KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Avalara

Engaged Employer

Avalara

Add a Review

Avalara Employee Reviews about "avalara"

Updated Dec 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 795 reviews

3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
Scott McFarlane
509 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avalara and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "avalara"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Talented women need not apply

    Jul 14, 2020 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Co-workers are great and helpful. Work life balance is better than most companies of this size.

    Cons

    Upper management is a boys club. There are few women in leadership roles, and those that have ambition get weeded out. There are no clear roads for advancement or transparency in giving promotions. Work gets presented with no credit to the author. I would consider Avalara as a somewhat hostile environment for women middle managers and senior managers. The very people responsible for achievement and career growth dont get proper feedback from their teams for fear of losing the chance at valuable reccomendations, or promotions. I have witnessed many talented women get pushed out, oftentimes with no communication to the team. There is very little advocating for women to advance.

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Decent company, terrible team

    Jun 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company is positioned in a very unique market niche. Some teams still embody the Avalara values of prioritizing the wellbeing of employees and servant-based leadership. The engineering PMO's program managers (for the most part) are helpful, friendly, and committed to a shared vision of success.

    Cons

    The engineering PMO I was on hired senior/upper management from an external company. They did not have an understanding of Avalara culture & values and introduced nepotism and power-based dynamics. They approached leadership from a top-down perspective (high power / low trust) which quickly turned sour. The body count can attest to this - all existing managers have org-hopped and the rate of churn for program managers in the PMO is high (over 1/2 the team has departed over the last year). When complaints about senior management were brought to executive leadership, all concerns were received with a deaf ear.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Grateful and Proud to Work at Avalara

    May 7, 2020 - Senior Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Avalara cares about me and my family. Especially during the covid epidemic, Avalara has stepped up to offer financial assistance, rolled out virtual education programs for my child, invested in online learning programs for me, and has brought in mental health coaches to help employees in this new experience. Additionally, I am proud that the solution's Avalara provides relieves the compliance burdens business owners have - I feel we are directly giving our clients time back in their lives to do the things that most important to them. One more thing - Avalara is investing in diversity and engagement and has implemented a series of great programs including employee resource groups.

    Cons

    There is a steep learning curve for new employees. Avalara offers a wide set of compliance tools and compliance is often confusing to begin with. With the rapid growth, there are definitely knowledge silos, incomplete documentation of how internal systems operate, and inadvertent lacking cross department coordination.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Get hungry

    Jun 30, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Category-defining company in a new and potentially huge global market. Strong core products with a stable base of loyal, satisfied customers. Genuine effort to create happy, fun workplace. Smart CEO, patient investors with deep pockets.

    Cons

    Start-up business & culture now struggling with stale thinking, weak management, departmental inertia and growing employee ennui. Avalara values loyalty over performance and top performers must find their own motivation to excel. Executive and senior management largely disconnected from their front-line employees. Difficult to effect change, especially across departments. Smart, focused competitors finding traction in Avalara's markets.

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Terrible Place To Work

    Oct 3, 2019 - Customer Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not enough to make up for a horrible place to work

    Cons

    Managers lie to your face and are unsupportive. It is a male dominated sales environment and a click atmosphere. Impossible to do this job well in under 60 hours a week. Highly stressful job because many support teams are understaffed and customers constantly complain that Avalara takes their money but doesn’t get back to them to answer their questions about a compliance question or support ticket. Many customers tell me that if they could they would leave Avalara right now. There is little I can do to make the situation better or improve the customer experience because executives refuse to listen and make positive changes to improve the customer experience. This role requires customer satisfaction, customer retention and growth in existing accounts. The customers are NOT satisfied and they are angry all the time. Since the Wayfair decision, most CAMS have doubled their accounts. There are too many accounts to manage well and the employees who are happy just don’t care if the customers are cared for at all. The employees who do care, stay up at night thinking about that customer who has a lien against their business because Avalara did not file their sales tax returns on time. Promotion is granted if you brown nose your management team. I haven’t had a raise in many years. Avalara would rather Churn and burn through Customer Account Managers than seeking to meet the needs of their employees.

    Continue reading
    24 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company Overall but We Can Do Better

    May 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall, this is a great company. However, a recent change in policy (see below) and lack of communication was disappointing.

    Cons

    They recently changed their remote worker policy and have decided to group work from home/flexible work arrangements with remote. They are not the same. Those of us that were hired as remote employees were hired under that work agreement because we do not have the ability/choice to commute into an office. We also were provided with a stipend as part of our compensation to offset expenses that other employees do not incur because they report to an office (ie. office supplies and etc.). They announced without any previous communication with remote employees that this will be taken away at the end of this year even though it was discussed in salary/benefit discussions when an offer of employment was made. The communication before the announcement was not existent and very poorly handled. I thought we were better than that. This was very disappointing and not representative of the kind of company that Avalara has been and says it wants to continue to be. It was very disappointing.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about the remote work stipend and we're cross sharing it internally. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Avalara Customer Account Manager Position

    Jul 19, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Avalara as a company does work hard to ensure employees maintain a healthy work/life balance. Lots of fun company events. A majority of the people at Avalara are very good people and have a 'team first' mentality. The pay, at least at the time was pretty good as well.

    Cons

    I can't speak for other departments, but Account Managers are looked at as nothing more than a dollar sign. The ONLY thing that matters is how much revenue you are generating for the company. There is zero attention paid to personal and professional development of the employees. The company also has lots of work to do on streamlining many of the processes. It was very difficult, especially as a new Account Manager to figure out who to go to in other departments to help solve customer issues. This issue caused many customer complaints and delays in accomplishing sometimes the most simplest of tasks. There never seemed to be much concern about keeping customers happy, but rather how many dollars could be sucked out of them.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good company to work with

    Sep 30, 2020 - Technical Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Avalara Products are stable and user friendly.

    Cons

    1. Unhealthy working environment. 2. No streamline process defined 3. Poor management skill 4. After joining I feel like working in a call center. 5. No technical work as promised/explained in the interview. 6. Zero work-life balance.

    1 person found this review helpful