Avago Technologies Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Avago Technologies Engineer Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Avago Technologies CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
51 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice pay, bonus and work environment

    Cons

    Teams are spread too thin.

    Advice to Management

    Think long term and invest on future products

    Avago Technologies2014-11-12
  2. "Good company if the upper management sees value in your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Systems Applications Engineer in Allentown, PA

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and stock options

    Cons

    You may be laid off at any time

    Avago Technologies2019-08-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "For pay and benefits, good company; expect nothing more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and stock (as long as the price stays up, its ok.).

    Cons

    Quarter earnings/profit focus and no real R&D. Management ladder valued than individual contributors (obvious when you don't want R&D but want to make earnings/profit) Pathetic cooperation/services from non-engineering support services (HR, IT, IP everything else); so bad that you don't expect it in a big company like this

    Avago Technologies2018-06-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "No Innovation, Only Focused on the Next Quarter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fast work environment, smart people

    Cons

    This company doesn't care about one, two or 10 years in the future. The management is shortsighted, and can't see longer than 6 months in the future. They are hated by all of their customers (HP, Dell, Google) since they raise prices on a whim.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize that everyone hates you, and wants to jump ship as soon a new Ethernet/WLAN supplier is available.

    Avago Technologies2018-02-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "If you are serious about work and want returns for it, stay a mile away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stock is doing well and the compensation is ok.

    Cons

    1. Poor management; most execs are just retired and enjoying their perks 2. Hiring practices and policies are the worst you can see in any real technology R&D company. 3. This is not a R&D or a cutting edge product development company any more; just focused on increasing margins.

    Avago Technologies2017-08-05
  6. "application engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good bonus plan, good stock plan

    Cons

    keep changing management and business outlook

    Avago Technologies2016-10-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Profit Hungry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ASIC Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good stock incentives - Diverse portfolio of projects for engineers - Talented engineers to work with and learn from

    Cons

    The company is primarily profit driven and investor focused, with what seems to be little interest in keeping its engineers happy (e.g. no hesitation to outsource jobs). High business unit operating margin requirements leave little room for R&D. The company keeps itself lean with its profitable product lines, spends little on innovation, and looks to acquire companies that have already taken the R&D investment... risk to make something profitable rather than spend their own money to innovate within the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start investing your employees as priorities, otherwise you'll continue to drive away top talent.

    Avago Technologies2016-09-23
  8. "Firmware Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Part of small team with good cooperation and purpose. Overall, company had profit sharing and was growing. My experience was good and I learned a lot, mostly because the team I worked with was supportive in giving their time.

    Cons

    Few extra resources for training or equipment. We got by, but it felt lean.

    Avago Technologies2016-03-27
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company but kind of stifling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Principal Engineer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Innovative products and technologies. Great engineering community. Fast paced and exciting projects.

    Cons

    Upper management can be stifling and not supportive. Feels like too much oversight from the main headquarters. Not much autonomy in local project and engineering decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Trust local management. Trust local engineers to make sound decisions. The more empowerment the better.

    Avago Technologies2016-02-11
  10. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time

    Pros

    We had flexible hours, as long as we got our work done, they didn't care when we did itt. They had a above average bonus plan, and I did great with the stock options.

    Cons

    My cube in the original building was a little noisy, but adequate size. My cube in the new building was about half the size, and had minimal storage.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and honest.Continue equity sharing. Sometimes it feels there are meetings for the sake of meetings, and I feel they are a drag on my productivity.

    Avago Technologies2016-02-04
Found 82 reviews