Aveda Reviews | Glassdoor

Aveda Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 301 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Dominique Conseil
123 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Team Leader in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely amazing mission and brand, though they dont live it out as much as they used to. Amazing pay, and even better benefits if you're full time. They treat you extremely well. They expect a lot from you, but compensate accordingly.

    Cons

    Working weekends and nights, never a set schedule. Always concerned with sales and only sales.

    Advice to Management

    Work on some better marketing. We wouldn't have to try so hard to sell people Aveda if they'd actually heard of it before. We've been around this long and still dont have quality advertising and marketing.

    Aveda2019-05-07
  2. "If you love Aveda’s mission and selling then this job is for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount and working for a naturally derived company

    Cons

    No cons unless you can’t sell

    Aveda2019-04-29
  3. "Great benefits, terrible communication, unrealistic expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    6 months paid maternity leave, great flexibility with schedule, many benefits to working for a huge company like Estée Lauder

    Cons

    Zero communication from senior leadership. No one knows what’s going on, you hear something different every day. Aveda has gone from putting the customer first to putting the bottom line first. Sell sell sell.

    Advice to Management

    Get out from behind your desk and come work in the field. Talk to our customers. See and hear what we see and hear every day. Listen and observe.

    Aveda2019-05-04
  4. "Fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun, teamwork, caring for the world

    Cons

    Communication, training, processes, expediency, trying to find answers to everyday problems can be a challenge.

    Aveda2019-04-08
  5. "No Benefits & Difficulty For Unpaid Time Off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Advisor in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount on the products.

    Cons

    Hard to get UNPAID time off. No benefits for employees that are not Manager & Asst. Mgr. Get points deducted for calling out sick & possible write up and/or termination. No sick days provided however. No vacation.

    Advice to Management

    It's a wellness company. Provide all employees with benefits & time off as needed.

    Aveda2019-05-12
  6. "Love working here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Hair Stylist 

      I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great atmosphere to work in. Love it so much!

      Cons

      You have to wear all black (;

      Aveda2019-04-06
    • "Team Lead"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Aveda full-time

      Pros

      Good Benefits, holistic company, nice people

      Cons

      You have to look at peoples scalps.

      Aveda2019-02-28
    • "Great Company, Bad Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wauwatosa, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aveda full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great product to sell and you get a great discount

      Cons

      Management was awful and actually fired shortly after I left. Very pushy with even returning loyal customers.

      Aveda2019-02-26
    • "Very disorganized company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Blaine, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Aveda full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good benefits and lots of time off

      Cons

      Management needs to get priorities straight, they make the Supervisors run a machine through breaks effectively giving us no breaks, they are not afraid to lie to you to get you to work OT. Overall a poorly run disorganization. They hold us accountable but the operators get away with murder. Upper management are micromanagers.

      Advice to Management

      Be truthful with us, let us do our job and you worry about value added activities. Like lean initiatives. Listen to the employees and come out of the office once in a while to talk to people not just to criticize.

      Aveda2019-02-26
    • "Great Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader 

      I have been working at Aveda full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great Benefits & Company perks.

      Cons

      Schedule and micro managed sales strategy.

      Aveda2019-02-05
    Found 301 reviews