KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Avalara

Engaged Employer

Avalara

Add a Review

Avalara Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 727 of over 813 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
Scott McFarlane
490 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avalara and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Avalara Really Takes Care of its Employees

    Jul 20, 2022 - Senior Application Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits - parental leave, equity bonuses, healthcare, FSA. Decent salary. Professional and personable, committed to diversity, respectful of people's time and effort.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, sometimes demanding, poor recognition, no COLA increases in base pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about AvaCulture and compensation increases and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jul 17, 2022 - Implementation Consultant in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Responsive to feedback from employees

    Cons

    Nothing stands out right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture. We appreciate your feedback!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome Place To Work!

    Jul 13, 2022 - Software Development Engineer In Test (SDET) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No office politics Talented Employees Great benefits Interesting work Hard work is recognized and rewarded

    Cons

    The liberal agenda is pushed pretty hard from the top

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We want all Avalarians to feel supported and valued, regardless of their political opinions. If you have additional feedback, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    -

    Jul 7, 2022 - Senior Accountant in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and pay Fun place to work

    Cons

    -nothing really to complain about

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful Company

    Jun 15, 2022 - Customer Success Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic people, lovely work environment.

    Cons

    Wonderful people, lovely environment! Great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing about your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and we’re grateful that you’re part of our orange team.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work and develop

    Jun 7, 2022 - Customer Development Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    great career development great co workers great work life balance

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing about your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and we’re grateful that you’re part of our orange team.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Culture, culture, culture

    May 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is top notch

    Cons

    Bring remote. In Houston, we no longer have an office so I get jealous of the office get togethers that the offices do have.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about office activities, especially from the perspective of remote employees, and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company!

    May 11, 2022 - Social Media Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work. The team was one of the best I've worked with.

    Cons

    They require you to work in the office and are not open to remote work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture, we appreciate your feedback! You may be happy to hear that most of our formerly in-office employees have transitioned to hybrid employees.

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Great place to work

    May 9, 2022 - Senior Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture, Leadership value,s and employee care

    Cons

    None No concerns Great place to work - good carrier growth

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Thanks for sharing your experience at Avalara, we appreciate it!

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year