AvalonBay Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

AvalonBay Communities Reviews

Updated June 19, 2017
87 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AvalonBay Communities President and CEO Timothy J. Naughton
Timothy J. Naughton
47 Ratings

87 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The company promotes work/life balance (in 29 reviews)

  • great benefits, great team nice company (in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • Not the best work-life balance, but that's standard in the industry (in 12 reviews)

  • I have also seen great employees be pushed out of the company by upper management (in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Apply at your own risk"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AvalonBay Communities (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and people

    Cons

    Hourly wages are too low, Quality team will nitpick to find a reason to prevent collections reps from getting commission that was rightly earned.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    May 24, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your work experience at AvalonBay. We are committed to serving our associates and residents with excellence. In order to do this, we ... More


  2. "Exceptionally Great Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture and people at AvalonBay are some of the best I have worked with.
    Continuously improving software/ staying ahead of the curve with the technology at hand.
    Family oriented from working to living environment.
    Promote growth from within.
    Continuously improving to promote a spirit of caring and safety.

    Cons

    Transitioning software from dated Lotus Notes to updated Oracle based product has been challenging but seems to be a much better product and worth the current challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and I'm honored to work for such great people at a wonderful place.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    May 10, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts! It's great to hear how much you're enjoying AVB and that you value the company culture that we're so proud of. Glad to have you on the team.


  3. "There's nothing like the culture at Avalonbay!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Front Desk Supervisor in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Many training and growth opportunities provided for persons who really want it. You feel a part of the team and your contributions are noticed and celebrated.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on going in the direction you are heading. Putting Associates first is the key to the success of every business.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Human Resources

    So great to hear you're enjoying the development opportunities and our team atmosphere. Thanks for your review and for helping to make AVB an awesome place to work!


  4. "Sales and Service Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Supervisor in Stamford, CT
    Current Employee - Sales and Service Supervisor in Stamford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great corporate culture and networking

    Cons

    Pay could be better and more training

    Advice to Management

    Better pay and training

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    May 24, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thanks for your review. Opportunities for learning and professional development are important to all of us at AVB. I suggest discussing with your management team about additional learning resources ... More


  5. "AvalonBay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Community Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Employees are very empowered to make decisions.

    Cons

    Not a lot of communication from upper management.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Apr 27, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thanks for your review and for embracing the opportunity to 'Act Like an Owner'!


  6. "Great company, like a family"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Co-workers, leadership, opportunities, recognition, values

    Cons

    Salaries lower than other companies

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thanks so much for your review. I love hearing from other associates what they value most about working at AVB!


  7. "Maintenance Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager in Washington, DC
    Former Employee - Maintenance Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Corporate truly does have a focus on customer service and full understands the needs of maintenance. Additional costs were met with little more than a need for explanation before approval, they understand that maintenance issues come up and need to be addressed. The frowned on the typical management company's method of putting a bandaid on things...Avalon wanted it fixed and fixed right the first time.

    Cons

    Too many of the "senior" team members were promoted based on years of service instead of looking to their more qualified. I don't want to say it was a good ol boys club but many of the Senior Maintenance managers lacked the skills needed for the new age of computers.

    Advice to Management

    You do great in recognizing your shining stars but I would show that recognition with promotions on merit and not just years of service.


  8. "Variety of Advancement Oppurtunities"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Arlington, VA
    Current Employee - Concierge in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I like how diverse this company is and that they're bi-coastal and different positions are available for career growth.

    Cons

    I dislike that if someone calls out from their shift that's your relief, you have to stay at the desk until coverage is found and that's unfair because I have kids that need to picked up form daycare and I shouldn't have to be late leaving due to someone else's problem.

    AvalonBay Communities Response

    Mar 21, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thanks very much for your review. I really appreciate the diversity and emphasis on growth and development fostered at AVB as well. I also admire the unyielding commitment we show our customers and ... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good benefits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AvalonBay Communities full-time

    Pros

    Vac sick and flex days. And you also get one floating holiday

    Cons

    Your experience with the company will depend on your manager


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Maintenance Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AvalonBay Communities full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    One of the best companies to work for in the industry. Pay is Average, benefits are good, but company culture is what makes it worth it. Having managers that support you even when your needing to grow in areas is priceless.

    Cons

    The industry itself is paying to much attention to Google and Yelp reviews. It is not really considering the unique attributes of individual locations and communities that make them great or not so great. Being bonused on service related scores when price is the number one cause of low service scores is not really fair.

    Advice to Management

    Have a better bonus structure for maintenance associates and for management. This is by far the worst company I have been at in that area


Showing 87 of 324 reviews
Reset Filters