Cover image for Avaya
Logo
See All Photos

Avaya

Engaged Employer

Avaya

Add a Review

Avaya Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,137 of over 3K reviews
3.7
64% Recommend to a Friend
Avaya CEO Alan Masarek
75% Approve of CEO

Found 2,968 of over 3K reviews

3.7
64%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Avaya CEO Alan Masarek
Alan Masarek
500 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

500

70 Comments

Tech

467.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Avaya~12121
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and a few left that came from the original spin from AT&T to Lucent to Avaya.(in 289 reviews)
  • "Good work life balance and space for learning(in 184 reviews)
  • "good benefits and tax saving policies(in 147 reviews)
  • "Work from home is good(in 118 reviews)
  • "Very flexible during work times and good salaries.(in 116 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Avaya and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Communication technician

    Nov 14, 2022 - Stock Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a communication’s company I spent 37 years with before retiring.

    Cons

    The previous company I worked for was in a totally different business.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Awesome company and environment

    Dec 7, 2022 - Software Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome company and environment. Good compensation. Competitive and fast paced environment

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Avaya team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Work Life Balance

    Nov 28, 2022 - Senior Finance Manager in Morristown, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility with work life balance

    Cons

    Frequency of change of senior leadership team

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Computers

    Nov 24, 2022 - Sales Associate in Norfolk, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay and sometimes travel

    Cons

    Shift in management and changing developments constantly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Avaya was a good place to work, a littel chaotic, but a lot of fun

    Nov 21, 2022 - Territory Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at Avaya were very helpful and the organization STILL has a ton of seats globally, probably the most in the world. There are a lot of very smart people that work at Avaya and the product is stable, which speaks a lot to their market.

    Cons

    Avaya is constantly in some type of chaos, whether it is financially, changing product direction, etc. However, the base is vast and there are still many opportunities to have a successful career with Avaya.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Prior to Alan Masarek

    Dec 3, 2022 - Marketing Senior Manager in Durham, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    For the most part, the employees are easy to get along with.

    Cons

    Continuous Executive structure disruption for multiple years.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great recognition, but poor accounting and stock performance

    Nov 8, 2022 - Customer Service Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have spent many years honing my call center skills, setting standards for remote call center agents, and initiating work-flow schemes for the effective performance of virtual teams. I have lead projects charged with constructing complex models for high-tech solutions and installation, with a focus on competitive prices. Within these positions, my focus has also always been on Customer Service excellence, Process Refinement and Tool Advancement. During my career, I’ve also worked within a technical contact center, utilizing the advanced customer satisfaction skills acquired from early AT&T training, and honed during my AT&T to Avaya career I will shine as a customer service representative as well

    Cons

    Sometimes managing restricts your ability to shine. You are measured based on the performance of your team. I was highly regarded in this role, but my passion was aroused most when I worked within project teams and planned for the future. As an individual contributor, I often lead the wave for modification of process, workflow and recognition. I missed these opportunities and felt under-utilized in this area.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Bad management

    Nov 22, 2022 - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    No such pros left for AVaya

    Cons

    Poor Management in the compay

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Welcome to the corporate void

    Nov 21, 2022 - Sales Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My direct manager is great, he also sees through the cloud of leaderships confusion and stumbles with the potential for a 3rd bankruptcy looming. Don't expect much at Avaya, if you are hired expect to do the the work of the 4 people that were let go that you are replacing.

    Cons

    Pay, poor leadership, outdated product offerings

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Upper management lacks discipline and vision

    Nov 17, 2022 - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the group I was in my colleagues and bo