Avalere Health "senior level" Reviews | Glassdoor

Avalere Health Employee Reviews about "senior level"

Updated Feb 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Avalere Health CEO Matt Brow (no image)
Matt Brow
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "working in DC, right off Dupont Circle is great;(in 6 reviews)

  • "Smart people, great working environment and career path(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "senior leadership transparency; average salary; constant change(in 11 reviews)

  • "Senior level management takes great strides to remind you of that on a daily basis(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior level"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Excellent first job for anyone interested in healthcare and healthcare policy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Avalere Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I thought I learned a lot in college. I was oh so very wrong. The one year I spent working at Avalere felt like getting paid to earn a master's degree in public health and public policy. I came to Avalere very open with the company about the fact that I would only be joining for one year, at which point I'd be returning to school. Despite how temporary my time was there, I felt that my direct supervisors invested... their time and energy in me as if my Avalere tenure would last for years to come. I was astounded by the truly phenomenal mentorship I received from all levels of brilliant staff, the types of meaningful and intellectually stimulating projects I was fortunate enough to work on, and the roles I was able to take on at such a junior level. What's really remarkable about Avalere is the diversity of experience among its staff- attracting academics, former government workers (CMS, OMB, etc), and business professionals of all types. If your eyes and ears are open, you can learn a ton just by observing and interacting with your colleagues. For anyone interested in healthcare policy, healthcare in general, or consulting, I cannot think of a better place to go than Avalere.

    Show More

    Cons

    Though I genuinely loved my time at Avalere, it's clear that there's significant variation in experiences of employees at the Associate/Sr. Associate level. I was in a new small group, and was lucky to have FANTASTIC supervisors, which in no small part defined my experiences and roles taken in different projects. Other practices are much larger which can lead to a very different dynamic, and though I cannot speak... for the experiences of Associates in those practices, I cannot definitively say that my own experiences are generalizable to what life is like for every new Associate. Avalere definitely has a turnover issue, which I think senior leadership is beginning to take seriously. That said, there's good turnover (employees going to extraordinary new opportunities that without Avalere most likely would not be possible) and bad turnover from great employees dissatisfied with opportunities for upward mobility within the company and other legitimate concerns. Much like at any company, turnover at Avalere is a mix of the two. Additionally, turnover at Avalere is at least in part a reflection of the city it's in, which is of course a revolving door. I will say that whenever I hear what someone is going to do after leaving Avalere, I'm always extraordinarily impressed. Avalere can also improve upon its professional development framework (Excel & PPT trainings for staff, opportunities for junior and senior level staffers to make content relevant presentations to peers to build soft skills, etc). I have a sense that senior leadership is quickly becoming acutely aware of the main weaknesses/rooms for improvement, and the recent hiring of a new senior leader and recent corporate restructuring are great steps forward.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I mentioned before, turnover is a serious issue at Avalere. I think senior leadership should revisit turnover at the junior and middle-manager level, consider who is leaving and why they're leaving, solicit feedback, and develop a retention strategy. Though much turnover is inevitable, you don't want to unnecessarily lose a lot of the high quality talent that comes through Avalere's doors. Avalere's in a... transition stage from small to mid/large size firm, so kinks are to be expected. Embrace the fact that you have kinks, and address them head-on.

    Show More
    Avalere Health2015-06-30
  2. Helpful (9)

    "The “Avalere Way” is a Dangerous Game"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avalere Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Avalere does a fair job of hiring incredibly intelligent, well-rounded, and insightful professionals.

    Cons

    1. Most of upper management (depending on your practice) are remote. That makes it very difficult to form relationships, obtain feedback, and get an honest review of your work. 2. Avalere is a bit cultish when it comes to their client deliverables. As project staff, you are essentially handed a coloring book and told to stay in the lines. 3. Creativity, out-of-the-box thinking, and ingenuity are not welcome if you... are below the level of director. Avalere is very hierarchical. As an associate or someone at a mid-management level, your opionions are not welcomed. Senior level management takes great strides to remind you of that on a daily basis. 4. The management style is lacking. There is not nor has there ever been formal management training. Managers are handed direct reports and a list of tasks and told to go for it. This can be very disruptive for those who are new, are in need to training, and who come from backgrounds where they are used to a very formalized management style. 5. The HR department seems to be more concerned about graphics and powerpoints than responding to serious complaints about harassment. In my tenure in this company, I have witnessed associates being screamed at, mid-level managers being told that they are “incompetent” and “stupid”, senior managers rolling their eyes at their team managers in practice meetings, and senior managers walking down halls pointing out who are their favorite colleagues and who are not. If you do not have a thick skin, you won’t survive here. If I had a dollar for every time I caught of my colleagues I crying due to some inappropriate comment that was said to them or yelled to them, I would be earning closer to what my market value is.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Read these reviews.

    Avalere Health2019-02-25
  3. Helpful (33)

    "Troubling trends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager/Senior Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avalere Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm is conveniently located in DuPont Circle with easy access to the metro and plenty of food options. Given the smaller size, the responsibilities placed on managers are broad and you have the opportunity to work across different therapeutic areas. The people are great and it seems as though friendships are easily formed and last beyond your time at the firm. The travel requirements are also reasonable for... consulting.

    Show More

    Cons

    Leadership at the senior level is severely lacking as the firm struggles to define its identity. As a result, morale is very low across the entire firm. You need only look at the number of recent departures of senior leadership: multiple practice leads (Senior Vice Presidents), multiple sector leads (Executive Vice Presidents), and even the COO and CFO. Critiques about the opaque promotion process are commonplace... but management fails to rectify the situation, leading to continuing and growing frustration. Projects can be repetitive and the firm likes to recycle work instead of bringing a fresh perspective to each client engagement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Instead of trying to inflate your ratings with coordinated Glassdoor reviews (see the three glowing June 26 reviews), take a close look at why people are leaving and listen to your employees. Create a plan to address these issues and commit to fixing them. This is the only way to build credibility and improve morale. Otherwise, the situation will continue to deteriorate and it will become harder to recruit new... talent.

    Show More
    Avalere Health2015-06-28
  4. Helpful (20)

    "Avalere has a strong external brand but excessive internal dysfunction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avalere Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very smart, committed staff are present, though they are not necessarily the majority; good brand recognition in the market; well-liked by many/most clients who don't experience the organization's internal dysfunction.

    Cons

    high turnover at the senior leadership levels makes for a chaotic work environment; advancement criteria are nebulous at best, nonexistent or subject to manager whims at worst. senior level/c suite recognizes that "employee morale" is an issue, but they are completely out of touch and misaligned on how to address that issue. many teams are also resource-constrained which can lead to unclear role division and... excessive workloads

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Avalere likes to hire smart, dedicated people, and sometimes it's very good at doing so; that said, they set many of those people up to fail, whether it's through inadequate or inappropriate resource-allocation, inept managers, unclear advancement paths, etc. I would suggest having very honest conversations with the valued employees (many of us are leaving/have left, including myself) to re-engage and re-align the... organization's efforts to address fundamental issues like turnover and low morale.

    Show More
    Avalere Health2015-05-20
  5. Helpful (24)

    "Too Much Drama Creates Unproductive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avalere Health

    Pros

    - Exceptionally smart employees, particularly at the junior staff level - Great location (Dupont Circle) - Free snacks and sodas; lots of Avalere swag - Fun spring semi-formal and fall family picnic

    Cons

    Avalere can be difficult to navigate as a new employee, particularly at a mid or senior level. Despite Avalere's intense and seemingly never-ending efforts to recruit new senior level talent, there is little to no effort to integrate mid and senior level hires. The firm culture is driven by a core group of senior-level staff who have been with Avalere a long time-- most promoted up from junior staff levels over the... years. This group guards their power by being extremely territorial about clients and SME areas and by controlling all promotions within the firm. Unfortunately, backstabbing and petty gossip is rampant at all levels of the company. New ideas and approaches are often mocked (or viewed as a threat) rather than valued and invested in. It is rare for a senior level hire to stay at Avalere for more than three years-- most grow weary of the unprofessional behavior of their colleagues and decide the drama just isn't worth it when they have other employers banging on their door. This leads to a constantly revolving door at the senior manager level and above. At the junior staff level, the work environment is extremely intense. Mistakes are not tolerated, despite a lack of meaningful training opportunities or mentoring. The hourly demands on associates, senior associates, and managers are on par with investment banking or traditional management consulting but the salary and bonus levels are lower. Promotions are largely based on favoritism and unless your direct supervisor is "in" with the right senior-level management, there isn't much they can do to help you navigate the system. Many associates are able to successfully leverage the Avalere experience to get into a top graduate school, but those who do not tend to get "stuck" and can be pretty miserable.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Until Avalere deals with its dysfunctional culture, I'm skeptical of the firm's ability to deliver on any of its strategic initiatives.

    Avalere Health2015-03-11
  6. Helpful (15)

    "Not a great place for someone with morals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Avalere Health

    Pros

    Hmmm, sometimes you can find really great and super knowledgeable individuals within and outside your team.

    Cons

    *In reference to my Pro* when you do find the really great and super knowledgeable individuals within your team and others, bank on the fact that they want to get out the door just as bad as you do! Turnover has become oridinary at Avalere. The company has no structure. From HR, to the sectors, and all the way down to the practices (including the admin staff) - structure and talent is null and void. In terms of the... admin team, HR mostly people who lack the experience to support C-level individuals. They slap on the title EA when there are clearly only a harshly small fee who even deserve that title. There is a huge lack of communication from the Senior level on down! The pay and benefits suck! I always felt like there was always something shady going on around the office (in terms of just how good the company was supposedly doing) which made the work. Losing so many senior level people didn't help to deter those feelings and of course he senior level didn't offer much insight into the matter.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire senior level staff who actually recognize talent and not play the game of favoritism. Stop lacklusterly hiring incompetent staff, firing them, and then repeating the cycle (it's bringing down morale by the minute). Communicate more effectively and actually have some type of structure that people can follow and respect. Pay people a salary commensurate of their skill set.

    Avalere Health2015-03-29
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Risky Choice for Senior Level Talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avalere Health full-time

    Pros

    Avalere provides a good training opportunity for junior-level staff looking to broaden skills and knowledge base. Client work is challenging and interesting. Hours are no worse than any other top consulting firm.

    Cons

    Avalere does a decent job at moving talented young people up quickly but has no strategy for leveraging talent once it develops beyond a certain point. And, accepting a job at Avalere is a very risky move for anyone who is coming in at a senior level. The executive leadership is extremely weak, particularly around operations, HR, organizational management, vision and strategy.

    Avalere Health2015-01-01
Found 7 reviews