Aveda "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Aveda Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Aveda President      Dominique Conseil (no image)
Dominique Conseil
133 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "They Practice what they Preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Blaine, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Aveda truly cares about it's employees. They realize that the success of the brand starts with their own people and they go the extra mile to make sure Aveda is a wonderful place to work. They have wonderful wellness programs and they practice what they preach. The values and mission of the brand are taken to heart in every aspect of our jobs and day-to-day practices at headquarters.

    Cons

    Some upper management has been employed at Aveda for a very long time and can be stuck in their ways. It would be nice to bring in new experience to some of those roles.

    Aveda2014-11-27
  2. "Unappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product and Awesome Customers

    Cons

    Upper management does not appreciate hard work and dedication from their store managers. I have NEVER been talked to and treated with such disrespect as I have received from the district manager of this company.

    Aveda2019-12-31
  3. "Don’t work here if it’s the last job on earth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The health benefits are good

    Cons

    Everything! Complete and utter lack of respect and professionalism from management. Discrimination, bullying, and illegal acts to manipulate employees into incriminating themselves. Treating the “victims” like criminals when they take serious matters and allegations to Human Resources and upper management. This company does follow its own policies and protocols. Makes you work open to closes with no breaks. Constantly understaffed because of the unrealistic expectations placed up a small staff. Does not promote from within and absolutely no room for growth or development. Promised growth and development from the district manager but instead was led on and used. Customers treat you like crap and the company always supports the customer. Communication lacking is an understatement. They restructured the company and mass fired people. Does not take Human Resources and employee issues seriously at all. A district manager who is uneducated, unprofessional, condescending, malicious, vengeful, and retaliatory stays in her position even though numerous allegations have been brought against her from multiple people. She also has constant turnover because she doesn’t hire people right for the company but instead right for the moment. Does not have the skill set to be in her position. There is no work/ life balance unless you are in corporate. If you work in the stores and are short staffed you can expect to work 12 hour shifts by yourself with no breaks and no help from your district manager. While you are working the store and making the business happen being run into the ground, your district manager is enjoying their personal time. Doesn’t respond to emails and calls on the weekends or after 6pm. I mean this is retail people. This was by far the worst company and management I’ve ever had in my lifetime so far.

    Continue reading
    Aveda2019-12-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits/Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Product discounts and great benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of communication in every aspect of the business. Upper management does not have experience in the beauty industry. There is no job security. The company consistently lets valuable employees go. Current employees are in fear every day of losing their jobs. There is not a lot of room for advancement and rarely does the company promote from within. A culture and mission that was once strong is no longer a priority.

    Aveda2019-11-05
  5. "Very disorganized company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Supervisor in Blaine, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and lots of time off

    Cons

    Management needs to get priorities straight, they make the Supervisors run a machine through breaks effectively giving us no breaks, they are not afraid to lie to you to get you to work OT. Overall a poorly run disorganization. They hold us accountable but the operators get away with murder. Upper management are micromanagers.

    Continue reading
    Aveda2019-02-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Moved through the ranks within an Experience Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, 401K, maternity leave, health care, vision, dental, employee support program, tuition reimbursement. Very generous discount. Retail education was phenomenal. A lot of time, money and effort was put into building fantastic education for the ECs. Education managers were amazing. Yearly Beyond Beleaf meeting was so much fun and, more often or not, very inspirational. I was with Aveda for over 10 years and moved from part time sales, to ATL and finally TL. A lot is invested in finding the right talent, with the help of Talent+, and training them. Mission driven, up to a certain point. The majority of customers were really great -- I was able to build some really great relationships with them. Staff on store level was supportive and (most) were really great folk!

    Cons

    Moved further and further away from their roots as time went on. Customer attrition is due to rapidly rising prices and lack of innovative products. Cold calling customers for events and free mini facials NEVER worked. It felt fake and too salesy. In-store events never did anything. It was a case of the emperor wearing no clothes -- I never saw these "events" truly be successful across 3 different stores. Event codes were entered just because -- really to keep up appearances. Aveda is not as fashion forward as it can/should be. They seem to be falling behind all these amazing big and small cosmetic brands with heavy beauty community influencer impact (Tarte, UD, MakeupGeek, Too Face). Heavy favoritism from upper management and corporate. I had a few DMs that were very, very heavy with the favoritism. It was very difficult to move up unless your are a brown-noser and super "cutesy." It was difficult to maintain a full staff. Pay is ok, but retail hours are no fun. Hiring process takes forever. Training takes forever. Too many focus items at one time -- PP, Invati, events, mini-facials, new items, etc As TL, it was very hard to discipline trouble employees. Write-ups had to go through layers of management. Everything has to be tracked and often with no result. Problem employees find ways to take advantage of the system and corp does nothing about it (and typically they can't legally).

    Continue reading
    Aveda2018-09-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "haircolor specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Blaine, MN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    ongoing education, freedom to create schedule,

    Cons

    upper management issues not consistent information

    Continue reading
    Aveda2018-04-29
  8. "Very Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aveda full-time

    Pros

    Amazing brand and products that speak for themselves

    Cons

    Unfortunately upper management is inconsistent, and has the 'door shut' mentality

    Continue reading
    Aveda2018-04-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Middle Management needs to Listen with two ears, speak with one mouth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aveda full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount. The mission is beautiful. Products work. Sourcing stories are life. I feel if I could've created a brand myself, it would've looked like this. Thank you Horst. <3

    Cons

    Management is never available when you need them. They're there when they need something or need someone to blame for mistakes they didn't catch, but are MIA when something serious happens. There is no way anyone will stay with this company long term unless they are involved outside of the EC network. Great company horrible sector to be in. Feels like you are a lost ship in the ocean and the fun happy corporate friends have no idea what it is like in the stores, and the second you're honest with them, DM's put a stop to it because they're so stressed to meet insane demands, they'd rather have their stores lie than tell the VP, etc what's really happening....and that will be detrimental to the company. Upper management: visit more! The sourcing of our ingredients, the philosophy of our brand, the story of how we came to be, there is no brand like Aveda, people need to live and breathe this culture, not money. One comes first, the other second. You decide.

    Continue reading
    Aveda2017-03-17
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Blaine, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aveda

    Pros

    Decent benefits, amazing discount, very mission aligned. Aveda truly personifies their mission.

    Cons

    Terrible upper management who refuse to support your career, no room for advancement, rarely hire from within, mediocre pay, visible discrimination, all about the numbers.

    Continue reading
    Aveda2015-09-16
Found 19 reviews