Avalon Health Care Reviews | Glassdoor

Avalon Health Care Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Avalon Health Care CEO Alan Hash (no image)
Alan Hash
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management continually makes promises and doesn't keep them(in 7 reviews)

  • "(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Continually Improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nurse in Hoquiam, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avalon Health Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Feels like family. Exciting working in a building where you can see positive changes. I value my boss's commitment to making improvements in our building We offer 12 hour shifts, less days worked a week for licensed nurses! Business improving in a positive direction.

    Cons

    will entail commitment and hard work if you want to be on the number 1 team

    Advice to Management

    Continue the upward momentum, raising the bar for expected performance and outcome.

    Avalon Health Care2019-01-30
  2. "Great support, great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN MDS COORDINATOR in Bountiful, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avalon Health Care full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the management team, great corporate support

    Cons

    Can't think of anything that is a con at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on teamwork

    Avalon Health Care2019-11-13
  3. "More about the money than the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avalon Health Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big organization with opportunities in the company

    Cons

    Not personal care more about the profits than the people As far as any therapist I know in the company can tell- the change to the current therapy service provider was all about saving money for Avalon. Plus the owner hit on my wife in front of me at a company party - not ok

    Avalon Health Care2020-01-17
  4. "Only okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Vice President, Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avalon Health Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, good pay, nice people

    Cons

    Poor communication and lack of effort from management

    Avalon Health Care2020-01-13
  5. "Treated me well, but didn't provide needed resources to succeed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator 

    I worked at Avalon Health Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Avalon rarely fires people. There are a lot of good people there.

    Cons

    Avalon rarely fires people. Many corporate employees don't understand what life is like in the facilities. They often fail to provide the resources necessary to succeed.

    Avalon Health Care2020-01-03
  6. "Understaffed is the Norm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avalon Health Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked at the Veterans Home. Residents were mostly great. Some staff were great as well.

    Cons

    Management blames you if a resident attacks you. They are so consistently understaffed that they bring in agency aides to help, but even then it is rare to have a fully staffed shift. Training is severely lacking because understaffing leads to new aides having to “go it alone” all too soon. New aides get chewed out for not knowing things which is never taught to them during training. It took 2 months to get access to EMR system then was told not to chart things like skin changes or behavioral issues. Dietary acts as if they are doing a favor for residence by feeding them and complains about special requests or modifications due to food allergies/intolerances.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to actually train people. Make sure they have full access to everything necessary on Day 1. Stop blaming CNA’s for injuries caused by residents. Stop sitting in your offices on FB or texting on your phones. Actually help out in the “trenches” instead of ignoring the understaffing situation.

    Avalon Health Care2020-01-19
  7. "Constant change in management. Corporate and facility practices are not cohesive."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avalon Health Care for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The care of residents and family

    Cons

    Patient care related to shortage if staff. Negative work environment. Lake of communication and consistency. Company cares about the bottom line. Zero job security. No

    Advice to Management

    Zero care for facility staff. Regional management visit to point only the negative. Intimidate staff instead of consulting and educating. Zero job security

    Avalon Health Care2020-01-17
  8. "Fast Paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dietary Aide in Roseburg, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avalon Health Care full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved interacting with the residents the most. Much of the nursing staff were helpful. Pay was good.

    Cons

    Not enough time to complete the job tasks to the best of my ability. Some of the dietary staff were very unprofessional and down right rude. Very little communication between kitchen manager and dietary staff. Food items weren't adequately stocked.

    Advice to Management

    The residents living in your facility deserve better service.

    Avalon Health Care2019-11-16
  9. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avalon Health Care full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wages are competitive and patient care comes first.

    Cons

    Poor PTO, poor benefits, poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Take what they have to say seriously.

    Avalon Health Care2019-12-06
  10. "Consistently Moving in the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avalon Health Care full-time

    Pros

    The company has made many positive changes in the last few years. Upper management has been replaced and is continually being replaced, by those who have a better vision for the company's future. Toxic employees are being removed from the workplace and more positive upbeat employees are joining our departments. In the past, there wasn't a great culture to brag about, but attrition has allowed the company to re-visit what our desired outcome is, and we are moving forward accordingly.

    Show More

    Cons

    No company is ever going to be perfect, but as long as we are identifying our weaknesses and are willing to adjust to improve, I feel that is a positive.

    Avalon Health Care2019-10-05
Found 125 reviews