Cover image for Aveda
Logo

Aveda

Is this your company?

Aveda

Add a Review

Aveda Reviews

Updated Nov 28, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 522 of over 545 reviews
3.7
67% Recommend to a Friend
60% Approve of CEO

Found 521 of over 545 reviews

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Aveda President      Dominique Conseil (no image)
Dominique Conseil
200 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and product discount(in 45 reviews)
  • "They pay a good Salary(in 32 reviews)
  • "People and training was great(in 26 reviews)
  • "Clean and very nice and the people are great and loving and the stylists are nice too and very helpful(in 23 reviews)
  • "The culture is great and the attention to wellness helps drive the focus.(in 13 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Aveda and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great Benefits

    Nov 4, 2022 - Assistant Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits with the company.

    Cons

    Not a great work life balance.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Nov 28, 2022 - Educator in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They pay a good Salary

    Cons

    Understaffed so you will work a lot more

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Aveda team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    If only they cared for their people the way they claim to care for the environment

    Nov 9, 2022 - Director in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being part of the ELC organization afforded you some great benefits, stock options, etc.

    Cons

    It seems like everything they do flies under the radar of big brother ELC… leadership is so disconnected, abusive, and downright rude. It is important that you speak up. Doing your job well is not good enough, you need to be part of the “Aveda Cult” or you’re an outcast and excommunicated from the cool table at lunch. They will make your life miserable.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    ELC is a sham as a company.

    Jul 15, 2022 - Assistant Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -good health insurance. -"wokeness" (mainly out of fear of lawsuits,) but benefits POC and LGBTQIA communities with their programs, etc. -aveda products 74% off.

    Cons

    so many things. i spent almost four years here, because i had faith that at some point our location would get it right- instead it consistently got worse as time progressed. how "good" they were to employees after covid came at a cost- the company because IMMENSELY greedy as covid cases down turned. speaking of covid- horrible protocols for those who test positive. very little pay increases, insulting. upper management is stretched insanely thin and they'll undoubtedly give my former DM a heart attack- bloods on yalls hands. my store could have been amazing but they refuse to start from the bottom and dont identify that the employees are what will truly grow their business. give employees what they need: results! estee as a whole is just grossly abusive, act oblivious, lots of red tape, racism, middle age mean girl behavior...etc. my customers were the only reason i stayed so long, and dreams of my store being what it was capable of. i loved my job, loathed the performative, greedy, disorganized, out of touch ELC. yall need some hungry, young, creative minds or you will continue to up prices and lose loyalty. get with the times!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great

    Oct 18, 2022 - Sales Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I absolutely loved working at AVEDA. I learned a lot about marketing and clienteling. If you are someone who isn't afraid to talk to people, this is a good job for you.

    Cons

    The only con I would say is the hours aren't the best but that's just retail working.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Excellent

    Aug 14, 2022 - Assistant Business Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Aveda, I learned a lot about coaching and developing individuals on a team and also really learned an amazing service cycle that helped me to build an incredible clientele who helped me to meet and exceed my individual goals as well as store goals. The pay is also very good and the benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    No cons that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Exp

    Oct 24, 2022 - Esthetician in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Learned a lot with customer exp

    Cons

    A bit unorganized at times

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay place to work

    Nov 14, 2022 - Hairstylist in South Jordan, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Okay commission Good coworkers, good community

    Cons

    Unorganized management Won’t let you specialize in anything

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to grow in sales

    Sep 6, 2022 - Sales Associate/Keyholder 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent employee discount, company values developing employees.

    Cons

    High sales goals, pressure to touch customers (hand massage, scalp check, complementary facials.) Corporate leadership doesn’t seem to be in touch with how it is to actually work in retail.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Beware

    Oct 31, 2022 - Director in Blaine, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The brand attracts amazing and talented people which creates the opportunity for impactful and meaningful work.

    Cons

    Mgmt is disorganized, lacks vision, and has created a dysfunctional and highly stressful environment. Deadlines and workloads are unrealistic.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 521 Reviews
</>Embed

Aveda Reviews FAQs

Aveda has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 545 reviews left anonymously by employees. 67% of employees would recommend working at Aveda to a friend and 46% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Aveda employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Aveda. This rating has decreased by -10% over the last 12 months.

67% of Aveda employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Aveda 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Aveda to be compensation, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Aveda Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Aveda? Share Your Experiences

Aveda logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Aveda Photos

+ Add Photo
Aveda photo of: Entrance to an Aveda store in Corte Madera, CA
Aveda photo of: Aveda
Aveda photo of: Aveda Blaine Corporate Office
Aveda photo of: Display

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Aveda Job Seekers Also Viewed

Estée Lauder Companies Logo
Estée Lauder Companies

3.9

4,072 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 545 Aveda reviews submitted anonymously by Aveda employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Aveda is right for you.