Cover image for Avalara
Logo
See All Photos

Avalara

Engaged Employer

Avalara

Add a Review

Avalara Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 809 of over 875 reviews
4.1
82% Recommend to a Friend
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
89% Approve of CEO

Found 783 of over 875 reviews

4.1
82%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
Scott McFarlane
519 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

500

70 Comments

Tech

469.9K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Avalara~116638
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avalara and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year
    Featured Review

    Great company to work for!

    Sep 13, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Inclusive, Kind, Involved, Expanding, Growth

    Cons

    -There aren't many cons, you make it what it is!

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your perspective on AvaCulture!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    .

    Dec 6, 2022 - Sales Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They have great leadership and culture

    Cons

    There are no cons here at all

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Avalara team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Avalarians

    Dec 5, 2022 - Account Development Representative in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Culture, diversity, work balance, locations

    Cons

    Pay range, flexibility, management, tools sets

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    What is work life balance

    Nov 30, 2022 - Administrative in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people work here, you’ll build lasting connections.

    Cons

    Toxic leaders continue to be in charge.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your experience. Avalara is committed to having leaders who support and develop the people on their teams. If you’re open to sharing more so that we can learn and improve, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great work environment

    Nov 17, 2022 - Program Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and amazing co workers.

    Cons

    Would love some more co workers!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing about your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and we’re grateful that you’re part of our orange team.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company culture

    Nov 11, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Power of one culture, great leaders, lots of opportunities to move up within the company

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture. We appreciate your feedback!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great flexibility and fair pay

    Nov 10, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    interesting work, flexible hours, good pay

    Cons

    Probably could get paid more elsewhere

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing your experience at Avalara, we appreciate it!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    good

    Nov 23, 2022 - Compliance Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    not available-varies per department. technology company

    Cons

    non available- varies per department

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your perspective on Avalara.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good before Merget

    Nov 17, 2022 - Account Development Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very inclusive company, and try to give attention to every employee.

    Cons

    Management is iffy in quite a few places.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and bring it to our attention. Avalara is committed to having managers who support, engage, and develop the Avalarians on their teams. We’d like to learn more about what you’ve observed so that we can continue to improve, please contact avalisten@avalara.com to follow up.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Nov 1, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people Solid growth opportunity Product that solves a problem

    Cons

    A little bit of a lack of focus

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing your experience at Avalara, we appreciate it!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 783 Reviews
</>Embed

Avalara Reviews FAQs

Avalara has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 875 reviews left anonymously by employees. 82% of employees would recommend working at Avalara to a friend and 78% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Avalara employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Avalara. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

82% of Avalara employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Avalara 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 3.9 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Avalara to be career development, benefits, culture and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Avalara Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Avalara? Share Your Experiences

Avalara logo
or

Avalara Careers

Cover image for Avalara

Avalara is the technology company that everyone’s used but nobody’s heard of. We’re at your gas pump, in your browser, and at...More

  • Careers
  • Engineering
  • Avalara Global
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Avalara

6 days ago

Culture
“AfroTech2022 was a great opportunity for me to connect with some amazing Avalarians in person, have some thoughtful conversations about diversity, inclusion, and belonging, show off Avalara’s unique culture that is different by design, recruit engineers, and attend some great technology and business sessions. This was my fifth year attending AfroTech, and the experience just gets better each year. I am very proud of our team who attended this year. We had great fun together. I am very proud to be part of Avalara.” - Danny Fields, Avalara EVP of Engineering and Chief Technology Officer
Shared image
Logo

Avalara

66 days ago

Culture
Another Grace Hopper Celebration is in the books. We're feeling grateful and inspired. Here's what one of our Avalarians had to say about their experience: "As a first-time GHC attendee, I felt inspired by the energy of the speakers and their efforts to address a variety of topics that impact women from around the world." - Angelica W.
Shared image
See all

Avalara Photos

+ Add Photo
Avalara photo of: Avalara executives and event emcee at Connect 2022.
Avalara photo of: Our Hispanic/Latinx of Avalara (HOLA) Employee Resource Group (ERG) led Avalara in celebrating National Hispanic Heritage Month.
Avalara photo of: Avalara's Workplace Experiences team brings the fun with weekly themes like Watermelon Week.
Avalara photo of: Representatives of Avalara attend Grace Hopper Celebration 2023 onsite in Orlando, Florida.
Avalara photo of: Avalarians celebrate PRIDE at an event organized by the PRISM employee resource group
Avalara photo of: Employees enjoy a hot dog BBQ sponsored by Veterans of Avalara
Avalara photo of: Grace Hopper Celebration attendees in Orlando, Florida
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Avalara Job Seekers Also Viewed

Amazon Logo
Amazon

3.9

151,423 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 875 Avalara reviews submitted anonymously by Avalara employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Avalara is right for you.