Avago Technologies "lsi" Reviews | Glassdoor

Avago Technologies Employee Reviews about "lsi"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Avago Technologies CEO Hock E. Tan
Hock E. Tan
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast work environment, smart people(in 19 reviews)

  • "The company does support its employees and allow them freedom to do thier best work with a good work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "This is not a R&D or a cutting edge product development company any more; just focused on increasing margins(in 15 reviews)

  • "Some excellent people left after the LSI acquisition and Broadcom acquisition(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lsi"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Electrical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    CEO is very very competent. The stock price goes up. How many CEOs have we seen that have laid off thousands of employees and drive the stock price down to zero. Health Benefit was upgraded this year to lower price and make it simpler for employees. 401K, RSUs, Bonus, ESSP We work hard and long hours but this is the first time in my career where I feel I am being compensated for my.

    Cons

    Vacation balances were ended. Not sure how this will work in the long run. Many Excellent people were laid off. Some excellent people left after the LSI acquisition and Broadcom acquisition. Great company to work at if you don't want to get promoted. Our Workforce is aging and we are not recruiting younger employees. I think this is very dangerous.

    Advice to Management

    We need to invest in younger employees

    Avago Technologies2016-05-31
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Name keeps on changing, but nothing else does"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Great compensation and benefits - Great co-workers - Office politics rare

    Cons

    This company used to be part of Hewlett-Packard before spinning off into Agilent Technologies and then spinning off again into Avago Technologies. Recent acquisitions of LSI and Broadcom gives the appearance of growth and change, but behind the scenes it's business as usual. Engineers are promoted into leadership positions and there are very few, if any, really groundbreaking ideas being generated. Most people... are just coasting through their careers, collecting paychecks, and turning the engineering crank. If you are interested in an exciting, high energy, high growth environment where you are doing meaningful work, this is not your company. If you want to spend the next 20 years getting paid really well and become really good at doing one thing over and over, then this is the place for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No sense in giving advice to people who appear successful on the surface. My only question would be, "Do you REALLY enjoy the work you are doing?"

    Avago Technologies2016-02-03
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Avago Detailed Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Avago is one of those companies, you either love it or hate it. As of writing this review Avago is rated very low, but I have learned to appreciate Avago model. If you are a B+ or A player, can manage high workload, without pat on the back and hugs from management, Avago is place for you. If you are just average, or slightly above average, well, then it comes down to your luck! Avago key to success is getting work... done with as little overhead (i.e. Headcounts) as possible. It is process-lite company with fastest decision making I have ever seen. The same holds true for firing decisions.. Management tries to see if next year they can get by with 5-10% less head count than last and same goes on every year... so if you can survive cuts, go for it. I must say, it get's tiring though, and you question why are you still with Avago and then you look at your pay check and unvested equity and then you go back to work. Pros include: Excellent RSU and Bonus program and RSU matching - likely in top 90% for tech industry, not many companies can come close to Avago total compensation. That being said, it's managed like a cheap start up, so you can't expect much goodies, other than solid pay check and excellent variable compensation. A bright future lies ahead for Avago, at least for next few years.

    Show More

    Cons

    It's managed like you would manage a private business, very cheap, but extremely efficient, very lean, no complex org hierarchies, fastest decision making, things move fast here, but you work your *** off to get things done, fast! This is not a company you can call home or get comfortable with, Avago keep you on your toes. Coming from LSI that was major difference, all tools and processes are based on one... criteria, keep cost low, regardless of user experience. No focus on training, career development etc, if's up to you to manage that. Despite all that, because of great stock appreciation and a superb bonus plan/pay outs, there is extremely limited voluntary turnover.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep driving stock up! I don't think Exec mgmt read comments to get any advice ;)

    Avago Technologies2015-07-15
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Below Average Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hardware Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good 401k plan, decent benefits, good co-workers.

    Cons

    Avago management is all about bottom line and does not really care about employees. They buy companies (LSI, Emulex and now Broadcom) and remove (70% or so, or more) their employees (layoff) and then only keep "key" staff. Everything is micromanaged from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up!!!

    Avago Technologies2015-05-30
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Avago's Purchase of LSI Really Trashed It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff Software Engineer in Mendota Heights, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Avago Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LSI had decent facilities, and I had my own dedicated set of a great deal of top-of-the-line test equipment. The best part about LSI was the benefits package. They had good annual bonuses, very good medical coverage, and LSI "contributed" $2K to cover any deductibles.

    Cons

    At least in the facility I was in (Mendota Heights, MN), there was an overly strict head-count for management and for the top technical ranks. So, people that were deserving could not get promotions, and there were "managers" that were having to do the role without really having the authority because they weren't official managers. But, the biggest problem with LSI now is that an overseas company: Avago bought... them out. Avago puts half the percentage of revenue into R&D as LSI did, plus they considered the business unit we were in as a "cash cow". As a result, they laid off essentially the entire R&D staff. A lot of really talented engineers were lost. Also, Avago is a very cheap company. Everything is done on the cheap, so the benefits administration is horrible, etc. (All my ratings are for the current setup (Avago), not for what LSI was like when I was there.)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you don't want to invest in LSI's disk preamps, then spin them off and let them thrive on their own, like they were before you bought it.

    Avago Technologies2015-06-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Uncertainty prevails after multiple mergers and sell offs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Software Test Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Decent benefits , work/life balance stable work force till the mergers and acquisitions last year Good variety of technology

    Cons

    No direction of where the company is heading. is it only about the stock price now? Employees not excited to work there. Fear of layoffs loom large Too much central control in decisions Benefits not as good as they were with LSI

    Advice to Management

    Need to build employee moral . All we hear is speculations and who is next to go

    Avago Technologies2015-05-07
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Positive outlook for stockholders, negative outlook for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Great bonus and equity potential, good co-workers, was a better company prior to merger. Stock price is increasing rapidly.

    Cons

    Culture split between legacy LSI and classic Avago is stark - classic Avago staff seem to go out of their way to be unhelpful. Frequent layoffs and skeleton crew staff levels. East coast is expected to be on a west coast/asia schedule for meetings.

    Avago Technologies2015-03-18
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Improvements at xLSI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Middle Management in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    Within the first few months of acquisition of LSI the new management ferreted out the VP & GMs of poorly performing divisions of LSI and took decisive action to rid itself of non-performing leaders and BUs. These were critically necessary and bold decisions to remove the Executive VPs that were running political fiefdoms draining the company of precious R&D funding

    Cons

    Due to market demands of quarterly growth results, often the focus tends to be short term

    Advice to Management

    Continue to identify and pursue long term growth drivers for the company to gain market leadership in key focus segments. Never rest on past laurels.

    Avago Technologies2015-03-08
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Not a nice company any more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avago Technologies

    Pros

    LSI used to be very good company to work for. Good working environment. Good product and profit margin. Work and life balance

    Cons

    Since acquired by Avago, it is a completely different company. New management only care about sheet balance and paper number. Force everyone come to office no matter if the work can be remotely done or not

    Advice to Management

    keep talent people not only look at the paper sheet balance

    Avago Technologies2015-01-29
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Focused on test storage system with a directly on performance measurement MegaRAID Products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Performance Analyst/Software Test Engineer in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Avago Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Avago Technologies is a global company and semiconductor industry. It is over 10,000 employees in world wides.

    Cons

    After the transition LSI merged to Avago, The company work style is terrible. Many people had feeling insecurity about their personal info may be shared to outside.

    Advice to Management

    The management system is unclear. The management levels are driving for project so confusion. workload sometime got overlap to other teams.

    Avago Technologies2015-01-24
Found 278 reviews