Avago Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Avago Technologies Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Avago Technologies CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
150 Ratings
  1. "Overall Gud Place for Hardware based profiles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    > Great Place, Great Culture > Very helpful guyz, fun place to work > Gud for hardware based profiles

    Cons

    > Not really a gud work place for Application Engineers/Web Developers

    Avago Technologies2016-02-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company but kind of stifling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Principal Engineer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Innovative products and technologies. Great engineering community. Fast paced and exciting projects.

    Cons

    Upper management can be stifling and not supportive. Feels like too much oversight from the main headquarters. Not much autonomy in local project and engineering decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Trust local management. Trust local engineers to make sound decisions. The more empowerment the better.

    Avago Technologies2016-02-11
  3. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time

    Pros

    We had flexible hours, as long as we got our work done, they didn't care when we did itt. They had a above average bonus plan, and I did great with the stock options.

    Cons

    My cube in the original building was a little noisy, but adequate size. My cube in the new building was about half the size, and had minimal storage.

    Advice to Management

    Be transparent and honest.Continue equity sharing. Sometimes it feels there are meetings for the sake of meetings, and I feel they are a drag on my productivity.

    Avago Technologies2016-02-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Test Engineering and Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company to work for with customers all over the world and BUs. Ton's of work but...

    Cons

    Ops team is run out of Malaysia and no opportunities in the USA, it's all about cost cutting and margins. If not met, then layoffs take place in a heartbeat.

    Advice to Management

    Sooner or later you will loose the lead and eventually US based employees will leave for other companies who treat them better.

    Avago Technologies2016-01-24
  5. "Large company that continues to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Great colleagues, a lot of talented people work there. Many different opportunities due to the number of different business segments.

    Cons

    The growth is not organic. Op ex is extremely important to management. Vision is specifically chosen to be short term.

    Avago Technologies2016-02-05
  6. "Much better this year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    California 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Benefit improved after bought Boardcom

    Cons

    Life/work balance, 100% load for engineer

    Avago Technologies2016-01-21
  7. Helpful (25)

    "Amazing company, ruthless that is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    none, i haven't seen anything positive about this company yet, since officially we are not fully integrated (closed) with Avago as of Jan-27-2016

    Cons

    Amazing, that's the only thing i can say at this point. Not even Day 1 with Avago, they chopped off about 85% of our dept in Broadcom. They plan to ship all of our jobs overseas, outside of United States. Great strategy, buy and chop companies, slice and dice.

    Advice to Management

    Job well done.

    Avago Technologies2016-01-28
  8. "Firmware Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Work in small teams. Fast paced development. Requires expertise from many areas of engineering. Teams consist of hardware, firmware, software, system/validation, and test engineers. Lot of interaction and learning across teams. Good pay, bonus, stocks/RSUs, and insurance plans.

    Cons

    Some amount of delivery/schedule pressures. Somewhat serious work environment.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Avago Technologies2015-12-31
  9. Helpful (8)

    "The worst CEO centric company I have ever seen. CEO always talks about himself as the main reason for company success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You should feel good.If you survive the brutal business model of do more with less and less until CEO can buy another company and lays you off.

    Cons

    With Hack Tan as CEO, there is no passion for organic R&D since he is always looking to buy mature companies where he can cut cost and milk it as long as he can.

    Avago Technologies2016-01-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Bottomline oriented....workplace and colleagues are good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Technology, Team and mid management are friendly. and general workplace atmosphere

    Cons

    The upper management is bottomline oriented. The BU management is always stressed and shows on the roadmap.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in R&D

    Avago Technologies2015-12-19
Found 278 reviews