AvalonBay Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

AvalonBay Communities Reviews

Updated December 4, 2018
472 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AvalonBay Communities President and CEO Timothy J. Naughton
Timothy J. Naughton
311 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Cares about all team members and promotes a healthy work life balance" (in 42 reviews)

  • "Spirit of caring: The only company I’ve worked for that truly does care" (in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not the best work-life balance, but that's standard in the industry" (in 13 reviews)

  • "Too much micromanaging from upper management" (in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Avalonbay really is the best place to work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Avalonbay is the best job I have ever had. I started as a maintenance technician almost 10 years ago and worked my way up to Maintenance Director. I have had a blast through the good times and worked through the bad . I recently left AvalonBay for a couple months and returned because in a nut shell no other organization is for me and AvalonBay is my home and nothing compares to the fulfillment AvalonBay offers. Again no place will ever be perfect and ups and downs will always be there but Avalonbay is the place to be!
    **They treat employees like family which is rare for a company of this size!
    **Advancement opportunities are great
    **leadership is amazing and overflowing
    ** Culture is second to none
    ** Challanging and rewarding Career
    **Great pay and Benefits
    **With all the internal departments and different locations throughout the USA your career path options are endless
    The list could go on and on just believe me when I say it's an amazing place to work

    Cons

    Not many come to mind but AvalonBay is not perfect in every way but they work through the cons to strive to be better, sometimes the time it takes to get to better could improve but nothing major.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on moving in the right direction and continue to hear to the voice of the associates!

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Sep 6, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the glowing review!


  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Community Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Management and other associates are very kind, helpful and encouraging. The best company I have worked for as far as mutual support, training is extensive and definitely helps you to close prospective clients. Pay is fair, if you hit your sales quota and bonus every month ypu will make decent $$$. Mgt likes to promote noteworthy associates into supervisory positions and middle management.

    Cons

    The company is constantly changing in many aspects, bonus commission structure is pretty good as long as you reach goal. Can't think of anymore cons

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We appreciate when our associates take time to provide us valuable feedback.

  3. "Good part-time gig"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Concierge in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Easy work, flexible schedule, great co-workers

    Cons

    Residents can be difficult, packages are overwhelming during the holiday season

    Advice to Management

    Change timesheet system


  4. "50/50 experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay. Lots of hours to make a lot of money.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to forget about you after a while. One day they recognize you and the next day they call you by the incorrect name. Not willing to promote or make long term commitments when the talent is there. Unfortunate that people that are horrible workers make more money than those who are 10x better.

    Advice to Management

    Commit to knowledge and experience. Build better buildings so the cost less in the long run rather than having to go back to fix things constantly. Fire people for assault rather than relocating them.


  5. "Good Work/Life Balance, but Pay is Moderate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fairly solid work/life balance and general familial feeling to the corporate atmosphere.

    Cons

    Achievement is not always met with proportional compensation or promotions.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for writing a review about your experience at AVB! We love to hear feedback from our associates.


  6. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Monthly and quarterly bonus were inconsistent but at times, were ok.

    Cons

    No training, little support, management always telling you how they would have handled a situation but never there as a resource. Not flexible. Poor communication. Cluesless on how to improve the customer experience-no data crunching or planning, just rah, rah sessions.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your people, build relationships and be more approachable. Be more accountable for results, since the frontline was help responsible. Add a more diverse workforce instead of young white people.


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - General Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great organization with opportunities for advancement

    Cons

    Play with compensation, need more benefits

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to write a review. We review our compensation and benefits regularly to make sure we are offering our associates the best. We hope you are satisfied with the new changes for... More

  8. "CC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Growth opportunities, co-workers, benefits

    Cons

    None really at this time

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for the glowing review!


  9. "Proud to work at AvalonBay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A thoughtful and well-managed organization.

    Cons

    Growth is limited within certain groups.

    Advice to Management

    Have courageous conversations. When asked, let people know when the opportunity for upward mobility is limited or unlikely. AVB is a great company to work for and people may decide to stay anyway. Candidness goes a long way.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for providing this thoughtful insight. We are always looking for ways to improve. This feedback will help us to continue to help associates as they look for ways to grow their career.


  10. "Community Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time

    Pros

    Great company, people, benefits, and opportunity for growth!

    Cons

    Has some seasonal ups and downs

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Nov 8, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.