place to further develop skills you already have, or to even look at learning new skills in other areas of marketing. Accepts all different levels of experience.

    Cons

    I feel like the workers in the office aren't compensated as well as they should be. In more than 1 instance, my coworkers had to threaten to quit in order to get a pay raise. In times of being understaffed, the feeling inside of the office changes. The usual happy staff becomes stressed, and instead of being lifted up in hard times like these, benefits are taken away because the CEO is getting poor feedback from angry clients because the team is so overloaded with work that the clients aren't getting the attention they deserve. If the CEO doesn't like you, you are unlikely to be heard or respected as a member of the team.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2019-03-03

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    March 13, 2019Internal Marketing Specialist

    As with any feedback, we appreciate the opportunity to discuss concerns in-person so they can be addressed while a reviewer is employed. We are proud to have such a strong team with so many different personalities, strengths, views, areas of expertise and hobbies. Individuality is what makes us successful as a company with many opinions and views shared to further improve internally and externally. We consider these opinions carefully as we make decisions on anything within the company. We value equality and effort and work hard to make sure our employees feel they are celebrated and treated fairly. A strong team gets us through the occasional period of feeling understaffed. Our team supports each other and jumps in to offer help to a team member if it’s needed. As a small company, a team mentality and hard work is vital to the happiness of our clients and the success of the company. We’re grateful to have such a strong team in place to deliver for our customers.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Apex, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions for more than a year

    Pros

    not many, they offer standard benefits and subpar healthcare insurance

    Cons

    The company doesn't know what it is doing or how to train employees. They put customers into boxes that do get results. When suggestions were given they were ignored. This company scams clients and does bad business.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-09-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been working here for over 3 years on the Marketing team. This is an amazing place to work and it has really great perks. I think the average time someone has worked here is over 3 years. It seems that we have a disgruntled ex-employee that keeps leaving bad reviews to damage our reputation. I get offended by these bad reviews because they are not true. The owner of the company is a great man and would give you the shirt off his back. His leadership and direction is the direct result of why our company and culture is great.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Autoshop Solutions2018-05-23
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Sinking ship isn't worth the bells and whistles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My overall review is not positive of Autoshop Solutions but I would like to offer insight that there are still some perks that can be found in this workplace: >> Flexible schedule >> Work from home once weekly >> Free snacks and beverages >> Occasional activities >> Mistakes are allowed >> Nobody micro manages >> Coworkers are nice

    Cons

    I have a laundry list of concerns to address unfortunately. As a current employee of multiple years there are several things I have seen in my time that would be considered unethical, bad business, or poor management. I was led to finally write this review in hopes of reaching management and some action being taken. We have been understaffed in several departments due to a high turnover rate and badly timed firings. I have heard managers claim to new employees that they 'never fire anyone' here (would you trust a business who has never had a bad employee worth firing?) but I can count on 2 hands the number of employees who have been fired since 2017 alone. This does not count the additional personnel who have resigned. If I'm counting correctly for 2017 start to end, we had 4 firings and 3 resignations. This company has about 25-30 people at any given time so you can do the math. Losing employees can be an unexpected happenstance but many of these should not have been surprises. I can't fault the company for unexpected ocurrences but I can fault them for not hiring and restaffing when it was desperately needed already. Existing employees have been struggling to keep up with their workloads because they are supporting their own full time job plus the addition of work from those who have left or been fired, or magically changed job responsibilities altogether. And they are not being compensated or provided any type of bonus for the additional work and responsibilities undertaken. On top of staff fluctuation there are new service packages and processes that have yet to be ironed out, and role changes that effect team structure that haven't even fully been addressed. And instead of trying to resolve the root problems created from all of this, the upper management (and CEO) keep throwing new projects at the teams who are, in all aspects, entirely crippled. To the point where I can name at least 5 people who have verbalized their desire to spontaneously quit due to the stress and work that is being thrown at them. These are GOOD employees too - the kind any decent business owner or manager would want to bend over backwards to keep. They work hard and bear the load when others fail to do so because they are commited and they care. The people who don't actually care about their job or building towards anything will just do the extra work while letting other things go completely unattended. The business decisions and managerial decisions made by this company are almost unfathomable in how absurd they are. Teams lack support from managers; managers lack knowledge of their team's workload or job duties; the CEO seems completely unaware of bad management; executives rule the roost while flying blindly. Then they have the nerve to send out a best places to work survey in the middle of all of this chaos. Last year when I completed this survey I still had some small hope in this companies long term potential but that is entirely gone. I hope they get some really honest feedback and that they start listening instead of making excuses for bad decisions and the impending outcomes. Otherwise this is a sinking ship and you can expect continued turnover before the end of the year.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-06-14

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    June 26, 2018Internal Marketing Specialist

    While we would prefer to address these concerns in person, we would like to clear up any confusion. We are proud to say that our company has continued to grow since it started, and with the team we have at the moment and the release our our newest packages, our company is thriving. With any smaller company, turnover is expected, and we are nothing but supportive of team members who are taking advantage of other opportunities. Regarding those who have been let go, we recognize that it is always an uncomfortable situation for both parties, but a lot of thought goes into those decisions, and we strive to work with any employee extensively before any final decisions are made. As with any new program, there will be things we must work out, but we pride ourselves on the fact that the entire team comes together to help each other out and iron those kinks out. We have full confidence in our management teams, and every member on our entire team, and we would hope any issues that arise would be brought up and addressed to the correct parties.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Developer in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autoshop Solutions has a great environment and great people to work with. The owner really tries to create a fun and creative environment relative to the industry. Functioning garage doors, automotive related decor, snacks, and drinks are just a few things around the office. There is a great team environment, with many team members going to the gym together during lunch or grabbing lunch at several near by places. Often you will find team members in the common area, dubbed "The Garage", sharing lunch, or just hanging out enjoying the open area during down time. Management has been very supportive and always works with employees and their career goals. If you are open about what you want to do and where you would like to see yourself in the future they will strive to make that happen, as long as you provide value to the company. My overall experience at Autoshop Solutions has been very good, and I would recommend Autoshop Solutions to anyone wanting to gain experience in the marketing agency or web development fields.

    Cons

    I really don't have any negative things to say about Autoshop Solutions, I have enjoyed my time here and the people I have worked with. The only reason for leaving was to advance my career and receive experience in areas that I wouldn't be able to receive in the vertical market that they serve.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-04-25

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    May 16, 2018Internal Marketing Specialist

    Thank you so much for the review! We strive to provide a positive, creative space for our team members, so we’re happy those efforts were conveyed. Company culture is so important to our CEO, so your kind words mean a lot. We’re always trying to find ways to improve and provide more opportunities to our team members, so we truly appreciate your feedback and we are currently in the process of working on upgrading our equipment based on team member feedback! Thank you again for the review.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (11)

    "It's Not Worth it. Just Say No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Apex, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers Free Fastpass Work laptop WFH

    Cons

    -We have lost over 11 people in the last 12 months. The company only has around 28 to 35 people in the staff, including the CEO. Super high turnover rate and a super low tenure. Only 33% of the marketing team have been there over a year. -CEO has a habit of lying during the interview process. He promises different people different “benefits” but when they are hired, he reneged on his agreements because they were not in their offer letter. -I’ve heard several employees complain that the CEO tries to push them to get auto repairs from local clients and gets very upset when he finds out that an employee didn’t use a client. -Many amazing talented staff are underpaid in comparison to industry standards. Salaries are based specifically on how much the CEO likes you as he is the one who gets to decide which staff gets raises and how much. -The CEO has an “emergency garage meeting” with the entire company when employees resigns or are terminated. In one of these, he called an female employee who resigned “emotionally unstable” because of her “failed business”. During another one, he spoke openly about a previous employee’s private medical condition and told everyone that he was going to replace her position after she’d only been out of the office for 4 weeks. Apparently she was only going to be out for 2-3 months. -CEO threatens to take away Work From Home Day (which he makes you wait 6 months to earn) when employees express concerns over high workload -There is so much distrust for the CEO, that there is a rumor that he will sit in his office in the dark in the mornings and the evenings to see which employees come to work “on time”, especially when he makes a point to go around the office announcing that he’s leaving for vacation. -CEO runs the agency based on “feelings” rather than strategy. -Be aware that some of the positive reviews posted here are fake. The CEO specifically asked employees to leave positive reviews during a monthly meeting and was upset when no one did.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-05-01

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    May 16, 2018Internal Marketing Specialist

    We take feedback from team members and former team members seriously and respect that each employee’s perspective may be different. The driven, hard-working team we have is focused on client experience and delivering results. The sentiments expressed in this review do not correspond with the majority of our team’s experience at Autoshop Solutions. Although this platform isn’t an ideal place to address these concerns, we would like to take the time to clear up any misunderstandings. Building a positive company culture and workplace has always been a top priority for our CEO at Autoshop Solutions, and we are very proud that the average tenure of employment here at Autoshop Solutions is about 3.5 years. We also are proud to be competitive in the industry both with the salaries and benefits package we offer, and we’re honored to have been awarded the Triangle Business Journal’s Best Places to Work award once, with honorable mention in the years following. We are very lucky to represent many local clients who we will readily recommend to people looking for auto repair/collision/transmission work, it is by no means a requirement, and we have never required our employees to use clients for services. Transparency is of the utmost importance to our company, which is the reason we are very open about changes - both personnel and policy changes - to all team members, providing reasonable information about situations. In addition, team leaders and other members of the team are often involved in changes being made in the company, as our CEO understands the importance of collaboration and transparency. We encourage anyone with questions or concerns about policy changes to speak up, so we can resolve any questions as they arise.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Looks Can Be Deceiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Autoshop Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool staff members. Causal dress code.

    Cons

    The Executive team lacks skill or adequate training that is NECESSARY to lead a company and its evident here. The Executive team makes decisions without considering how it is impacting the clients or team members doing the work. Leading by intimidation is a trait that comes from the CEO down through other Executive team members. Subpar benefits-well below industry standards. Do not expect the benefits listed in the 'Employee Handbook' to be honored. In fact, the CEO will often go against written company polices simply because he feels like it. Know that the CEO is addicted to his ego! Expect to be a witness to inappropriate and disrespectful comments/glares directed towards women from the CEO. If you do not participate in the company events, you will hear about it in a passive aggressive manner. The work from home benefit is given haphazardly and with heavy micromanagement.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2018-01-05

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    January 18, 2018Senior Communications Specialist

    With any review site, we hope to receive constructive feedback from team members and former team members, and we take this feedback very seriously so that we can continue to grow and continue to be a great place to work. Although this medium isn’t an ideal place to address these concerns, we would like to take the time to clear up any misunderstandings. We hate to hear anyone has ever felt like a passive-aggressive remark was made to a team member who couldn’t attend a company event. If any current or future employees reading this feel that way, please bring it up so we can clear up any miscommunications. Company events are often hosted and provided by the company as an opportunity to help strengthen the team and show appreciation for each and every team member, and although we certainly hope all employees are able to attend these events, it is by no means a requirement - just something the company does to help make Autoshop Solutions a great place to work. Transparency is of the utmost importance to the company because we want good communication to go both ways, and we can assure you that all policy updates are thoroughly discussed and reviewed by team leaders and other members of the team, who are often left to decide best policy changes, but we will certainly consider your feedback as we continue to improve internal communication. We encourage anyone with questions or concerns about policy changes to speak up so we can resolve any questions as they arise.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Growth, Opportunity and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Apex, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has been growing very fast and customer confidence gets better and better, I saw how many customers were very happy with services and the few that had issues were taken care of, I was very impressed by how company cares about its customers. There is a lot of opportunity in the company and I saw many other employees get recognized and promotions while I was with the company. The culture was the best, I felt management spent a lot of effort and money to make the office a fun place and to plan special events. I may one of the few to lose my position with the company and not blame them or lash back at the company using Glassdoor as a whip.

    Cons

    I think the company did a good job of understanding that I may have been hired for a position I wasn't the best fit for. But sometimes you have to give something a try to know for sure.

    Autoshop Solutions2017-11-07

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    January 18, 2018Senior Communications Specialist

    Thank you so much for the review! We care very deeply for our customers, so it is wonderful to see that the dedication to our clients was conveyed. We strive to recognize employees for their accomplishments and provide a very positive, comfortable place to work. Company culture is incredible important to our CEO, so your kind words mean a lot. Thank you again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Refined environment for the marketing professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Professional in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Autoshop Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office is designed to be a car lovers dream, but anyone who loved creative design can appreciate the space as well. Most employees work really well together, some keep their heads down and earphones in and that works too.

    Cons

    The office is in Apex so Raleigh people have a little bit of a drive, but lots of options for lunch nearby and safe location.

    Continue reading
    Autoshop Solutions2017-08-21

    Autoshop Solutions Response

    January 18, 2018Senior Communications Specialist

    Thank you so much for the kind words! We strive to provide a positive, creative space for our team members, so we’re so happy we’ve achieved that. We are always trying to find ways to improve the company and provide more opportunities to our team members, so we will certainly look into providing more educational programs in 2018! Thank you again for your feedback.

    Continue reading
Found 23 reviews