KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Avalara

Engaged Employer

Avalara

Add a Review

Avalara Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Aug 10, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 751 of over 814 reviews
4.0
75% Recommend to a Friend
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
86% Approve of CEO

Found 197 of over 814 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Avalara CEO Scott McFarlane
Scott McFarlane
491 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

434

62 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and teams(in 71 reviews)
  • "The culture is great(in 39 reviews)
  • "Benefits are good and fairly extensive.(in 38 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance and ease of work(in 25 reviews)
  • "Great team, growing fast and with an eye to maintaining a high bar for talent.(in 20 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avalara and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Avalara Really Takes Care of its Employees

    Jul 20, 2022 - Senior Application Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits - parental leave, equity bonuses, healthcare, FSA. Decent salary. Professional and personable, committed to diversity, respectful of people's time and effort.

    Cons

    Too many meetings, sometimes demanding, poor recognition, no COLA increases in base pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback about AvaCulture and compensation increases and will use it to make Avalara the best possible place to work. If you have additional thoughts you’d like to share, please reach out to your HR People Partner or connect with us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Avalara

    Aug 9, 2022 - Professional Services Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Great teamwork. Supportive coworkers.

    Cons

    non that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Support Launch Manager

    Jul 20, 2022 - Support Launch Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a great manager at the time who really fought for his team. I enjoyed working with the product managers and the new product introduction process.

    Cons

    There wasn't a long term vision for a career in this role

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing your experience at Avalara, we appreciate it! If you have any other insight you’d like to share, please contact your HR People Partner or message us at avalisten@avalara.com.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jul 17, 2022 - Implementation Consultant in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Responsive to feedback from employees

    Cons

    Nothing stands out right now

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture. We appreciate your feedback!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome Place To Work!

    Jul 13, 2022 - Software Development Engineer In Test (SDET) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No office politics Talented Employees Great benefits Interesting work Hard work is recognized and rewarded

    Cons

    The liberal agenda is pushed pretty hard from the top

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective. We want all Avalarians to feel supported and valued, regardless of their political opinions. If you have additional feedback, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Don't work for the 'Corporate Experience' Team

    Jul 24, 2022 - Program Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company is high growth so its always evolving, positions getting added all the time. GREAT people, I met the best people on other teams from my own networking. Decent pay, good/average daily culture depending on your team.

    Cons

    The CE team have the most toxic mangers I've ever experienced. Felt like I was back in the sorority in college. They DO NOT care about you. Both are fake, spread rumors about you and will throw you under the bus in a moments notice. They ONLY want 'yes' people, so your actual opinion better match theirs. Don't have a personal life during the week, as it will intrude in the unnecessary last minute requests that come to you. It takes weeks and months to get basic things done, as the Director doesn't respond to email unless it's important to her. They will take the credit of your work when done well, or talk down to you and belittle you if not done perfectly. I was honestly told "we do not have room for mistakes on this team" when I asked about authenticity and psychological safety during meetings... They like to give out tasks one at a time, so a 'project management' background is an absolute joke. Hierarchy is very important to them, they MUST feel bigger, better and smarter than you. Be very careful in considering a role on this team!!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and bring it to our attention. Avalara is committed to having people managers who support, engage, and develop the Avalarians on their teams, so your feedback is concerning. We’d like to learn more about what you’ve observed so that we can continue to improve, please contact avalisten@avalara.com to follow up.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    -

    Jul 7, 2022 - Senior Accountant in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and pay Fun place to work

    Cons

    -nothing really to complain about

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thanks for sharing about what it’s like to be a part of AvaCulture.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company questionable leadership

    Jul 6, 2022 - Indirect Tax Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Kind co workers, remote, awesome company goals

    Cons

    They are always buying software with plans to integrate them all which never actually happens. Leadership is out of touch with individual contributors.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your experience. We appreciate hearing your perspective. If you’re open to sharing more so that we can learn and improve, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing People - Terrible Execs

    Jun 29, 2022 - Product Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone at or below the Director level is amazing

    Cons

    Benefits Salaries Top-down decision making

    1 person found this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback about your experience. If you’re open to sharing more so that we can learn and improve, please contact avalisten@avalara.com.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Wonderful Company

    Jun 15, 2022 - Customer Success Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic people, lovely work environment.

    Cons

    Wonderful people, lovely environment! Great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Avalara Response

    Sr. Manager, Community Strategy

    Thank you for sharing about your experience working at Avalara. We appreciate your feedback and we’re grateful that you’re part of our orange team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 197 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Avalara Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Avalara? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Avalara

43 days ago

Culture
#Pride is for all Avalarians. This Pride, Avalarians across the globe celebrated and reflected what it means to be "unapologetically us". Avalara employees showcased this year’s Pride theme of being true to ourselves and showing up authentically with events all month long. PRISM, LGBTQ+ of Avalara, welcomed Aleksa Manila for Drag Storytime, partnered with the Ujima ERG to discuss Imposter Syndrome, and hosted sessions to teach about queer representation, coming out at work, intersectionality, and more. #AvaCulture
Shared image
See all

Avalara Photos

+ Add Photo
Avalara photo of: Avalara executives and event emcee at Connect 2022.
Avalara photo of: Avalarians celebrate PRIDE at an event organized by the PRISM employee resource group
Avalara photo of: Employees enjoy a hot dog BBQ sponsored by Veterans of Avalara
Avalara photo of: Grace Hopper Celebration attendees in Orlando, Florida
Avalara photo of: AfroTech World attendees pause for a photo at the Avalara booth
Avalara photo of: Customer Success team works on cases during the Bug Bash
Avalara photo of: Teams meet on the steps in our Durham office.
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 814 Avalara reviews submitted anonymously by Avalara employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Avalara is right for you.