Avago Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Avago Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Avago Technologies CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
150 Ratings
  1. "Sr Staff Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Positive environment in general, good benefits

    Cons

    Have to work nights and weekends

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Avago Technologies2016-09-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Profit Hungry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ASIC Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good stock incentives - Diverse portfolio of projects for engineers - Talented engineers to work with and learn from

    Cons

    The company is primarily profit driven and investor focused, with what seems to be little interest in keeping its engineers happy (e.g. no hesitation to outsource jobs). High business unit operating margin requirements leave little room for R&D. The company keeps itself lean with its profitable product lines, spends little on innovation, and looks to acquire companies that have already taken the R&D investment... risk to make something profitable rather than spend their own money to innovate within the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start investing your employees as priorities, otherwise you'll continue to drive away top talent.

    Avago Technologies2016-09-23
  3. "Not good company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture. Competitive Pay. Good Training.

    Cons

    No communication between Manager and employee

    Advice to Management

    Be honest and transparent with your employee

    Avago Technologies2016-10-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Life as a storage Cash Cow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Competent engineering team, mature firmware development and quality / release process. Liberal use of huge FPGAs for chip and firmware emulation. Sales is focused on relationships with a handful of key IHVs.

    Cons

    RAID technology and server products are nearing the end of their life cycle. Rapidly being replaced by distributed file systems provided in the OS. Not sure if there will be a need for custom RAID SOCs going forward. Budgets are always tight. ASIC design is horribly expensive, drives the profit margin. Development schedules tend to be unrealistic, constant pressure. In 2015, upper management was opposed to remote... development sites with less than 100 people, shut them down. Lost some engineering talent in the process. Not sure what impact that no-remote-site objective has had on Broadcom after the merger.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Time will tell if the Broadcom merger will be successful. If you are a stockholder, you are likely happy with the quarterly earnings reports. But as an engineer, not so much.

    Avago Technologies2016-08-04
  5. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Stocks are vested and the stock prices presently are soaring.

    Cons

    Too money minded. On the engineering side, did not find anything very challenging

    Avago Technologies2016-07-30
  6. "Product Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    leading edge technologies, great benefits including bonuses and stock

    Cons

    Overall management style is to acquire and optimize businesses. Means constant threat of layoffs.

    Advice to Management

    Invest to grow businesses organically

    Avago Technologies2016-06-27
  7. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is very very competent. The stock price goes up. How many CEOs have we seen that have laid off thousands of employees and drive the stock price down to zero. Health Benefit was upgraded this year to lower price and make it simpler for employees. 401K, RSUs, Bonus, ESSP We work hard and long hours but this is the first time in my career where I feel I am being compensated for my.

    Cons

    Vacation balances were ended. Not sure how this will work in the long run. Many Excellent people were laid off. Some excellent people left after the LSI acquisition and Broadcom acquisition. Great company to work at if you don't want to get promoted. Our Workforce is aging and we are not recruiting younger employees. I think this is very dangerous.

    Advice to Management

    We need to invest in younger employees

    Avago Technologies2016-05-31
  8. "Asic Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Great place to work with opportunity to work in different areas.

    Cons

    There were a lot of acquisitions and many changes due to that.

    Avago Technologies2016-05-31
  9. "R&D Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time

    Pros

    401k matching and vacation policy

    Cons

    Uncertainty from quarter to quarter due to employee cuts

    Advice to Management

    Identify key people prior to layoff instead of by a number

    Avago Technologies2016-05-09
  10. "ASIC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The environment is very friendly

    Cons

    Projects have very tight schedule

    Advice to Management

    more bandwidth

    Avago Technologies2016-04-22
Found 278 reviews