Avas Flowers Florists Reviews

Updated May 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Fast growing, unique opportunities

    Feb 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    opportunities for growth, travel, and development

    Cons

    its a growing company, which means that things happen fast and frequently without set guidelines. Not always a bad thing but definitely not for someone who can't roll with the punches or likes things to be laid out for them

    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    SCAM

    May 2, 2021 - Manager in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    nothing, everything was a scam

    Cons

    everything was a scam don't work here

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Job

    Jun 4, 2019 - Sales Associate in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of hours, great staff, overall good experience

    Cons

    It was seasonal so it was short term for me. Would have liked it to be permanent.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee

    How not to run a company

    Jan 24, 2016 - Customer Service in Hackensack, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are honestly zero pros working for Avas Flowers. You could get a security job making the same amount of money with 80% less non-sense.

    Cons

    If you want to see how to not operate a company properly send them your resume and sit in on training for a few days. What you will find is during break half of the new hires take off and never come back. Management who belittles the class by yelling at everyone saying "You're all stupid." Absolutely no answers as to what hours they would like you to work or what days. No indication if you are working on a temporary or permanent basis. No training packet (You have to take notes). Constant testing on a massive amount of material and sometimes with only a couple of hours after to work to study. BS'ing customers by trying to up-sell to people who are pissed off because they never received their product.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I love my job

    Nov 27, 2017 - Current Employee in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked at Avas for years. I love it. I have learned so much over the years and I am thankful to this company for have given me an opportunity to do so. Yes, there are some things I wish I could change, but, as to the other complaints, the grass isn't always greener on the other side. Does it get stressful? YES. Does it get overwhelming? YES. Do you have to work long hours? YES, but not all year round!! During our two most important holidays, we request the staff works extended hours. Is that such a bad thing? Doesn't everyone want extra cash? Nobody is forced to do so. Mostly everyone is expected to be hands-on, which isn't a bag thing. Your day goes by much faster if you are assisting in other tasks instead of sitting there doing nothing and trying to get paid (in that case, this IS NOT the place for you). We are a small staff of leaders (in all aspects,: agents, leads, managers,etc). The people who work here are friendly, smart, willing to help one another, and, most importantly, hard working. It is like a family once you join. If you aren't afraid of working more than 40 hours (if you agree of course and make some serious cash while doing so), multi-tasking, and traveling, then this is your place to be. You really do learn a lot here and there is definitely opportunity to progress. You just have to be patient. Reviews will always be posted by upset or bitter employees. Some true, some false. At the end of the day, Avas wouldn't have any employees at all if it were as bad at they make it seem. Join and see for yourself, I love working here and this is a REAL review from a CURRENT employee! It doesn't hurt to call us or come in for an interview with our wonderful HR manager.

    Cons

    More team building activities would be great!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Stay Away

    Jul 29, 2015 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are no pros working for this company

    Cons

    Everything. Lying to customers is the only way you will keep your job....thats if you actually want to continue to work there. The worst part was lying to customers who were preparing for a funeral or just lost a loved one. Hearing customers cry on the phone was heart breaking. The fact that you are encouraged to lie and upsell to these customers is satanic. How can any employee feel good about themselves knowing that the customer will receive a garbage arrangement for 200 bucks because you lied to them? Customers are not allowed to get refunds, just a store credit that they will probably never use. Management is terrible. They only care about money. Turnover rate is high as ever. No benefits, raises, PTO or holiday pay. You literally work 7 days a week, 12 hour days regardless of what your availability was when you first applied.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Social Media Manager

    Jun 1, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like the company because it gave me the opportunity to learn a lot and get the experience I needed for the real world. This was my internship from college. The people here were great and the environment too.

    Cons

    I believe the only Cons I have with the company it's the lack of hours for interns.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Do Not Work Here

    May 30, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I can't think of a single pro. Do not work here.

    Cons

    In a nutshell - very hostile work environment and walk a fine line in terms of treatment of employees by law. Even if you are considered full time, they give you the minimum number of hours required by law with horrible pay. They also have very unrealistic expectations of their employees in terms of job performance though policies/procedures on the floor are often inconsistent with the minimal training being given. Changes are not effectively communicated by management, and though the agent is penalized, management is not held accountable.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    I have been working at AvasFlowers (More than 3 years)

    May 4, 2016 - Director Florist Relations in Mahwah, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance Compensation is good Benefits Career opportunities Great industry

    Cons

    None worth mentioning. The company is very solid and the industry is excellent. It's great being a part of making people smile and helping florists get more customers. I cannot think of any real cons other than small things that can improved up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Terrible Job

    Feb 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None at all. Please avoid at all costs.

    Cons

    Very scammy job. It is basically like a scam version of 1-800-flowers. They try and seem like a local flower shop but really what they do is outsource flower orders given to them by people that call the call center. Literally you are told to lie to people and say that you are local to the area that they are trying to get flowers sent to. They try and do their best to swindle customers out of money and just seem to only care about making money and maintaining the image of being a local flower shop instead of actually trying to be a reputable company. Also, they will try and do whatever you can to not give you commission or bonuses you are due. Do NOT work here. It is soulless.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 36 Reviews

Popular Careers with Avas Flowers Florists Job Seekers

Customer Service Representative
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Avas Flowers Florists? Share Your Experiences

Avas Flowers Florists logo
or