Cover image for AvantStay
Logo

AvantStay

Engaged Employer

AvantStay

Add a Review

AvantStay Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 151 of over 174 reviews
4.0
75% Recommend to a Friend
AvantStay Founder and CEO Sean Breuner
83% Approve of CEO

Found 153 of over 174 reviews

4.0
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
AvantStay Founder and CEO Sean Breuner
Sean Breuner
107 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "No work life balance.(in 5 reviews)
  • "My manager never once contacted me other than to berate me and when I would look for assistance he never once wanted to help with situations.(in 4 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AvantStay and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    breath of fresh air

    Sep 27, 2022 - Assistant Area Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I joined a few months ago from other rental/travel company and the difference in culture is honestly night and day. My last company treated employees okay but it was soo old school. Pay wasn't great, no one had a sense of urgency, it was impossible to get a raise, and there was a lot of nepotism. I honestly got really jaded on property management and thought I'd try a new industry when Avantstay reached out. Finally people who CARE about guests and actually doing a good job. It can get chaotic at times like hospitality jobs often do but for once I feel like I'm working with people who can keep up with me and actually work as a team. It feels good to be proud of the work we put out and to constantly get shout outs and recognition from the rest of the business

    Cons

    Not much so far. Some times it feels like a lot of people chime in on 1 project/issue, but I know they're just trying to be helpful, I just need to get used to the fact that people actually look out for one another here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Downward Spiral

    Sep 14, 2022 - Project Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great coworkers and time off policy

    Cons

    Terrible leadership Directors and above. The company continues to lay people off with no acknowledgment. Nobody knows who's next and lives in fear for their jobs to the point where I've heard coworkers expressing their fear of going on calls with their managers in case they're next (on the chopping block). Meanwhile on all-hands calls the executive team continues to chant their delusions of how great they are, and how well the company is doing without knowing that most people now get on those calls without cameras on in comparison to when I started 2.5 years ago. Honestly if anyone is reading this that wants to a job here, run and don't look back. Employees are tired, unmotivated and so many people are resigning in addition to the layoffs. It's kinda nuts to think about how much has changed for the worse. When I started, for a good year I couldn't stop talking about AvantStay and how much I loved working here. Now I cringe when people ask about my job that I used to brag about because I absolutely do not feel that way anymore. Shouldn't I be telling HR about this? In a perfect world yeah, but you have all the answers you need when your HRBPs and HR employees are resigning. Even if I did tell them the Directors and VPs would probably laugh it off and not take the concerns seriously. It's always something, some excuse that their employee's opinions aren't valid.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Run, don't walk, away from this company!

    Sep 22, 2022 - Hospitality Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What this company gets credit for doing well is the hard work of all the people on the front line maintaining these houses that none of us could dream of affording to stay in, even with the employee discounts.

    Cons

    Do not work at this company. In a meeting on 9/17, you told us that the layoffs were unrelated to performance, in violation of our written employment terms. You HAD NO BUSINESS LYING TO YOUR EMPLOYEES. It's an extraordinarily bad idea that undermines your standing with your remaining employees. I've been working here for almost a year, and I can't imagine anyone staying more than a year. Most people last about six months. In that time, you will see numerous rounds of layoffs of your peers by management, and will have to participate yourself. After all this, you will be looking for somewhere else to work. Just this month their C-suite get around to adding their first person of color. Suffice it to say that women and persons of color were the disproportionate majority of layoffs. And all the super sugary reviews you see on here? Management posting fake reviews. It's scary.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    high highs and low lows

    Sep 29, 2022 - Product Manager II in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very well organized company, although going through reorgs as often as it needs to, perhaps in line with it's scaling and ambitious growth.

    Cons

    the way they lay people off leaves a bitter taste. After I've built relationship, disappearing from all the systems immediately after the conversation with HR, leaves an uncertainty for all those people. It makes it look like I've done something terribly wrong, and only the most courageous/ closest ones would reach out to ask "what happened".

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Almost good

    Aug 30, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool product, largely empowered to build something if you are in charge of a key area. Some decent travel benefits, although hard to actually redeem.

    Cons

    Management asleep at the wheel. Executive team is cliquey, out of touch with what teams are actually doing, and do not respond to feedback. During my tenure, there were some seriously toxic leaders in place - a lot of direct feedback was given but no action was taken. Serious lack of process, systems, tools and people management required for any company to succeed. Several outright legally questionable / shady practices happening here as well in regards to compensation, hiring and performance management. Agree with other reviewers that this company's would be best served by finding more experienced leaders to guide this company forward. I would urge any potential candidate to get feedback from current employees about the real deal culture before joining.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    AvantStay Response

    Really appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback on your experience at the company. Though your review doesn't note when you left Avantstay, change management has been a huge internal focus for us over the past couple quarters, which special focus on streamlining our processes and ensuring we have the right folks in the right positions (which includes everyone from the top down), We're proud of the huge strides we've made in the past several months and aren't shying away from working hard to continue to improve our operations. Anyone who's been a part of our team knows we're a roll up your sleeves culture, and we hope you'll continue to watch the space and witness the improvements and growth to come. Thank you so much for investing three years of your skills and hard work into the company--your current employer is lucky to have you!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Growth Company

    Sep 19, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Clear vision; good benefits and w/l balance for a startup environment; remote work for office workers is a plus! Very collaborative environment, and I genuinely enjoy all of the people I work with.

    Cons

    Growing pains of a high growth startup mindset; systems still being built out.

    3 people found this review helpful

    AvantStay Response

    So glad to hear you're enjoying your time at Avantstay! Our incredible employees are definitely one of the best perks of working here, we're thrilled to know our high-bar for talent makes "coming into work" a positive experience for you. Appreciate you and all you do

  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    read the reviews

    Oct 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    travel credits. friends and family discount

    Cons

    read the reviews. they are not lying. do your research before joining AvantStay. Seriously. they are not lying. this is not a great place to work. From lack of communication from my manager, to this weird blame (everyone out for themselves) culture, and leadership really being out of touch, this is not a great environment if you value your mental health. some core people left and it is really impacting the teams.

    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Toxic Culture

    Sep 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay for those that joined at the right time

    Cons

    AvantStay is toxic. Worked here for less then a year and it still managed to impact my mental health. Terrible leadership and culture starts at the top with an egotistical CEO who is disconnected from the business but still manages to rein terror on his teams. You get punished for speaking up or trying to do good work. Rewards are only for those that suck up to him and placate his ego. I didn't have many interactions with the Co-founder, but when the CEO let him speak, it at least seemed like he cared.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hard work pays off

    Sep 15, 2022 - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is A LOT of work to do here, meaning lots of opportunities! If you are determined and hard-working, you will be recognized. A lot of smart and kind people here to learn from as well

    Cons

    Inconsistent management between departments and lots of growing pains

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    AvantStay Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to hear you think as highly as we do about the amazing talent we have at Avantstay

  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Run Away

    Sep 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I don't think there are any

    Cons

    This company is a sinking ship. If you value your career and your mental health, work elsewhere. The CEO is out of his mind. He doesn't let other people speak because he thinks he knows everything about the business. He continues to create a toxic culture that rewards laziness and incompetence. He is driving the business into the ground. Attend one of his weekly meetings. He screams over the rest of the leadership team and doesn't let anyone else get a word in. It's embarrassing. If I were the rest of his Leadership team, I would run not walk to another company.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 153 Reviews
</>Embed

AvantStay Reviews FAQs

AvantStay has an overall rating of 4.0 out of 5, based on over 174 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at AvantStay to a friend and 69% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -13% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AvantStay employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.9 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AvantStay. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

75% of AvantStay employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AvantStay 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AvantStay to be senior leadership, benefits, career development and the cons to be management .

Popular Careers with AvantStay Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AvantStay? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

AvantStay Photos

+ Add Photo
AvantStay photo of: AvantStay Beach Day!
AvantStay photo of: AvantStay Beach Day!
AvantStay photo of: Casa Oliver - Puerto del Sol
AvantStay photo of: AvantStay off-site
AvantStay photo of: AvantStay - Los Angeles
AvantStay photo of: Go Together, Go Far
AvantStay photo of: Estrella, Windsor - Sonoma, CA
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 174 AvantStay reviews submitted anonymously by AvantStay employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AvantStay is right for you.