KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Avalara

Engaged Employer

Avalara

Add a Review

Avalara Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 713 of over 795 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
Scott McFarlane
480 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avalara and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful Company

    Jun 15, 2022 - Customer Success Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic people, lovely work environment.

    Cons

    Wonderful people, lovely environment! Great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing about your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and we’re grateful that you’re part of our orange team.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company Overall but We Can Do Better

    May 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, this is a great company. However, a recent change in policy (see below) and lack of communication was disappointing.

    Cons

    They recently changed their remote worker policy and have decided to group work from home/flexible work arrangements with remote. They are not the same. Those of us that were hired as remote employees were hired under that work agreement because we do not have the ability/choice to commute into an office. We also were provided with a stipend as part of our compensation to offset expenses that other employees do not incur because they report to an office (ie. office supplies and etc.). They announced without any previous communication with remote employees that this will be taken away at the end of this year even though it was discussed in salary/benefit discussions when an offer of employment was made. The communication before the announcement was not existent and very poorly handled. I thought we were better than that. This was very disappointing and not representative of the kind of company that Avalara has been and says it wants to continue to be. It was very disappointing.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about the remote work stipend and we're cross sharing it internally. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Used To Be Great, Declining

    May 8, 2022 - Sales in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers are smart, good people My manager has my back Office Perks WFH Option for Remote Employees Good Health Benefits Relevant Product, Good Niche

    Cons

    * Very long ramp up period learning all the acronyms and how to navigate cross-functional teams for help. Salaries under par for current, tenured employees. New hires enter at much higher salaries causing long-time, loyal employees to feel disgruntled. *Heavy churn across all departments currently due to below-market salaries and slow adoption of improvements other tech companies offer such as fully remote positions and 4-day work weeks. Company response is to point to "culture" upgrades such as Employee Resource Groups (based* on military service, race and sexual orientation), an extra personal day off, and expanded maternity/paternity leave (not a benefit for those of us no longer having children). Company has not increased paid holidays as other tech companies have to include MLK day. Based on many complaints, Company improved stock vesting schedule. However instead of improving salaries, company pays raises in RSU's, which are taxed twice and not worth it considering stock price has crashed.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about salary and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Company - but they could be great and choose not to be

    Mar 28, 2022 - Tax Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, collaborative efforts cross-team, many self-driven and engaged employees, many interesting projects to lead. Good benefits, and flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    Biggest con: This company loves to brag about how great our numbers are while not backing it up with pay. Company meeting was all about "record breaking years" and "first time made a profit" yet raises couldnt even match inflation. They bring new hires in at a higher pay than tenured employees, and then refused to bring talent that has been loyal to the company up to the new market rate.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about pay and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good culture . under market pay . good benefits . hard to move up

    Mar 9, 2022 - Tax Analyst in Denver, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved working at Avalara with the Denver office team. My manager and colleagues were amazing! Good benefits . lovely culture . flexible depending on who your manager is. Good PTO (just make sure not to take it during the filing cycle). Loved the diversity and team events. The Denver is so awesome and it made it hard to leave.

    Cons

    Some managers have micro management perspective. Hard to move up. Only if you know some higher management, you could move up The pay is not great and they are not willing to adjust to meet inflation and other circumstances. Not willing to match external offers. They keep bragging about numbers they're achieving but not willing to pay more. They're hiring new people with same position but paying new hires more instead of their current employees who already have the needed experience.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We strive to offer competitive compensation packages and are sorry to hear you feel we missed the mark. If you’d like to share more information so that we can improve for the future, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Worst company to work for

    Jun 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No Pros ... check their reviews on customer service for products.

    Cons

    The managers are not good to work with. All the SVP,VP and Directors are new to Avalara and they don't have any training in how to conduct an interview. They behave as if they are doing a favor in conducting your interview. Senior people don't waste your time and energy on their stupid length unorganized interview process. The managers forget what they ask in interview and again conduct an interview.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to write. We want all Avalarians and prospective Avalarians to feel supported and valued, and we are sorry to hear you feel we missed the mark. We’d like to learn more about your experience if you’re open to sharing. Please contact avalisten@avalara.com to continue the conversation with us.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing People - Terrible Execs

    Jun 29, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone at or below the Director level is amazing

    Cons

    Benefits Salaries Top-down decision making

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Culture, culture, culture

    May 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is top notch

    Cons

    Bring remote. In Houston, we no longer have an office so I get jealous of the office get togethers that the offices do have.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about office activities, especially from the perspective of remote employees, and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  9. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Doesn't value their employees (unless you're on the sales team)

    Jan 18, 2022 - Senior Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Recently improved some employee benefits (brought them up to industry standard). -Great business potential in the industry, and a great product too. -They seem serious about improving diversity & inclusion, which is awesome. That isn't going to work long term though if they don't address the issue of politics in business decisions.

    Cons

    -It's all about politics here. There are several people in senior leadership that make decisions based on what they want instead of basing it on data and what's best for the company. -The company hands out expensive gifts to clients, board members, and senior leaders, while having the most basic benefit and compensation packages. The money goes to what they care about (so not employees). The only exception to this is the sales team because they are seen as the ones who bring in business. -Just announced they are having everyone come back to the office in the first half of 2022 while covid numbers are at an all-time high. Again, they make decisions based on what they want, not based on data. Leadership seems tired of the pandemic. -Basic compensation & benefits packages. They pinch pennies when it comes to low and mid level positions. -CEO is out of touch with employees and kind of rude.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful